RSS
Reviews For Synodic

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
23 Dec 2007 4:51 pm
Wow. *shivers*

It's been a long time since my first reading of this piece, but it still retains incredible power. Very nicely done!

My only wish is to see Rodney kill those b*st*rds. That, at least, would help his sense of powerlessness. It probably would also weaken the story so I'm glad it's not there.

Author's Response: Well, I'm with you on the wishing of harm, but, yeah, the story's really about the two of them, so that would be extraneous. But yay for the reread. Nothing I like better than the thought that someone would actually read the story twice, so mucho thankses. :)
Synodic
Reviewer: tokageMusume (Anonymous)
14 Sep 2006 11:00 pm
I'd say I "enjoyed" this story but that doesn't really do it justice. I -- visited this story, like a place or a painting... Yes, that's it. Like a painting. You use words like a painter uses colours and brushes. Moving and painterly. Thanks so much for publishing this.

Author's Response: Why thank you very much, I'm very pleased you liked it. I actually had to rewrite a lot of this story initially to achieve a better balance between style and substance, but I'm happy that the imagery still stood out even with that modification.
Synodic
Reviewer: Sylvanwitch (Anonymous)
04 Dec 2005 11:49 pm
*deep breath* Wow. This is just stunningly beautiful. The imagery is spectacular, and I love the conceit of following the moon's phases--and all that entails, especially for a city on the water. Exceptionally well-written and remarkably poignant, deep, and balanced. Bravo!

Author's Response: Well, thank you very much. I'm happy you liked the story. I know a number of people wish my writing had a little less imagery and a little more plot in it *snicker*, so I'm always pleased when someone likes it. :) I'm just hoping that Atlantis is supposed to have at least one moon. When they show the exterior shots of the city, you rarely see any real waves (except during big storms, of course). Ah, but then this is fiction, and I liked making the story follow the cycle from conjunction to conjunction as it were, both of the sun/planet/moon, and of Rodney and John together, so wth. :D
Synodic
Reviewer: ceitie (Anonymous)
08 Nov 2005 7:09 pm
Beautiful. I don't know what else to say, except that this is one of the best stories that I've ever read that deals with rape and its aftermath, in a way that's both realistic and haunting. So glad you didn't break my heart with a sad ending.

Author's Response: Why thank you. I'm glad that it seemed realistic, because I wouldn't want to gloss over things just for dramatic effect. And I don't like sad endings either. Sometimes I do ambiguous, mind you, but in my head it's always veering towards happy.
Synodic
Reviewer: Amalthia (Anonymous)
05 Nov 2005 5:11 pm
wow lovely and sad story. thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: Why thank you. I'm happy you liked it. :D
Synodic
Reviewer: Khyrra (Anonymous)
05 Nov 2005 3:37 pm
Wow, just...wow. Heartbreaking and beautiful.

Author's Response: Why thank you kindly, I'm happy you liked it. :D
Synodic
Reviewer: fanficaddict (Anonymous)
05 Nov 2005 2:15 pm
That was beautifully sad and sweet and wonderful :D Loved it!

Author's Response: Why thank you very much, I'm very happy you liked it. :D
Synodic
Reviewer: BB (Anonymous)
05 Nov 2005 10:16 am
Wow, that was wonderful, and the ending was so sweet and subtle... sigh :o)

Author's Response: Why thank you kindly. I'm pleased you liked it. I actually wrote the ending first, so, yay, I'm really glad you liked that. :D
Synodic
You must login (register) to review.