RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: jgroovydaisy (Anonymous)
03 Jan 2006 8:51 pm
I am so glad someone was looking for this fic on one of the lists. I had never read it and I think it was terrifically well written. I always enjoy stories that move me emotionally and I was totally tearing up. The characters were portrayed as very human which is a good thing. Thanks for writing this. :)

Author's Response: Me too. I think that to dehumanize them just because we don't like how it makes us feel is a travesty. We need to feel these things to remind us that we have feelings, we hurt and we cry, and that's more cleansing to me than a fluffy PWP. I'm glad that you like this since it is one of my favorite stories. Thank you. :)
Reviewer: girlgonemadd (Anonymous)
03 Jan 2006 8:50 pm
There aren't very many really dark fics that cover this topic that draw me in but yours did - no matter how many times I tired to get away. It was a really good story though I have two bits of critical feedback. One was already expressed, how quickly Rodney seemed to recover. The second was there didn't seem, to me at least, to be that much of a change in Rodney. It would have been interesting to see some shocking and even disturbing changes in his personality that were both temporary and permanant. And how everyone might react to them. A sequal would be great, set in the future, explaining some of the things they had to go through and are still experiencing. That said, I did like the story a lot and hope to see more from you soon.

Author's Response: Thank you. I have been thinking about writing a continuation to show the effects in Rodney's personality, but within Secrets I felt that the change him too much would leave people feeling a bit disconnected from Rodney, as if he'd slipped out of character, but I do understand. I worried a bit also about having it too slow though now I'm glad to have the feedback that it seemed too fast. If I can ever get myself to add to it, I will likely show how Rodney didn't fully recover so much as finally accepted what had happened on a level that meant he could begin allowing himself to heal as well as showing a bit more of the long term effects on his psyche. :) Thank you for the response. I really do appreciate when people tell me the little things they think I should discuss more.
Reviewer: Dr_Dredd (Anonymous)
19 Dec 2005 5:50 pm
I'm not sure what I can say that hasn't already been said, so I'll just settle for "wow." Darkness and light, sin and redemption, this story had it all. Very moving and vivid, and an excellent job of writing.

Author's Response: Thank you.
Reviewer: Mystic (Anonymous)
26 Oct 2005 8:23 pm
What a great story! Though I so wanted there to be more, I was left with a good sense of hope. I very much enjoyed this and I hope you will cointinue to write more wonderful stories.

Author's Response: Thank you! I've been so floored at the fact that everyone's enjoying this fic, and I will be writing more fic. :)
Reviewer: A fan (Anonymous)
22 Oct 2005 7:10 am
Enthralling, disturbing, but enthralling. You write brilliantly.

Author's Response: *blush* Thank you very much.
Reviewer: Krysalys (Anonymous)
09 Oct 2005 1:34 am
Wow. Fantastic. Wish you'd continue this. I just don't want it to end. *sighs* Exquisite job. ----}-@ Krys

Author's Response: Unfortunately I think that was the end to what we see of Rodney and John. :( But thank you! Maybe in the future I can write something in this vein.
Reviewer: fanficaddict (Anonymous)
26 Sep 2005 1:15 pm
wow! that was amazing :D Loved the ending awww! That hug was sweeter than anything :D

Author's Response: Thank you! I really wanted to show that rape can be followed by something other than sex and I'm quite happy that it was good.
Reviewer: Susan (Signed)
26 Sep 2005 3:59 am
Sniffles. That was dark, sick, wonderful, and definately heart-felt. I would have loved more details, but you wrote an excellent story. I would very much like a sequal or maybe a back story following Rodney's Point of View. Good job!

Author's Response: *holds hands over muse* He didn't hear that... Okay, maybe the muse did. So perhaps a sequal will come along someday. I'm glad that despite some lack of details, you enjoyed it. :) Thank you.
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
25 Sep 2005 2:19 pm
Oh, so sad and painful :(, but hopeful too. I was horrified by the things Rodney endured for so long, not simply his abuse from Glaedion, but the indifference from his 'friends'. I was pleased that at least Cadman and Stackhouse were looking out for him. It made me so sad and angry to see how John, Elizabeth, Carson, Radek and Teyla acted towards him- you even made me disappointed in John,and he's my favourite so that's difficult to do. I breathed a huge sigh of relief when they finally found out and put a stop to Rodney's abuse, though I knew there was still a long way to go. I liked the way everyone tried so hard to put things right with Rodney, and I especially liked John's attempts, with all the false starts and guilty feelings getting in the way. I was very happy with the way they gradually grew closer again, and the ending was great, with John telling Rodney that he didn't need to worry about sex ever again, what they had was beyond that. I'd truly love to see a sequel or epilogue to this so we can see how Rodney recovers now that he's got John to support him again. Laura.

Author's Response: Oh, Laura. I always look forward to your reviews. Thank you. Okay, I'm happy that you were disappointed in John, which I know sounds strange, but I wanted the feeling to be that John was remiss in his duty and that he felt that burden as well. And that you felt for Rodney what I felt for him as I was writing the fic is definitely what I'd hoped. Rodney had been through a harrowing experience based on the idea that he was providing for Atlantis something they needed and then for naught. John's attitude toward Rodney is something else too that I am happy is recieved well. I wanted it to be understood that they didn't have the best road ahead of them but that they'd find their way. Gah! Don't incite the muses. I've been pushing them toward reapergate... *wink*
Reviewer: mandy (Anonymous)
25 Sep 2005 4:12 am
This story was touching. I thought Rodney recovered pretty easily and was a little too forgiving of John. Eh, but that's just an opinion. Really good writing job!

Author's Response: Thank you for your honesty. I did kind of feel toward the end it was fast but I didn't want the story to drag too long. Still, I'm glad you liked it as it was anyway.
Reviewer: Mary (Anonymous)
24 Sep 2005 9:14 am
This was absolutely fantastic. There must be more because I have to see John & Rodney continue to make up. Please, please, please continue.

Author's Response: Thank you! There might be more in the future but for the moment the boys simply exist in a state of non-sex bliss. :)
You must login (register) to review.