RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Sulien (Signed)
30 May 2007 5:35 am
Of course the wind decided to pick up just enough to rattle the window blinds in the kitchen as I was reading this third chapter. Scared the hell out me and the cat. Serves me right for reading this at oh-dark-thirty.

By any chance do you have a live journal or notification list for this fic? I definitely want to read the rest!

Author's Response: I'm so sorry to have to tell you that these 4 chapters are all that there is. I've been working on a sequel off and on since I wrote 'The Northwest Tower', and I'm nowhere near ready to post anything, and I don't know if the story will ever stop fighting me.rnrnBut I'm very glad to know that you enjoyed 'Tower', and that I succeeded in giving you the shivers!
Change
Reviewer: Sulien (Signed)
30 May 2007 4:54 am
Great jumping jehosephat! Are you channeling HP Lovecraft? Because this is creeping me completely the frell out like only his (or similar) works can do. *shuddershivercringe* Gyah! *off to read the rest of this creepifyin' story*
Compulsion
Reviewer: Claudia (Anonymous)
17 May 2006 7:55 pm
This story is incredible, so terrifying! The scientist in the tower, the other world and the stairs in the dark completely froze my blood. I also find something like Lovecraft in your style, but the big difference to me is that in his stories I usually got dissapointed because the end it's not as frightening as the story was. But in your story, even at the end, the feeling of menace is not lost. Remarkable story, great work.
Beginning
Reviewer: Fledge (Anonymous)
22 Sep 2005 2:51 pm
Poor Rodney! Although at least he won't be having nightmares about that world, if it now seems familiar to him. I would love to know what happened to Hessling though... and how his voice was calling to them in the tower. Very well done, spooky series!
Change
Reviewer: Fledge (Anonymous)
22 Sep 2005 12:33 pm
EEEEEEEEEEEEEE! Omg that was SCARY. I am so glad I'm reading this by daylight!! You know, you write better than Lovecraft, because you have the same horror quotient but none of the distracting hyperbole. And the thought of what might have happened to Hessling... maybe becoming one of those awful tree monsters... *shudders and reads more, with heart in throat* ... Are you really having these nightmares?!
Compulsion
Reviewer: Lynda (Anonymous)
03 Jul 2005 2:36 am
Oooo, very nice, very Lovecraftian. I remember reading a Lovecraft story a long time ago, about a tower with a window to another (extremely unpleasant) world. I can't remember the title though. Was this inspired by that story? If so, well done!

Author's Response: Thanks glad you liked it. Ah, no, it wasn't inspired by that Lovecraft story, although I've probably read it. This was originally inspired by night terrors I had as a child. The second part came from a dream I had after writing the first part. The main inspiration for the story as a whole are the works of author Algernon Blackwood.
Change
Reviewer: fanficaddict (Anonymous)
03 Jul 2005 12:29 am
Great fic! :D Glad to hear there's going to be a sequel, can't wait!
Change
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
02 Jul 2005 10:03 pm
Oh...Oh my...words fail me! This was creepy, with the not-trees and such, and what happened to Rodney. But it also showed the hidden depths of Rodney too, that he so quickly took the deal to save John. I'm so pleased that there will be a sequel as I have several questions about why Rodney was aware when John didn't seem to be, and why the not-tree picked him. Is it to do with the ATA gene, or is it a Rodney thing? And will we ever find out what happened to Hessling? Laura.

Author's Response: I hope to answer at least some of your questions in the sequel, although I will deliberately *not* answer others. I don't think we'll ever find out exactly what happened to Hessling, but I can tell you he isn't coming back. I'm glad you liked this story. It's been a lot of fun to write.
Change
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
30 Jun 2005 8:48 am
*Meep* This is tense stuff! I can't wait to find out what's gotten into Sheppard to make him so vicious towards Rodney. And now he's opened the door again ::hides under desk::. I wonder if it will hurt Rodney as much if he's not in the room? I hope not for his sake :(. I'm eagerly awaiting the next chapter. Laura.
Hostility
Reviewer: chaps (Anonymous)
30 Jun 2005 1:02 am
Have I mentioned I hate creepy...I didn't read part two because I can't do horror, but I couldn't resist and opened part three. I was sucked in, had to go back to read two and now I'm hooked and really creeped out here.

Author's Response: Good! If you're creeped out, I've done my job. I'm glad you couldn't resist.
Hostility
Reviewer: Laura (Anonymous)
30 Jun 2005 12:34 am
The first chapter creeped the heck out of me when I read it. Chapters two and three are somewhat like having the compulsion to climb the stairs but also not wanting to know what I'll find. Can't wait to see how things play out. *Nice* writing.
Hostility
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Anonymous)
21 Jun 2005 8:02 pm
Oh ::shivers::. I thought the first story was bad enough, but the sequel was just creepy beyond words! Poor Rodney :(. And John- if it was Hessling's voice Rodney heard making John go up the stairs, then what made Hessling go up them? Powerful stuff, and I shall know who to blame if I have nightmares tonight! Laura.
Compulsion
Reviewer: Jennamajig (Anonymous)
21 Jun 2005 10:07 am
Wow...very powerful sequel. Great images. That much have been some dream! I can never remember my dreams, so I'm even more impressed :).
Compulsion
Reviewer: Fledge (Anonymous)
01 Jun 2005 7:07 am
Ooooh! I can just tell you're a Lovecraft fan. That was excellent :) And brrr if you have nightmares like that yourself!

Author's Response: Not anymore, but when I was little, I had nightmares very like this story. And yes, I'm a Lovecraft fan. Thanks, I'm glad you like the story. Write a sequel!
Beginning
Reviewer: chaps1870 (Anonymous)
27 May 2005 12:22 am
Oooo...I don't do creepy very well, but you write it nicely.
Beginning
You must login (register) to review.