RSS
Reviews For The Human Body

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Jaws (Anonymous)
23 Sep 2005 4:56 pm
I liked! keep up the good work!
Getting into Your Genes
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
07 Sep 2005 6:33 am
Lots of "Yay" moments in this bit :). Firstly, yay to Teyla for talking to Rodney; secondly, yay to Rodney for getting all discombobulated about their 'secret'- not only was it amusing to see him rant on, but I also liked his little chat with Carson about how it wasn't impossible, especially after things that even *he* had observed. Thirdly, yay, we now know Carson's feelings for sure...I'd hoped that the hair stroking thing in part a was a conscious action and not done without him even realising it *happy smile*. And lastly, yay, they had a chat and no one hates anyone and they still have a film to watch. I can't wait to see what comes of this newly aware not-date ;). Laura.

Author's Response: Rodney would so stroke out over not being told and finding out by accident. He's also the sort that would assume that something *is* going on, when there isn't. Gossip queen. Glad you're enjoying this so much. :)
A Slip of the Tongue (part B)
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
06 Sep 2005 10:30 pm
ANother great chapter...or should that be half chapter? ;). I loved the way John had to keep reminding himself that it wasn't a date, just two friends watching a film...he's got it bad *g*. As for the flashback to John and Rodney's illness; I really felt sorry for them going through all that (even if Rodney was sedated for some of it), and Carson working tirelessly to get them better was spot-on. But I really loved the little touches. Yes, Carson touches people all the time, but his frequent, gentle, strokings of John's hair seemed to be a bit more than the usual to me. The sort of thing you do to comfort someone who is more than your patient- maybe more than a friend? ::is hopeful that he's catching on a little::. He doesn't seem to go for anyone elses hair, more usually it's a shoulder or knee or somesuch. I enjoyed seeing John getting a small chance to care for Carson in return when he arranged him more comfortably on the sofa...and stroked his hair :). I hope Carson *does* decide to move the sense memory of that to the front of his mind. It needs dwelling on until he catches a clue...even Carson can't be *completely* oblivious! ;). Laura.

Author's Response: If you were Carson, wouldn't you sedate Rodney whenever medically permissible? :) And yeah, the boys are a little slow... but they'll get over it. :) Have I mentioned lately that you write the best feedback EVER? You really do.
A Slip of the Tongue (part A)
Reviewer: Jaws (Anonymous)
01 Sep 2005 4:22 pm
I like those two new chapters, very nice work, can't wait for more!!!
A Slip of the Tongue (part B)
Reviewer: Jennamajig (Signed)
18 Aug 2005 8:46 am
Lovely chapter. I liked this story a lot. So many nice things here -- some very interesting backstory. Loved that John realised that just maybe Carson could be the one person on Atlantis that could sort of understand some of the things he's gone through. Nice that both his Carson confided in each other with a story from their past. And John's concern for Carson was touching -- I often wondered when the doctor got to rest, since once the Seige was over, his work just piled up even more. But, again, I have to give you so much credit for excellent in character writing. You are not rushing the relationship and setting it up very nicely and realistically. This pairing is growing on me greatly b/c of this story. For me, it is exactly how it would happen; friendship first, than more. Especially since we don't get to see Carson and John interact enough on the show (for now, maybe it will change).
Put Your Head on My Shoulder
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
18 Aug 2005 6:46 am
This was sad but excellent. I liked that Rodney was able to recognise his inability to do any good for John, and also that Carson would probably be able to help him. I loved the back and forth between John and Carson as they each talked about some of their feelings. I'm sure Carson must be wrong about John's concern for him though, and he's not really just a convenient outlet for generalised concern. There were a couple of interesting titbits from their pasts here too; John's problem with the drugs, and Carson's work with the terminal children. The hugging was nice too, the way Carson fought not to put his head on John's shoulder for comfort, but was so quick to offer his own shoulder for John. I'm glad John's finally letting some of it out, that he trusts Carson enough to let go of the facade. I'm looking forward to what happens next. Laura.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much for the detailed review. You're awesome! As for Carson being wrong... well, yeah, but he's kind of self-effacing, you know. :) I've started part III, so hopefully I'll have it out to you soon. :)
Put Your Head on My Shoulder
Reviewer: Azar Darkstar (Signed)
13 Aug 2005 12:44 am
Cool! I love this pairing, but I don't really see too much of it. I like how you introduced the elements of the story: Carson being ill, John's field medic "training", Rodney being whinny, etc. I hope that you add another part soon.
A Pain in the Ass
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
10 Aug 2005 7:46 am
A series of John/Carson? ::snoopy dance:: :). It's already been said by everyone else here, but I really loved how in character they are. Apart from the little bit at the beginning about Ford knowing John's feelings, there really isn't anything to indicate his infatuation...and I mean that as a compliment; he's not gone all hearts and flowers sappy. It's only because we're in the know that we see it as more. I just hope Carson figures it out quickly :). Laura.

Author's Response: "Snoopy Dance" LOL! Buffy has scarred us all, eh? :) I'm glad you like this enough to snoopy dance. :) As for what you're saying about the only evidence about John's crush being the little unsaid thing between him and Ford, I know what you mean. And thanks. :) The plan is for the relationship to develop slowly over the series. Hearts and Flowers stuff really isn't my thing. And I don't know about you, but when I'm sick, I don't want people hanging all over me... so I tend to transpose those feelings onto my characters. Carson would appreciate the concern, but if someone were to start spouting "I love you's" out of the blue, I think he'd dose them up with Haldol so they could both just sleep off their various ailments! :) As for Carson figuring it out quickly... come on! This is *Carson*. Not bloody likely. ;)
A Pain in the Ass
Reviewer: kokopelli24 (Anonymous)
10 Aug 2005 1:10 am
I'm really enjoying this story, especially the tenderness John is giving Carson. Can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thanks. :) He really is a big old softy at heart. He just needs a reason to show it. :)
A Pain in the Ass
Reviewer: jennamajig (Anonymous)
09 Aug 2005 10:13 pm
You know, while I love both these characters, I have to admit, I'm not always sure about this pairing (perhaps it's b/c we don't see it often). But then I read this and definitely see the start of something and completely see it. I just loved John showing his own brand of concern and even volunteering to help with a needle in the butt, lol. But as someone else said, there's no sap and that's what makes this story work so well for me. It's John and Carson, written the way they are and I loved the transition at the end to calling each other by their first names. It's like Shep said, if you can't drop the formalities after giving a shot in the ass, when can ya? :) I can't wait to read more chapters of this tale and see the relationship progress.

Author's Response: Glad this story works for you. I do try to keep everyone fairly well in character, because I can't handle girly-men. These are guys. Even when they have crushes on other guys, they're GUYS! :) And I think it's a huge compliment that this story is getting you to see the possibilities in the pairing. Thanks, that means a lot! Part II is in the works. Hopefully it'll be up this weekend. :)
A Pain in the Ass
Reviewer: merlin7 (Anonymous)
09 Aug 2005 10:05 pm
Me again. DUH. Just reread this story and THIS Time I caught that you said it's the start of a series. WOOHOO! Makes me very happy!

Author's Response: [g] Glad you're looking forward to it... hope I live up to they hype! :)
A Pain in the Ass
Reviewer: Dr_Dredd (Signed)
09 Aug 2005 9:56 pm
Poor Carson. You know what they say about paybacks... :-) Good start to the series. I'm looking forward to seeing more.

Author's Response: Hey, he volunteered his ass for that mission. [g]. Sometimes you're willing to take a short amount of additional pain to ward off a long, lingering, humilitating pain/illness, you know. :) Glad you liked the story.
A Pain in the Ass
Reviewer: merlin7 (Anonymous)
09 Aug 2005 9:28 pm
I'm a fan of this pairing and I really loved this. Alot. I love how you wrote the characters very IN character. And that said...can I now BEG for another part. I would love to see how you write a beckett taking care of Shep. Cause I think it would end up differently than alot of the gen fics AND I'd love to see more of this relationship progress. Pretty please!

Author's Response: Thanks. Part II is now in the works. Hopefully it'll be up this weekend. :)
A Pain in the Ass
Reviewer: Anne (Anonymous)
09 Aug 2005 7:42 pm
First of all, I'm always happy to see this pairing, and second, I thought you did very well with it. Too many times, slashers/shippers can over-romanticize H/C, but I didn't feel any of that here. The characters interacted like grown adults, not teenage girls, and the character voices sounded right on. All in all, very well done, and looking forward to more.

Author's Response: This really is a desperately under-rated pairing. I'm glad you liked my characterizations. The teenage-girl-syndrome you describe makes me cringe and fandom seems to be suffering a pandemic of it. Here's hoping I stay immune! :) Glad you like it. :)
A Pain in the Ass
You must login (register) to review.