RSS
Reviews For Phantom Limb

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: schneefink (Anonymous)
29 Apr 2010 4:14 am
Im glad I found this. The sense of loss, how they have to go on somehow... very well done.
Reviewer: tokageMusume (Anonymous)
07 Sep 2006 10:29 pm
First, I'd like to say that I really enjoyed reading your story. It's tight, well-written and incredibly interesting. Beyond that, it's a very satisfying tale - none of the usual fan fiction warm-fuzzies or standard megrims; this is a very realistic story with characters that feel more like real people than anything I can remember reading in ages. Just like with real people and real life, there's no real 'ending' because, well, hell... there's always tomorrow, right? And people are neither purely heroic nor purely rotten; they're bits of this and that. I loved the ending, especially. What you gave McKay and Sheppard in this was better than picket-fences and moonbeams; it was like investing them with the chance to become 'real boys' by living through real boy stuff. Thanks so much for publishing this. It's a beaut.
Reviewer: mangst (Anonymous)
10 Mar 2006 1:15 am
Very realistic story. There were no simple answers to anything, either professional, scientific or personal. And like life nothing was really solved or wrapped up in the end. It kind of depressed me actually, but only because it was well written enough to invest me in the outcome.
Reviewer: Lydia (Signed)
07 Mar 2006 5:11 pm
Lovely story. There's horror and pain, but the survivors manage to be strong and find a way to keep moving forward. I think the style of the prose matches the events of the story very well -- there aren't really any strong peaks in the action, just a constant low-key pushing ahead while remembering the events of the past.
Reviewer: Leah (Anonymous)
17 Feb 2006 2:14 am
That was wonderful. And also horrible. The ending, despite the hopefulness, was somehow worse than the beginning. I hope there is a happy ending somewhere, at least in your head. But thank you.
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
24 Sep 2005 7:57 am
I'm afraid I'm another member of the speechless contingent. This was just excellent. It was a shock to leap in after the crisis and gradually learn what had happened on Atlantis. I thought you got the characters spot on, but also caught the sense of survivors guilt and how it affected them. I was pleased that John moved in with Rodney and with how their relationship grew. And their falling out and making up was great. I was glad that Rodney hadn't really forgotten his physics. The ending was great- both hopeful and sad. Hopeful that they'll find Ancient outposts and the Tok'ra, but sad that they have to be on separate teams, and that it's not the right teams. John's feeling of loss, like a phantom limb was very poignant- missing his teams and missing the jumper. So...not quite as speechless as I first thought *bg*. Laura.
Reviewer: fanficaddict (Anonymous)
23 Sep 2005 12:43 am
Bravo :D Excellent story, bittersweet really. I would love to see some sort of follow up :D Do they help the others? Do they find the tok'ra? Do they find another outpost? :D
Reviewer: Emel Raines (Anonymous)
22 Sep 2005 10:30 pm
Dry mouth, fuzzy mind, wide eyes, dilated pupils.... speechless.... Jesus, that was good. Course, I don't think it helps that Simon's playing a South African radio station on his computer and it's been playing sad emotional music too. Then there's the end... I can feel that damn puddlejumper!
Reviewer: Kam (Anonymous)
22 Sep 2005 9:58 pm
. . .I don't know what to say, so I'm not going to try. There are fics that strike a person speechless. This is one of them.
You must login (register) to review.