RSS
Reviews For Resilience

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Fitz (Anonymous)
17 Nov 2007 1:23 pm
This story has been recced to me several times as the ultimate Trinity tag. I have to say I enjoyed it immensely until the actual Post-Trinity part.

John's behaviour towards Rodney in this fic was absolutely appalling. While Rodney behaved dreadfully during the episode, he didn't set out to deliberately hurt anyone, or blow up a solar system on purpose. Anger over such a spectacular cock-up (and Rodneys crappy attitude) is perfectly believable, but to behave the way Sheppard does here goes beyond the pale, especially when the two are supposed to be involved. McKay asked Sheppard to trust him (something he was perfectly entitled to) and it went wrong. There was no abuse of trust displayed, just an arrogant, rude man who believed he could succeed getting it wrong for once. John behaves as if Rodney went out and cheated on him, or lied to get his own way. (I realise that canon Sheppard acts like this slightly at the end of the episode, but there is no real follow-up). And when John finally deigns to give Rodney a second chance, Rodney is so grateful it actually made me slightly nauseous. Rodney is better than that (or at least his self esteem is healthier). Sheppard needs to apologise a hell of a lot more sincerely than he does here before any kind of reconciliation. Asking John to say "Duranda" when Rodney gets carried away in the future is giving a hell of a lot of power to someone who really doesn't deserve it. And what gives Sheppard the right to put the brakes on a scientific situation? Zelenka maybe, but Sheppard no. Obviously this is fiction, and the characters are not meant to be perfect, but this seemed to clash with both the canon portrayal of the characters and your own in previous chapters.

I think a lot of what bothers me about this fic is common to a lot of Post-Trinity fic. They tend to fall into two catagories (both equally ooc); poor
misunderstood Rodney with mean, shunning John who eventually sees the error of his ways, or pathetic Rodney, who needs magnanimous John to forgive him his sins and allow him to return to his life, and if he works hard and behaves well, regain Johns trust. Your fic falls mainly into the second catagory.

What makes it stand out from the rest however, is that apart from the dodgy Post-Trinity OOCness of McKay and Sheppard, it is exceedingly well written, which makes the character issues stand out like a sore thumb.

Wow, I really went on longer and more negatively then I intended too. Be assured, I wouldn't drone on like this if I didn't think you were a talented writer!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
17 Nov 2007 1:22 pm
This story has been recced to me several times as the ultimate Trinity tag. I have to say I enjoyed it immensely until the actual Post-Trinity part.

John's behaviour towards Rodney in this fic was absolutely appalling. While Rodney behaved dreadfully during the episode, he didn't set out to deliberately hurt anyone, or blow up a solar system on purpose. Anger over such a spectacular cock-up (and Rodneys crappy attitude) is perfectly believable, but to behave the way Sheppard does here goes beyond the pale, especially when the two are supposed to be involved. McKay asked Sheppard to trust him (something he was perfectly entitled to) and it went wrong. There was no abuse of trust displayed, just an arrogant, rude man who believed he could succeed getting it wrong for once. John behaves as if Rodney went out and cheated on him, or lied to get his own way. (I realise that canon Sheppard acts like this slightly at the end of the episode, but there is no real follow-up). And when John finally deigns to give Rodney a second chance, Rodney is so grateful it actually made me slightly nauseous. Rodney is better than that (or at least his self esteem is healthier). Sheppard needs to apologise a hell of a lot more sincerely than he does here before any kind of reconciliation. Asking John to say "Duranda" when Rodney gets carried away in the future is giving a hell of a lot of power to someone who really doesn't deserve it. And what gives Sheppard the right to put the brakes on a scientific situation? Zelenka maybe, but Sheppard no. Obviously this is fiction, and the characters are not meant to be perfect, but this seemed to clash with both the canon portrayal of the characters and your own in previous chapters.

I think a lot of what bothers me about this fic is common to a lot of Post-Trinity fic. They tend to fall into two catagories (both equally ooc); poor
misunderstood Rodney with mean, shunning John who eventually sees the error of his ways, or pathetic Rodney, who needs magnanimous John to forgive him his sins and allow him to return to his life, and if he works hard and behaves well, regain Johns trust. Your fic falls mainly into the second catagory.

What makes it stand out from the rest however, is that apart from the dodgy Post-Trinity OOCness of McKay and Sheppard, it is exceedingly well written, which makes the character issues stand out like a sore thumb.

Wow, I really went on longer and more negatively then I intended too. Be assured, I wouldn't drone on like this if I didn't think you were a talented writer!
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Jewels (Anonymous)
31 Oct 2007 3:11 pm
Man this story is long but oh so very good! Only two chapters read so far but with the length of them it will take me a few days to get through the whole thing. I am looking forward to it though.
Chapter 2
Reviewer: Korilian (Anonymous)
01 Sep 2007 2:43 pm
I've started this fic so many times, only to leave real fast, because DUDE! A universe where even Kavanaugh puts Rodney down! I just can't take the angst! I'm really going to read it tonight though... (but I might skip that bit *eeek*)
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Jennifer (Anonymous)
14 Jul 2007 1:35 pm
That just had me weeping. My heart just broke for Rodney. I don't think I've ever read anything that has touched me more. The pain that Rodney felt for everything that had gone wrong in his life was just overwhelming. The details that you weave into this are just fantastic and I felt like I was right there with them. Thank you so very much.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: ankhmutes (Anonymous)
24 Nov 2006 1:52 pm
This story was incredibly moving and compelling. Once I started it I couldn't stop until I finished it. The pain both Rodney and John went through after Duranda was so real and powerful that I wanted to comfort them both. Great writing -- really!

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I'm so happy you enjoed it.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: Mousedm (Anonymous)
15 Oct 2006 6:11 pm
Wow, intense and utterly beautiful. I love lengthy, well-written stories and this was a joy to read!

Author's Response: Thanks so much!
Chapter 10
Reviewer: Cayendi (Anonymous)
02 Oct 2006 5:49 am
I should have 'converted' to SGA sooner. All this time I've been waiting for another wonderful Severus/Harry story from you, while you had this gem hidden away here. Not wanting to sound like an echo, you did make me cry (and my youngest is going to be really concerned about me when he gets home for lunch). This was one hell of an emotional rollercoaster, with a wonderful setting and Class-A characterisations. Quality writing!. That said, I do feel that John's behaviour towards Rodney was cruel, and I never saw John as the victim perse, since, IMHO, Rodney never set out to wilfully abuse John's trust. But that's just me. This one is going on my re-read list :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your kind words. I'm so happy you enjoyed it. I think you're right about John's behavior, but I do think he has a hidden cruel steak and that once he sees his trust as violated, it would take a lot to win it back. Thanks again.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: Dark_Whispers (Anonymous)
23 Sep 2006 12:29 am
So touching.. so beautiful.. you've made me cry!!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much. Sorry about the tears! :)
Chapter 10
Reviewer: Chelsea (Anonymous)
18 Sep 2006 12:07 am
Whenever I read a story that I've fallen in love with, I put the URL in a text document and record my immediate reaction afterwards. I'm not composing a recs page - I'm just obsessed with remembering stuff. So, here's my reaction, direct copy and paste. Sorry if the formatting's off. I kind of went on a rampant soliloquy. *laugh* As much as I liked and enjoyed An Affair to Remember, Resilience is not only aptly named, but a story that completely blew me away. I think the mark of a truly great story is that, at the end, it is a slow, gradual release into quiet perfection, so that at the moment after you've finished reading, all you can do is reread the last few hundred words and sit, silent, until you're overcome with the urge to express yourself. In this way, a truly great story does not merely create a tale, it creates a circle of emotion, release, and creativity itself - Yin and Yang, opposites in harmony, just as John and Rodney describe their relationship as an Ouroboros. This is exactly perfect: length, plot, pacing, style, description, dialogue, and, most of all, mind blowing characterizations. For once, I am not exaggerating on this. Every time I wondered if maybe they were getting a little out of character, I took a mental step back, and found that their actions slid neatly into place. You know romance inside and out. You do it the realistic way, and as much as I love my guilty pleasures, it is when the realistic is breath taking without becoming the fantastic that truly inspires hope in me. This story might not be clinically or technically perfect, or even great. But it achieves something I look for in each and every word I read: honesty. ~Chelsea saturnalia.ck@gmail.com)

Author's Response: Chelsea, thank you so very much for your amazing review. Please tell me your write? Your descriptions were beautiful. Thank you so very much.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: Pixie Smith (Anonymous)
26 Aug 2006 7:14 pm
I have so much love for you, I really do. You write the type of stories that really hit my kink. Brilliant! Really, words can't express how much I adore your work, but I'll stop gushing now before I make you ill ~_^.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for all your kind feedback, Pixie Smith! You made my week!
Chapter 10
Reviewer: Ansku (Signed)
08 Aug 2006 5:39 am
You are one incredible author :) It seems like it doesn't matter what fandom you write, the results are unbelievable... I love what you did here, and I can't wait to read the other stories :) This was one of the best SGA fics I've ever read, thank you for sharing it.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your incredibly kind words. Tey meant a lot to me.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: Ariana (Anonymous)
27 Jun 2006 6:37 pm
I just want to say thank you for such an amazing story. The characterization was perfect and completly fitting. I have to say though that there were so many times reading this where i felt the same heart wrenching ache as Rodney and only a very talanted writer can make me feel something as intense as that. You are a very gifted person and i will actually stop gushing soon i promise! All thats left to say is thank you for such a brilliant story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write and for all your kind words. I'm so happy you liked the story.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: ferret_kitty (Anonymous)
19 Jun 2006 6:33 pm
My only critique of this truly incredible story is that in the last chapter, as a show of the fact that he trusted Rodney again, I expected John to let Rodney make love to him. I know they happen, but relationships where "top" and "bottom" are one-sided always seem unbalanced to me. Maybe it's just 'cause I couldn't live that way. Other than that, this story was incredible. Absolutely incredible. Touching and heart-breaking and just plain fun. Thank you.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for all your kind comments. I know people expected John to let Rodney top at the end, but I don't think that's always something that people can do when they don't like to bottom, no matter how much they might love their partner. My latest story does have John reaching the point where he can reciprocate, but it's an AU. Guess I just don't see our John as a bottom. LOL Thanks again. :)
Chapter 10
Reviewer: samantha (Anonymous)
06 Jun 2006 3:25 pm
oh its so good, but so sad *cries*, im glad they worked it out in the end and john stopped being an ass! best fanfic ive read in a while, thanks

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Glad you liked it.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: samantha (Anonymous)
06 Jun 2006 3:25 pm
oh its so good, but so sad *cries*, im glad they worked it out in the end and john stopped being an ass! best fanfic ive read in a while, thanks

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I'm so happy you liked it.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: samantha (Anonymous)
06 Jun 2006 2:10 pm
oh its so good, but so sad *cries*, im glad they worked it out in the end and john stopped being an ass! best fanfic ive read in a while, thanks

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your kind words. I'm so glad you liked it. :)
Chapter 10
Reviewer: Maria (Anonymous)
05 May 2006 11:19 am
Wow... just... wow. That was insanely good. Let me see if I can break it down: The characterization was awesome. Too many fics depict John as a macho gay guy in denial who's crazy protective and posessive/controlling. While your fic definitely got that ASPECT of him, it still kept him as far from 2-D as characters tend to get. Both of them were really rounded and fleshed out. There were times where I thought I would think Rodney was being too emotional, but the way you wrote it, it just worked and fit. You are a goddess of angst. There were points that, not lying, I actually cried over. Seeing the pain they were going through, and the way you described it, my own gut was clenching and I had to gulp around lumps in my throat. It takes an incredibly talented author to convey that kind of emotion, and making me even feel physical pangs of it... needless to say, I was blown away. And the smut. GOD, the SMUT! :-D It was very, very well written and reeeeaaaaaaallllllyyyy hot. There are so few fics out there that have the emotion like yours, and the well written smut. Smut makes everything better. The plot and the way you even followed the episodes... that was awesome. I loved how we got to see the fallout from Trinity in this. I don't think they really covered it well enough in the show, because in the next episode it seemed like everyone had completely forgotten about it and things were back to normal. I spent that whole episode going, "What the hell? No one's even a LITTLE stand-offish from Rodney. Did he go down on all of them or something?" ^_^; I really really loved this, and it even gave leeway or reasoning for why John would be all hanky-panky with that girl in The Tower, if Rodney and him were on the rocks. Anyway, I loved this fic, and I would absolutely LOVE to see a sequel, or just more writing from you in general is fine. Huge fan here, who will be re-reading and checking back regularly. I bow to you! Incredible work! :-D

Author's Response: Wow. I hardly know what to say. A thank you seems entirely inadequate. I really appreciate all your kind words. So sorry about the crying. This one definitely needed to come with a virtual tissue box. LOL Glad you liked the smut. I firmly believe that little smut makes life worth living. LOL Anyway, hope this finds you happy and healthy. Thanks again. :)
Chapter 10
Reviewer: Anon (Anonymous)
24 Mar 2006 3:38 pm
That was a truly wonderful story. The emotional content was incredible. I love how everything was handled, but I am not sure John fully trusts Rodney. Given his and Rodney's comments about sex in earlier chapters, I suspect John has never fully trusted Rodney the way Rodney trusts him. That feels real to me. Thank you for the thoroughly enjoyable writing.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for all your kind words. You're one of the few readers that picked up on the fact that John never trusts Rodney to the same drgree Rodney trusts him. I think that's an inherent part of the character we see on the show. John is all smiles and good humor with most people, but under it he keeps people at arms length. Anyway, thanks again! :)
Chapter 10
Reviewer: poisonshock85@yahoo.com (Anonymous)
01 Feb 2006 7:33 pm
a completely engrossing story. i loved it very much, though it made me hurt so much, i'm beginning to worry myself, maybe there's a masoshist hidden in me or something. ehe loved it so much, esp by ur descriptions and painfuil honesty, sticking to "reality". i was so deighted by their progressing relationship, i really didn't expect u to put in duranda. but the only thing is that the "discrepancy" between john's hotness and rodney's "lack" thereof is too much emphasisez. personally, i i don't see him as a geek with receding hailine and pudgy stomache etc. i'm half in love with rodney, good and bad, included, so kind of had difficulties understanding the way u described it. but overall, the story was beautiful, and love this so much. i *ached* for rodney so much. i can't imagine how hard it must have been to write painful scenes like that. thank u so much for writing this.

Author's Response: Hi. thank you so much for your kind comments. So glad you enjoyed the story. I adore Rodney, too, but I love him because of things like his receding hairline and not quite perfect figure. I often have trouble writing people like John because they are almost too perfect. Rodney is so real you can believe every aspect of him. Anyway, thanks again.
Chapter 10
You must login (register) to review.