RSS
Reviews For No Greater Love

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: sgatlantislight (Anonymous)
04 Jan 2007 2:44 pm
Hi! One or more of your stories are being rec'ced as 'Essential Beckett/someone fics' in this post-- http://sgatlantislight.livejournal.com/81562.html -- in my LJ. If you'd like to double-check that the links go to the particular archive you prefer and that the warnings are correct, I'd appreciate it!
No Greater Love
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
10 Jul 2005 8:35 pm
An excellent ending to an excellent story. I'm glad John was quick enough to save Rodney from the Wraith. I just loved everything about this, you really caught all three characters so well. Rodney's breakdown was sad, but I loved finding out John's reaction to it; it just shows the depth of feeling that Carson had to threaten him with sedation if he didn't calm down. I loved Rodney's mix of relief and anger when he found John and Carson grinning at him, and the punch was something I could see Rodney doing. I also loved Carson's compassion and understanding about why Rodney had punched John. The flashbacks were brilliant; not only was it hotness personified when they finally got all three of them on the same page, but there was more demonstration of the depth of love they have for each other- right from the guilty and dismayed confessions from John and Carson, through to John's heartbreaking decission to leave them...thankfully squashed by Carson and Rodney post haste. And we see it again when John explains just why he was grinning like a loon before Rodney decked him. I absolutely loved the last scene. Not only did we see once again how much they love each other when both John and Carson tell Rodney that they would leave Atlantis rather than lose each other, and Rodney agreed (reluctantly yes, but he did agree); but we also got to see take charge!Rodney...and that was hot, as was the 'yes sir' kink he discovered. I was also pleased to learn that Elizabeth would stand up for them too, it pretty much assures that they're safe as a threesome, and that makes me happy. Laura.
Blame Canada
Reviewer: kyrdwyn (Anonymous)
10 Jul 2005 7:26 pm
oh this was lovely. I really liked how they worked into the relationship and how it affected all of them in their own way. And McKay decking Sheppard was priceless.
Blame Canada
Reviewer: chaps1870 (Anonymous)
10 Jul 2005 5:23 pm
I loved this whole story from start to finish..The angst was perfect.
Blame Canada
Reviewer: lorrabme (Signed)
06 Jun 2005 11:53 am
Hi, I am really enjoying this story, and it's development so far. But I have one criticism cum plea- stop writing carson that way. His accent is appalling. I am a Glaswegian, and I can actually write in scots even, to an extent, but what you're writing would come out far more like a ned. I don't know where you're from, but a ned, here, is a brain dead moron who you should really congratulate for being able to pronounce there own names. In basics, neds are the dregs of Glasgow (chavs, for an english name) and to have Beckett, one of the very few cool, and cute Glaswegian characters portrayed this way makes me grind my teeth in pure agony. I do, genuinely love this story and the way you are portraying the character, but the language would be much better if you lightened the attempt at the accent. In most cases Glaswegians actually say the same words as anyone else, and even manage better english than the average englishman, it is all in the accent and attitude that makes it come out differently. I am loving the story and hope you will write more soon. thank you
The Military Mind
Reviewer: fanficaddict (Anonymous)
05 Jun 2005 2:55 pm
*squeeeeeel* Amazing job so far :D MORE PLEASE!
The Military Mind
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Anonymous)
05 Jun 2005 8:56 am
This just gets better and better! I love the way you keep us in suspense about one of the boys each chapter, it gives it an extra frisson of tension, always making us wonder about the missing man- Rodney in this case. He doesn't even appear in the flashbacks. I loved finding out John's thoughts about Carson, and the depth of his feelings. The flashbacks were excellent, showing the battle he had with himself to not cheat on Rodney...as if this was a normal situation to start with. I hope nothing awful has happened to Rodney, it's bad enough that he's having to deal with the fact that both his lovers are dead- unless it turns out that he did hear the Daedalus transmission, in which case I'm possibly *more* worried about him. I hope John can find him and sort him out. And hopefully Carson won't be kept from them for too long either. Will we be getting Rodney's pov next chapter? I'm sure it will be heart-rending :(. Laura.
The Military Mind
Reviewer: anonymouse (Anonymous)
05 Jun 2005 4:00 am
This is a very good story. John, Rodney and Carson are all in character. And you have written your Siege part 3 with a believable response to the Wraith threat. The only problem I have is the way you are writing Carson's words. But it's just my personal preference to have the words in regular English and to have my mind put the accent to them (I know the scripts aren't written with an accent, that's the actor's doing). I just find it harder to read. But, as I said, it's my personal preference. I look forward to seeing what's happened to Rodney. Post soon!
The Military Mind
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Anonymous)
01 Jun 2005 8:49 am
Ow ow ow! So much angst and pain and sadness...it's great ;). I loved seeing Carson's thoughts and emotions as he realised just how deeply Rodney cred for John, and his solution was nicely done too. And even though this was from Carson's pov, we still felt Rodney and John's pain because Carson was so able to read the signs. I loved his little bit of self-recrimination too, thinking that if he'd just let Rodney go, he would only have had to mourn one lost love. I don't think it would have worked like that anyway, so I'm glad Carson did make the suggestion. The end was great too, all that angsty tension, and then a little ray of hope. Can't wait for the next chapter. Laura.

Author's Response: Thank you!!
Beannachd Dia dhuit
Reviewer: tigs (Signed)
01 Jun 2005 12:41 am
Oh, ouch. But there's going to be more, right? Where it's not so ouchy? And there is happiness and light? Please?

Author's Response: Happiness and light is coming...sometime. I promise it does start getting better in the next story.
Beannachd Dia dhuit
Reviewer: chaps (Anonymous)
31 May 2005 10:51 pm
Even tho that was from Carson's pov, it was so easy to see Rodney's pain. I love the anguish you're showing in this relationship.

Author's Response: Thank you! :)
Beannachd Dia dhuit
Reviewer: wisewander (Anonymous)
26 May 2005 12:00 am
This was a great story, I really loved it. Any chance John makes it and Carson does not have to fly jumpper 2, because that would be awsome?

Author's Response: Well, there's some more angst to be had, but I promise that no majors are irrevocably damaged in this story. I hope to post part 2 before Memorial Day.
No Greater Love
Reviewer: Icebox (Anonymous)
24 May 2005 2:38 pm
Gahhh! Damn that's sad. Keep it coming, this story is great! Nice quote at the end, one of my favorites.

Author's Response: Thank you. I hope to post the second part within the next few days.
No Greater Love
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Anonymous)
24 May 2005 8:02 am
::sniffle::. The tension, the saddness...::sob:: I love Carson's determination to be the one to go up if John succeeds, such a change from the man who'd really rather not have anything to do with the jumpers normally. It was interesting too, to see the relationship (relationships?) through Elizabeth's eyes. Looking forward to the next part. Laura.

Author's Response: In that situation I could ONLY see him making that decision. It goes beyond his fear of Ancient technology into the heart of his humanity. The next part should be posted in the next couple of days.
No Greater Love
You must login (register) to review.