RSS
Reviews For Rosebud

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: AliCat (Anonymous)
20 Jul 2008 12:44 am
I cried. I can't remember the last time something I read inspired tears.
Up Into the Silence
Reviewer: Nora (Anonymous)
08 Oct 2006 7:55 pm
What can I say except haunting and brilliant and is it okay for me to feel very empty after reading this. I had actual shivers while reading and wow and I'll stop now, because I can't put into words how amazing this fic is in its desolation.
Up Into the Silence
Reviewer: ricco-the-penguin (Anonymous)
12 May 2006 12:29 pm
oh my god...*starts crying* this is so good, and so sad, and so creepy! the plot part, with everyone semi/not really/ disapperaing, sounds like a stehpen king novel, I love it! the whole story is just... beautiful!
Up Into the Silence
Reviewer: Emely Raines (Anonymous)
09 Nov 2005 12:52 am
Oh dear Lord in heaven I hate you. This story is absolutely amazing, so beautiful and sad and poignant. And I've read this just before bed, I'm not gonna be able to sleep.
Up Into the Silence
Reviewer: Emely Raines (Anonymous)
09 Nov 2005 12:49 am
Oh dear Lord in heaven I hate you. This story is absolutely amazing, so beautiful and sad and poignant. And I've read this just before bed, I'm not gonna be able to sleep.
Up Into the Silence
Reviewer: beatrize (Anonymous)
08 Nov 2005 3:09 am
wonderful.Inspiring
Up Into the Silence
Reviewer: sylvia (Anonymous)
13 Sep 2005 10:54 pm
oh my god. this story has to rate up there with my all time favorite fics. not just sga, but everything. and just so you know, "take him home." was a kick in the chest. ow.
Up Into the Silence
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
08 Sep 2005 6:55 am
Oh my ::has no words::. This was...this was sad and brilliant all at once. I can't decide whether I should feel sorry for Radek carrying that knowledge around on his own, or angry at him for keeping it a secret. And John; it was so sad seeing him so shut down and closed off. He was almost a stranger :(. It must have been so hard to not even be able to mourn Rodney appropriately, having to keep it a secret even then. And then to learn that Rodney was still alive all this time? Not much of a comfort, but it would have been something and Radek kept it from him :(. The whole breeding thing was a double edged sword too. Necessary, but somehow distasteful. I liked Carson's concern over John and wish there was more he could have done for him. And I felt sorry for Jeil too, never knowing his father as the happy, smirking John we all now and love :(. The flashbacks to John and Rodney in happier times were bittersweet. It was nice to see the depth of feeling they had even as they had to disguise it in public, but it also made John's loss hurt more for seeing them. This was a very moving story, and a great companion piece to Rodney's pov. I only hope they've both found each other again now. Laura.
Up Into the Silence
Reviewer: Niala (Anonymous)
07 Sep 2005 10:39 pm
Okay, I'm sitting here at my desk crying...and I don't know what to say. The first chapter of this story (Rodney's pov) shattered me into a thousand pieces. So much so, that I didn't think that this chapter would hurt as much, but it did. Just in a different way. What broke me about Rodney's pov was the unbearable lonliness and the decades of not knowing what had happened. With John's pov, we know what happened, and it's just as unbearable as not knowing. It's just all so horrible and tragic. I wanted to rage at Radek and ask "how could you do it?" but I couldn't help by empathize and pity him. What must it be like to get everything you wanted and lose it all at the same time. I'm going to stop rambling now. I can't really say what I want to anyway. *continues to angst and hurt*
Up Into the Silence
Reviewer: red (Anonymous)
05 Sep 2005 8:30 pm
A grand addition to Rosebud. It so, so sad. But also bittersweet. Neither Rodney nor John gave up or stopped thinking about the other, even after so many years-- now that's love. You can only hope they meet up again somehow after death. Beautiful writing and so achingly poignant.
Up Into the Silence
Reviewer: red (Anonymous)
05 Sep 2005 8:30 pm
A grand addition to Rosebud. It so, so sad. But also bittersweet. Neither Rodney nor John gave up or stopped thinking about the other, even after so many years-- now that's love. You can only hope they meet up again somehow after death. Beautiful writing and so achingly poignant.
Up Into the Silence
Reviewer: custardpringle (Signed)
04 Sep 2005 7:09 pm
oh. ohhh mon dieu. i'm afraid to admit how much this fic made me cry. you did much too good a job. congratulations.

Author's Response: Hmn. My parents say I was a good child and never broke my toys. I must be making up for it now.
Reviewer: Katt (Anonymous)
04 Sep 2005 9:45 am
Sad and beautiful and absorbing and wonderfully written and just really marvelous. Thanks so much for sharing your talent.

Author's Response: It was really supposed to be shorter, just an answer to what happened to Atlantis from Rosebud and it kept growing.
Up Into the Silence
Reviewer: mandy (Anonymous)
04 Sep 2005 5:17 am
This is one of the saddest stories I've ever read. The idea that the Atlantis personnel thought everyone in the universe was gone except themselves, not realizing that they were the ones who'd disappeared...heartbreaking.

Author's Response: Nods. And thought they were responsible for the disappearance of everyone. When I consider it objectively, this one qualifies as apocafic, with its rebuilding from nothing background. Of course, many of the Atlanteans were probably like Sheppard, just going through the motions.
Up Into the Silence
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
19 Aug 2005 7:12 pm
::Is stunned:: Oh, this was sad. Poor Rodney, unable to get home and find out what happened to John and the others, left to deal with uncaring military types and awful family. The picture was somehow the saddest bit of this, that it was unnoticed and forgotten about made me sad :(. I think it was all the worse because you kept breaking up the sad with little glimpses of how happy they were together. I'm consoling myself with the thought that John and Rodney are back together now, as they should be :). Laura.
Reviewer: red (Anonymous)
19 Aug 2005 10:01 am
Atlantis, McKay's own personal Rosebud. I like that-- it fits. Beautiful writing, very poetic and heart wrenching in its understatement. I want to say more, but I can't think what, just know that this story struck me deeply. Beautiful.
Reviewer: burningchaos (Anonymous)
18 Aug 2005 9:25 am
You killed me, this was so sad and wonderful at the same time.
Reviewer: Texan Elf (Anonymous)
18 Aug 2005 5:14 am
it's just too sad. this is why I don't like dramatic movies..too depressing.
Reviewer: Reona (Anonymous)
18 Aug 2005 1:55 am
I must say that I cried, I absolutely bawled when I read this. Very moving.
Reviewer: kyrdwyn (Anonymous)
18 Aug 2005 1:40 am
Wow. Poor Rodney.
You must login (register) to review.