RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: ladyjanus (Signed)
30 Jun 2010 12:54 pm
I've read this one several times and each time I get something new from it, some subtlety of phrase or image that catches me...this is damn good work. I'm not just a fan of Stargate, I'm a fan of yours....
Reviewer: ljc (Anonymous)
13 Dec 2009 9:22 pm
I am in awe. This is a most amazing story. I want to weep.
Reviewer: Righ S; (Anonymous)
30 Jul 2009 7:33 am
that's heartbreaking, so sad.
Reviewer: AliCat (Anonymous)
20 Jul 2008 12:37 am
Intense. Creepy. Scarey.

I wondered about Teyla all the way through, but the ending really caught me by surprise.
Reviewer: Jx_Walker (Anonymous)
27 Feb 2008 11:07 pm
I just heard this on the podfic, and came to find the printed version as well. This is wonderful and so very sad. At least John and Rodney survive but the cost is so high. You did such a good job of it, that I could not stop listening and reading.

Thanks
Reviewer: Jen (Anonymous)
01 Jan 2007 4:19 am
Oh my god. I loved so many things about this, it would be impossible to list them all. Just. Wow. Thank you so much for writing this, you have no idea how much I loved reading it. The futility of it all, John's sheer numbness to everything, the *issues*, oh wow the issues. I loved them. I absolutely adored how you revealed everything, and also how there is no happy ending here, just a chilling sort of closure without actual closure. So. Yeah. I may have liked it a little. :D
Reviewer: katherine_tag (Anonymous)
19 Oct 2006 12:15 pm
Wow, this story was beautiful. The pathos of their situation was really well done - I never felt like it was melodramatic. And Rodney's line "You're still there" just broke my heart. Wonderful job. Thank you for sharing.
Reviewer: FlossPyromaniac (Anonymous)
21 Mar 2006 5:29 pm
Gods, this was harsh and painful and beautifully written and the emotion in it was so stark and clear. The ending nearly killed me.
Reviewer: beatriz (Anonymous)
08 Nov 2005 2:41 am
Wow! this is amazing .
Reviewer: trill (Anonymous)
04 Sep 2005 1:30 am
This is one of the most heartbreakingly beautiful things I have ever read in my life. The character’s desperation was wonderfully rendered, and I felt the losses they suffered right along with them, especially those at their own hands. And when Elizabeth and Carson died, the fact that it was completely senseless (because *they* were completely senseless) just serves to make it all the more tragic. A lot of writers, myself included, are afraid to kill off main characters, it seems, or at least to kill off more than one. Yet you managed to kill almost all of them, to a wonderful yet horrible effect. The things that John felt and knew through his link with the city, like the world dying around them, were a very nice touch. It makes sense that Atlantis would have been monitoring all that, but I’ve never seen it used in fic before. That last line has to be one of the saddest endings to a story ever. (It reminded me of Cube a bit, which really added to the sadness for me.) This was superb, very in character (on the lighter side, I always knew Weir would snap first…), and if the Siege had been a movie instead of a story arch on a show, I could completely see it playing out like this.

Author's Response: Thank you. And, yes, Carson and Elizabeth's deaths are senseless, but none of them are thinking clearly by then. I've never seen Cube, but so many DH fans have mentioned it I'm going to have rent it some time.
Reviewer: Niala (Anonymous)
17 Aug 2005 5:07 am
I want to review because this fic is so amazing, but truthfully...I don't know what to say. I've just finished it and I'm stunned. I was on the edge of my seat the entire time, and after reading the ending, I'm still on the edge of my seat--frozen. To say that this is intense, tragic, devastating, would all be true, but ultimately an understatement. you have managed, yet again, to blow not only my mind, but my soul. wow. *is in shock*
Reviewer: Niala (Anonymous)
17 Aug 2005 4:41 am
I want to review because this fic is so amazing, but truthfully...I don't know what to say. I've just finished it and I'm stunned. I was on the edge of my seat the entire time, and after reading the ending, I'm still on the edge of my seat--frozen. To say that this is intense, tragic, devastating, would all be true, but ultimately an understatement. you have managed, yet again, to blow not only my mind, but my soul. wow. *is in shock*
Reviewer: chalcopyrite (Anonymous)
15 Aug 2005 6:00 pm
I was just blown away by this story -- the way you structured it worked so well to let it unfold. And this could so easily have happened. I was -- I don't even have words right now. "Seared" comes close. Thank you.

Author's Response: Thank you. I fell into the structure because I worked backward from the first image I had: Sheppard giving Rodney his food. It's probably the most intricate thing I've done, but was also the easiest, because it just flowed out. I'm still amazed people like it. I wish I knew why this fandom brings out my darkest ideas ...
Reviewer: Purpleyin (Anonymous)
09 Aug 2005 7:27 pm
This is the darkest fic I've ever read. It had me constantly on the edge of my seat and openly crying so many times throughout. I had the rather sickening feeling that those two thumps on the iris might be Elizabeth and Beckett. :'( But it was an amazing story for all it's sadness.

Author's Response: It is dark, no question, I think because no one in it is a villain. They're all just flotsam and jetsam caught in the tide of events. The Wraith are the enemy, but they're an impersonal enemy, like a shark or a plague of locusts. And I'm still pleased with the story because I managed an elegant structure, even if I did wreck every single character on the rocks of fate. Thanks for the review. You've made my day and I need that.
Reviewer: Suzy (Anonymous)
08 Jun 2005 8:35 am
Oh my goodness that story was just amazing! I often think it's better when things aren't all flowers and sunshine and tied up neatly at the end. Also loved your story A Taste of Apples. Couldn't stop reading until the end.

Author's Response: I like flowers and sunshine too, I'm currently working on something a little more upbeat, but have been side tracked again by the loose ends, though :cross my fingers: not this dark.
Reviewer: Rossendale (Anonymous)
08 Jun 2005 1:24 am
Like wow - it friggin' hurt, it was so good! If you can find a way to continue this story, please do! And please, where did you get the title from? It took me a moment to understand it. Now I'm curious. Brilliant! Thanks! Rossendale

Author's Response: Ah, a question I can answer! It's the final line of Pablo Neruda's No Hay Olvido: Sonata: 'y tantas cosas que quiero olvidar.'
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Anonymous)
07 Jun 2005 9:57 pm
.............::is in shock::......... OMG this is excellent! I loved the way the flashbacks were interspersed with the present, keeping Atlantis' fate unknown, but gradually giving us clues as to the end. I thought the Ancient database was a great idea, and the way it sucked John and Rodney in was quite scary. This was just blow after blow, and I was impressed with how you wrote everyone's reactions as their hope for escape spiralled away- Elizabeth shutting off her mind and Kusunagi starving herself were particularly memorable. Poor Rodney having to blow up Daedalus :(, and Ford ::sniffle::. I'm glad he had Teyla and John looking out for him after Beckett's words added to his burden. The final fight in the gateroom was heartbreaking, even though we'd had a chance to prepare for it via the fact that present John was thinking of Rodnay as the only one left. It was interesting to see the way Carson and Elizabeth seemed to swap mental states just at the end- very sad too. And John having to shoot Teyla...just...::sob::. I really felt for John and Rodney, though John in particular, over the sudden loss of the connection to Atlantis and how it left John feeling crippled. And I was sad and heartbroken all over again seeing John and Rodney trying to adjust to being back on Earth, with no Ancient interface, too many people, and just trying to beat the shock, oh and the whole equation thing with Charlie was interesting too. I also liked the way Daniel tried to offer John support, and the way Jack knew that John had left a lot unsaid when asked where home was for him. I feel quite drained now, but I also hope you will be continuing this as I'd like to see the guys getting at least a glimmer of hope that the future won't be completely bleak and barren. Many thanks for this excellent story. Laura.

Author's Response: What a review! Thank you. I haven't any plans for a sequel, but who knows?
Reviewer: katt (Anonymous)
07 Jun 2005 6:47 pm
That was........wow, just wow. I was totally caught up in the story the whole time and that ending was so desolate. Great work.

Author's Response: Thank you. Desolate works. Desolate is good.
Reviewer: Mary (Anonymous)
07 Jun 2005 3:54 pm
Absolutely excellent! Please say you will continue this story. I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. Bravo.

Author's Response: I really hadn't any intentions, because to go on would take away the reader's freedom to decide whether things got better or stayed the same.
You must login (register) to review.