RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: fanficaddict (Anonymous)
12 Jul 2005 10:36 am
*standing ovation* that was a perfect follow-up :D Loved that John and Rodney got together and the angst! Positively wonderful :D

Author's Response: Buckets and buckets of angst. I have a natural angst spring that provides me with an unending supply for stories.
Sacrificial Drift
Reviewer: anonymouse (Anonymous)
12 Jul 2005 3:21 am
I loved the first 9 parts and was excited to see the follow-up. Your writing is so descriptive and expressive. I appreciate the way you treated Ford and Bates. A refreshingly different response that what one would expect, yet so real and valid. The power of love can be a frightening thing and it was wonderful how you expressed John's and Rodney's reactions to this. I'm glad you wrote this.

Author's Response: Thank you. I wondered if some folks wouldn't be unhappy that I took the original gen story and went off to slash land in the sequel.
Sacrificial Drift
Reviewer: chaps (Anonymous)
11 Jul 2005 7:44 pm
I was ecstatic when I saw that you had added to this story. It was an wonderful addition and made the story more complete. Although....I wouldn't mind seeing more of their relationship. ;)

Author's Response: More? Moans and hides face. This is the last sequel or not sequel I'll write for a while. I'd like to think this iteration of the characters is done.
Sacrificial Drift
Reviewer: Amalthia (Anonymous)
11 Jul 2005 5:20 pm
This was such a great story. I'm in awe of your skills. I mean I loved the first 9 parts too and this one was just as satisfying as the previous stories. :) You're an amazingly talented writer. Thanks so much for writing this series. It's one of the best SGA fan fics I've ever read. :)

Author's Response: Thanks again.
Sacrificial Drift
Reviewer: Dr_Dredd (Signed)
04 Jul 2005 11:45 pm
This is definitely one of the best Atlantis fics I've read. The best ones leave me actually hurting for the characters, and yours did just that. Everyone from Elizabeth watching the MALP video to Carson talking about morphine injectors to John and Rodney talking about damnation. *applause*

Author's Response: Ducks head and grins. Thank you.
Life in Solitary
Reviewer: Elnea (Signed)
28 Jun 2005 9:33 pm
Bravo. This is by far the best Atlantis fic I've ever read. You really captured the relationship between John and Rodney, and you had the character voices to a tee. I also enjoyed the premise of the story. Very clever. Thanks for a satisfying read!

Author's Response: Thank you.
No Joy
Reviewer: jessant (Anonymous)
11 Jun 2005 11:59 pm
You had me crying for a fungi. I can't believe how emotional this story made me. And the bond between John and Rodney was so nice. And I liked how the ending has slashy connotations without hitting you over the head with it. Very subtle. Very well done. Truly one of my favorite in this fandom. I don't know why, but your stories always make me long for sequels.

Author's Response: They do? I've only posted two so far. Maybe because I like to leave things fairly ambiguous, in the sense that the reader knows more things will be happening to the characters eventually. I don't like tying things up too tightly. Strangles the imagination. I wanted everyone to feel some sympathy for the fungi entity. I'm pleased it worked for you. Much harder to make folks cry over fungi than say ... onions.
No Joy
Reviewer: reclariant (Signed)
02 Jun 2005 3:57 pm
Wow, this was amazing. It's great to find good teamfics about, and this is one of the better ones I've seen. I love that they've got into the whole SG-1 esque together-against-the-world vibe so quickly, and you've shown it really well. I was left feeling quite bereft when the telepathy stopped. Great work!

Author's Response: I love the whole team dynamic and the mindmeld trope is a good way to explore it. I do see the Atlantis team gelling into that first loyalty to each other thing very quickly because of the higher pressures of being marooned in another galaxy. They don't have the support SG-1 did. They've had to connect fast.
No Joy
Reviewer: Erinna (Anonymous)
02 Jun 2005 12:13 am
this is so beautiful, and so different than any SGA fic I have ever read. The BEST genfic ever. Seriusly. I am still hurting inside, but so happy at the same time. This story is magestic, and that's the only thing I can think of to describe it.

Author's Response: Happy and hurting? I've done my work well. :g: Thank you very much.
Life in Solitary
Reviewer: Starfish (Anonymous)
26 May 2005 3:03 pm
Wow, very powerful and well-paced. I seldom read gen stories (I prefer slash), but this was a real treat. It felt very much like an episode of the show to me, and I hated to see it end. Thanks for all your hard work on this.

Author's Response: The hard work wa a pleasure of its own in way. The response has been worth it anyway. Glad you enjoyed. Gen can surprise you.
Life in Solitary
Reviewer: Amalthia (Anonymous)
26 May 2005 2:44 pm
Great story. Normally I avoid gen stories like the plague and I'm really happy I didn't avoid this one. I was hooked from the beginning. Thank you so much for sharing this story. It's definately something I'll re-read. :)

Author's Response: You just never know with a us sneaking gen writers. Sometimes it's good. Sometimes we even slip and end up writing slash.
Life in Solitary
Reviewer: cricketk (Anonymous)
26 May 2005 12:45 pm
This was a truly amazing story. You've breathed wonderful life into an alien mind bond story. The poignancy of all 5 of them living alone after this. They'll all scarred for life. I can imagine them eventually being able to function socially again, but not ever really getting over the grief. This was truly fabulous.

Author's Response: I have a thing about how television shows all this trauma and the people just bounce back to default setting next week. My stories tend to lean the other way, showing permanent changes and effects. So the team gets back to functionality, they grow and change and grieve, and they're not the same people who walked through the Stargate to begin .
No Joy
Reviewer: fanficaddict (Anonymous)
26 May 2005 11:54 am
*standing ovation* that was brilliant. I loved that the ending wasn't sugar-coated, but we know that they will move on and they will survive. *blissful sigh* Perfection.
Life in Solitary
Reviewer: fanficaddict (Anonymous)
26 May 2005 11:28 am
Gah! That was...that was...terrible to 'watch' but written oh so well
Half in Love
Reviewer: fanficaddict (Anonymous)
26 May 2005 11:16 am
wow, very powerful, the ending of this chapter was so very well handled, sad but seemingly inevitable.

Author's Response: Thanks, that's the feel I was aiming for. Just, 'what do you do?', 'keep moving forward'.
Interlock
Reviewer: kbk (Signed)
26 May 2005 6:54 am
Wow. I mean, I don't have words, really. I mean, the sheer concept is brilliant, and then. All of it. The progression into full-blown telepathy, the way other people saw it, the memories. oh. "Of course it's going to kill them" really got to me, for some reason - just the knowing of it, the helplessness. And it doesn't feel (as can happen) like you wimped out by not actually killing them - in a way it hurts more that they experienced that joining and then had to leave. So, yes. Wow.

Author's Response: Well, usually stories that feel like a cop out if the characters live are ones where the writer tacked on the happy ending to satisfy some idea of how it 'should be'. Like when the studios forced Hitchcock to revise the ending of 'Suspicion' so Cary Grant isn't a murderer after all. invaldiated the entire movie. I always intended the story to end with them alive at the end, if somewhat traumatized.
Life in Solitary
Reviewer: Arlessiar (Anonymous)
25 May 2005 7:32 pm
Well, this one had me crying! Chapter seven did it - emotionally I was a mess for a few minutes. Honestly. You really got me thinking they would actually all die. I've read quite a lot of SGA fanfic by now, and there are a few outstanding ones - this is one of them. I felt everything as if I could see it, as if I was a part of it. Their bond, and what was left of it at the end. Elizabeths nausea. Carsons desperation. I loved the four short individual memories they shared. Every one of them had his pain and his loneliness, even Ford with his halfway happy memory, because no matter how much he loved his grandparents, there must have been a reason why he lives with them. So there is also some sort of loneliness in his life. This is brilliant work, really, and I mean it. Not only perfect writing and style, but also so many fitting words and ideas. The "random" thing of a scientist committing suicide for example. Well, to wrap this up: A hell of a ride!Just perfect! Bye, A.

Author's Response: Thank you, thank you, wow. Ford. I didn't even realize I was doing that, but it's true. What did happen to his parents? I was totally focused on tying together the theme of things under the feet.
Life in Solitary
Reviewer: Zoe Rayne (Signed)
25 May 2005 5:29 pm
Wow. I'm...kind of at a loss for words here. This was absolutely breathtaking. The way you captured the team dynamic was amazing. I was up far too late last night reading the whole thing, because I just couldn't stop. Even when it looked like it was going to end badly (well, okay, *worse*), I was still loving every single word of it, and then you turned it around and made it painful and bittersweet but not quite as devastating, and.... Wow. Just...wow.

Author's Response: I like shows with large casts or teams. The dynamics give me more room to examine the characters from other povs. Atlantis is just about right in that way. And, at least you didn't have to suffer through the cliffhanger too long, since I posted it complete.
Life in Solitary
Reviewer: Ellex (Signed)
25 May 2005 4:00 pm
I'm so overwhelmed by how extraordinary this story is that I have no idea what to say about it. Thank you so much for sharing it.

Author's Response: Thank you kindly. I don't generally overwhelm people, so that's kind of neat.
No Joy
Reviewer: merlin7 (Anonymous)
25 May 2005 3:26 pm
This was an absolutely phenomenal story. You captured each character to perfection. Especially Shep and McKay. This was so painfully vivid that I felt like I was WATCHING it play out, like on a tv screen in my mind, rather than just reading it. Simply amazing. Well done.

Author's Response: I try to write visually - if that makes sense. I tend to see and block out scenes in my mind's eye, then pick the details to describe. Writing up the mini-movies in my head.
Life in Solitary
You must login (register) to review.