RSS
Reviews For Equilibrium

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: purrfus (Signed)
13 Feb 2008 3:14 pm
Emotionally exhausting.

Very well put together, and well written.
Equilibrium
Reviewer: Madison (Signed)
12 Jun 2007 9:47 pm
This is a beautiful and incredibly well-done piece--in fact downright lyrical at times. I loved the part about Sheppard being a mask that John wears, and him hanging around J's neck in the form of dog tags. Awesome!
Equilibrium
Reviewer: Deadra (Anonymous)
21 May 2006 4:21 pm
Wow...I liked the differences between John and Sheppard - it made a lot of sense, especially from Rodney's point of view. The only thing that made me wonder was whether some of his closest friends on Atlantis wouldn't get a glimpse of John every once in a while, when no one else was around.
Equilibrium
Reviewer: lavvyan (Anonymous)
08 Nov 2005 9:02 am
whoa! this is just great, you know that? really, really great. :) hope to read more soon. as in, now. *g*

Author's Response: Thanks a lot :)
Equilibrium
Reviewer: Krysalys (Signed)
06 Nov 2005 6:37 pm
*happy sigh* This was fantastic. Thing is, even Rodney shows one face to the world and keeps the real him somewhat hidden. Except for John. :) ----}-@ Krys

Author's Response: Thing is, even Rodney shows one face to the world and keeps the real him somewhat hidden. Perhaps to some degree, otherwise I find him quite the open book. Thanks for the fb :)
Equilibrium
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
06 Nov 2005 6:27 pm
Oh, very nice. I loved Rodney's view of the dichotomy of John Sheppard, how he saw John while everyone else got Sheppard. It was an interesting view and made a lot of sense. I was glad that Rodney finally figured out that he had all of John Sheppard, even if it took a bad gunshot wound to make him see it. And I can't possibly not mention the hot sex...because, yum ;). Laura.

Author's Response: Thanks for the lovely feedback :)
Equilibrium
Reviewer: Ajay (Anonymous)
06 Nov 2005 4:38 pm
loved this .well ploted. thank you.

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed :)
Equilibrium
Reviewer: Lee Michelle (Anonymous)
06 Nov 2005 4:24 pm
Oh,just oh...*blinks back tears* loved it.

Author's Response: Thanks :)
Equilibrium
Reviewer: Puppet (Anonymous)
06 Nov 2005 3:21 pm
I liked this fic for a lot of reasons. Right of the back, by using Rodney's POV, I think you bring up something about "Sheppard" that needs to be brought up. I think I'm not alone in seeing that this guy is obviously full of fake smiles and has a way too cool demenor. The show writers and actor in one smooth motion have created the PREFECT guy next door with lines and acting style. But when you look at the character's actions you see a lot of the line: "If it needs to be done, he'll do it. Would it even have to be the right thing?" Which is way different from the outward appearance that the character is projecting. You could say that makes him a leader, but often on the show I think it makes him come off as kind of a jerk. Some might even say that once noticed, it makes him seem really dangerous,--and no, not the cool kind of dangerous. (I really like that line by the way, it says so much, so well about the character in such brevity.) As the show writers seem to be bent on making him both OVERLY heroic AND charasmatic, I've often wondered would I like him better if he was written as more a "John" and only when needed a "Sheppard". Because really I have the same surface problem with "Sheppard" that your Rodney does. This is another thing that I like about your story. You reveal this odd worship people seem to have of "Sheppard" by having Rodney seem almost jealous of it. Because really who wouldn't be. I see it as a point that is besides the fact that they have to keep the relationship quiet: "Maybe it's the way everyone seems so indulgent of Sheppard's dry humor and silly smiles. The way sometimes everyone seems to be eating out of his hand.....Maybe it's because Sheppard is so much further away than John.... It's that thing he does, to make everyone feel like he's their friend, that dependable guy they've known for years, when really, nobody actually knows him at all. They just think they do." All these things (that you've captured surprisingly well) seem to be things that I think a lot of other fans are interpreting the same way. The ellusive off camera "Sheppard". And I think what comes across in the lines quoted tend to be way to unsettling about the character overall if you think about it too long. I also feel you point out well that alas, a romance between the two characters will be only a slasher's dream. This despite some of telling interaction between them. (Or at least the way that Rodney seems to have an unending respect and admiration for John Sheppard, no matter how he's treated on the actual show.)I think you've written it best here as it possibly speaks for a lot of the non-slash fans and/or the people that don't like/don't wanna see 'that kind of thing': "...who the hell would be stupid enough to assume something about the man that has chemistry even with the least non-conducting material in the universe?" And forgive me if I absolutely love and read way too much into the line: "It's Sheppard that can't deal." I think it's true in the both your story and show related moments. (And I get that your Rodney often can't deal and is projecting...just a bit at times. ;) ) This is a really beautiful story with clear imagery and it's very well written. I think you've said so much by using not only Rodney's POV, but using it from a relationship standpoint. Any character going out with "Sheppard" would probably feel this way before long. Not just an underdog, or not well liked in some circles Rodney. Now, I get that you ended with Rodney feeling that John Sheppard makes sense, and that there is a necessity for what's going on. But I just feel that with some of the points that you make thru Rodney that maybe not all "Sheppard" is necessary all the time. That it's maybe the warrior in battle that is truely needed, but a little of the other detactment needs to be let go. A least a little. If I'm entirely off on my interpretations, well that's why I don't usually give long detailed reviews. If I am off, just through all the junk I said out the window, and save the I REALLY, REALLY LIKED THIS ONE part. By the way, I don't hate Sheppard's character on the show. I just think he could still be a hero even if (God forbid)the show writers tuned down the bravado sometimes. :)

Author's Response: Wow, that's amazing feedback - almost as long as the fic :) I think my intentions differ slightly from your interpretations on *some* aspects of the fic, but I loved reading your thoughts on the story and found your interpretations very interesting and appreciate them a great deal. Thanks for taking the time to give such detailed feedback :)
Equilibrium
Reviewer: Emely Raines (Anonymous)
06 Nov 2005 10:43 am
Nicely done. And very well put, it does feel like that.

Author's Response: Thanks :)
Equilibrium
Reviewer: lillyjk (Anonymous)
06 Nov 2005 10:18 am
I love this so much. Excellent job of portraying the two sides of John Sheppard and how Rodney's in love with both of them. Breath-taking.

Author's Response: Thank you :)
Equilibrium
Reviewer: Miscbills (Signed)
06 Nov 2005 10:07 am
Whoa, this is really intense story. You have really written a strong complicated John Sheppard where I could see both sides of him as Rodney sees him. I could see Rodney struggle with the two sides. He loving one and hating the other. Good job.

Author's Response: Thanks :)
Equilibrium
Reviewer: Jade_Dragoness (Anonymous)
06 Nov 2005 4:07 am
*takes a deep breath then lest it out slowly* Wow.....very good fic.

Author's Response: Thank you :)
Equilibrium
Reviewer: kaz (Anonymous)
06 Nov 2005 3:42 am
that was brilliant, really enjoyed the fact that you could write so well the complexity of sheppard. very cleverly thougt out and transmitted into thougt.

Author's Response: Thank you :)
Equilibrium
You must login (register) to review.