RSS
Reviews For Resilience

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Cate (Anonymous)
30 Jan 2006 12:21 am
Beautiful! Just beautiful. Wonderful characterizations of John and Rodney. I felt personally connected to them. Your stories were joyous, endearing, and painful all at the same time. I want to read them over and over again. Fantastic job! I will definitely be looking for any other work you publish. Any sequels in the future?

Author's Response: Hi. Thanks so much for your kind comments. I'm so happy you liked the story. I'm not sure there will be a sequel, but there will definitely be other mcshep stories. Thanks again.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Allie (Anonymous)
14 Jan 2006 1:27 am
I loved this story! It was amazing on so many levels that I couldn't describe all of them to you! Will you be writing a sequel?

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your kind words. There might be a sequel. I won't know for a while yet. Thanks again.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: jen-chan (Anonymous)
09 Jan 2006 6:08 pm
omg, the end?!?!?!?!?! but! but! it's so good!!!!!! what happens next? i wanted some surfing! c'mon!!!!! *begs* this is so good, the character analysis is so fantastic and complex, i can't get enough of it! ah! and rodney!!!! he was honestly my favorite in this fic, though it was all-around awesome. but there's no more!!!! *cries* ~jen-chan p.s.- you rock!!!!!

Author's Response: Hi there. What happens next? Rodney and John live happily ever after. LOL Thanks so much for your kind comments. I'm so glad you enjoyed the story. It was great fun to write. Thanks again.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: AnonyMouse (Anonymous)
07 Jan 2006 3:52 am
Only one chapter in and my heart actually hurts for McKay. I don't remember the last time I cried over a novel, much less a single chapter of fan fiction. If I have a sympathy related coronary, I'm totally blaming you. ;)

Author's Response: Oh, plese, no sympathy related coronaries! LOL Hope the rest is less traumatic. Cheers.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Caro (Anonymous)
29 Dec 2005 4:31 pm
I love this story, the chapters where Rodney is being ignored and isolated make me cry, and then I smile at the end, perfect.

Author's Response: Thanks so much. So glad you enjoyed the story. Cheers.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: Tracy (Anonymous)
22 Dec 2005 6:33 pm
That was so great! I laughed, I cried, I called a friend and had them read the story! LOVE IT!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your kind words. So glad you enjoyed it. Cheers.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: Jaye (Anonymous)
13 Dec 2005 11:35 pm
I just wanted to drop a line and say that this was really amazing. I loved all of your Harry Potter stories, but this was the best yet. Do you have a website or lj of all of your writing? I have to say that I would probably read anything that you write, regardless of fandom :) Many thanks for a great read!

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I'm hoping to get a website up soon. I've got the links for some of my old stuff posted on the User Infor page of my lj. Thanks again. Cheers.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: sky (Anonymous)
11 Dec 2005 6:30 pm
i was absoulutly rivited the entire time! which was bad cus i'm supposed to be studying! the drama! i couldn't get enough it was like cocaine. i just wanted to say how much i loved this fic and really appreciate the hard work you've put into it.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for you kind comments. I'm so happy you enjoyed the story/ Like cocaine, huh? LOL I like that one. Thanks again. Cheers.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: Fledge (Anonymous)
22 Nov 2005 10:50 pm
SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE! *Dances the happy dragon dance of Great Fic* What a splendid final chapter! Their reconciliation was so natural, so vulnerable yet determined, and had me practically in tears throughout! This chapter was running down *my* spine just like a lick (from one of your lines). I'm so glad they made up, and Rodney's idea for a safe-word promises things will go more smoothly in future... although if that situation ever arises again in canon, I know I'm going to be shouting at the screen, "Say the word John! Say the damn word!" *G* What an original use of a 'safeword', too. Wow this fic is awesome, I have really enjoyed reading it, even brushing over one or two differences in perspective that would normally have turned me off; but you write it so convincingly and with an internal consistency that just smooths everything to your pov. I take my hat off to you! (If I wore one, *G*) Very, very well done. Will you be writing anything else? ;-)

Author's Response: Hi again! Wow. Thank you so much for all your lovely comments. I can't tell you how much I appreciate them. Fixing Trinity was challenging, and I'm glad it worked for you. As for if I'll be writing more, I just sent my entry off for the SGA Secret Santa and there are at least a dozen other mcshep bunnies hopping around. Hope all is well with you. Thanks again. Happy holidays. Cheers.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: Fledge (Anonymous)
22 Nov 2005 10:22 pm
Oooooh lovely! So angsty! So heartrending! But they are making progress again... I am so glad Rodney got a handle on his pride and didn't send back the surf equipment. And the note was just the right thing to say. I think John has finally realised how bad this is for Rodney, too, and that therefore the other man must love him. I feel so bad for Rodney because I know he never meant for those things to happen, he just gets carried away by science--and it's not as though John didn't know that about him in the first place!

Author's Response: Yeah, I felt bad for Rodney in that ep (and my story, LOL), too. Rodney puts so much faith in science that I think he forgets sometimes things don't always go as planned, even if there's no reason they shouldn't work. I think John really needed to be angrier with Rodney in the show for it to feel true. The guy really did take advantage of his trust, and that doesn't go away fast. Anyway, thanks again. Cheers.
Chapter 9
Reviewer: Fledge (Anonymous)
22 Nov 2005 9:59 pm
Heh, back on track now I see ;) Loved the way you handled Trinity (although surely it's project Arcturos?) and Rodney's behaviour, and actually I think you made John more mad at Rodney than canon *G* It's great to see them working through the thornier issues and showing their less appealing sides; Rodney's arrogance and inability to appreciate his full responsibility (like so many scientists!), John's coldness when he feels wronged. Zelenka was great, I'm so glad he was one of the first people to thaw to Rodney; no doubt because he was reviewing those equations! Liked his line about the evil spirits too, *G* On to the next chapter, and I do hope they will be reconciled!

Author's Response: So glad you enjoyed it. Thanks so much for all your feedback! Cheers.
Chapter 8
Reviewer: Fledge (Anonymous)
22 Nov 2005 9:19 pm
Hmmm. I liked the Ancient ruins, and the ending. But I wasn't so keen on that chapter as others... I can take on board Rodney's angst at his physical attraction, but I see him carping more than worrying about physical exercise! A lot of the jumper flying and hiking, the way John was encouraging him, made it seem a little odd; almost as though Rodney was a child, not an adult. Or (I hesitate to say!) *girly*! But he was the old Rodney when he got worked up. Maybe he's just being more vulnerable around John, because of everything. Still enjoying it!

Author's Response: I think normally Rodney would be carping, but when you're a geek, it's hard to not to feel inadequate when you're involved with someone as athletic as John. I think Rodney would be his normal complaining self once he realizes that John likes him for what he is, but that takes a while to sink in sometimes. Anyway, hope you enjoy the rest. Cheers.
Chapter 7
Reviewer: Fledge (Anonymous)
22 Nov 2005 8:41 pm
Mmm, more hot sex; John's turn to be comforted; and I'm getting really anxious to hear about whoever hurt Rodney in the past, and wish VENGEANCE upon them! >:/ Loved the line "Rodney was still looking at him like he was Captain Kirk, Superman, and Starbucks' coffee all rolled into one." And the whole surfing reference.

Author's Response: Thanks so much. So glad you enjoyed it!
Chapter 6
Reviewer: lillyjk (Anonymous)
20 Nov 2005 10:32 pm
Wow - found this via a rec over at livejournal and it's just amazing. I think I cried about three times and my god, this is really one of the best McShep fics I've ever read. just wonderful.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed the story.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: Lilas (Anonymous)
19 Nov 2005 6:55 am
Oh wow... I've been meaning to read this fic for the longest time, but I've just never had enough TIME! And even though I've now read it, it took me 3 days staying up until v.late to finish it. But it was worth every minute of lost sleep!!! This was just FANTASTIC!! The entire fic I was dreading what was going to happen with Trinity looming ahead, and I admit I even skipped to the end to make sure it was happy-happy (which it WAS!!!) So now that you've gushed over my vids, it's my turn to gush over your fic! Because YIKES! You deserve all the gushing I could GIVE you (and that still wouldn't be enough!). This was just the most eroptic, most amazing, most EVERY!!! And you MUST write more! I would love to see how this plays out with the rest of the eps. See how Rodney reacts to the Iratus situation and the Aurora and everything. Thank you SO much for writing this. It must have taken you forever, and lots of pain to do it, but thank you. WRITE MORE! ^___^

Author's Response: Hello, Lilas! Wow. Thank you so incredibly much for your kind words on the story. I'm so glad you liked it. Especially since your vid, One Week inspired quite a lot of it! That and one or two other old faithful Mcshep vids live on my desktop & get powered up before I start writing. Been thinking about continuing the story, but I really have to see how the end of the year plays out. Trinity was a good stopping point, because short of one killing the other or selling the other out to the Wraith, that was about the most damaging thing that could happen to their relationship. Anyway, I'm so relieved and happy that you enjoyed the fic. Have a great weekend and rub a Buddha's tummy for me! Hugs to you.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: Lyndisty (Signed)
17 Nov 2005 6:20 pm
This was the most amazing fic I've read in a very long time. I cried at least three separate times. The build up was wonderful and painful all at the same time. Starting the story right near the beginning of S2 was perfect: it lent this horrible, horrible sense of dread because we all know what's coming. ("Oh, this is lovely. They're so happy. So, so happy. So very...oh, crap. Trinity's coming. Oh, damn, this is gonna be *bad*. Uh oh. Oh. Oh. OUCH!") And then you brought it back full circle to that lovely fragile thing it was in the beginning. It was breathtaking. Thank you.

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for all your kind words on the story. I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Rodney and John are so much fun to write, and this year's eps have certainly given us a lot to play with. Anyway, thanks again. Cheers.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: Tazz (Anonymous)
16 Nov 2005 5:00 am
That was one of the most beautiful stories I've ever read! I love the way the relationship developed. There were times when I wished I could just take them in my arms and hug them to death. Figuratively speaking of course. Please write more!

Author's Response: Hi. Thanks so much! I'm so happy you liked it. I've been wanting to take Rodney into my arms and hug him ever since he and Samantha Carta had that famous piano conversation on SG1. It's such a relief and joy that John's there to do it for us now! Cheers.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: Ellex (Signed)
15 Nov 2005 6:57 pm
This was a really lovely story. I've already recced it to the McShep Slash Yahoo list, where I was told that several other people had intended to mention it too. I sincerely hope you'll write more, and soon!

Author's Response: Hi. Thanks so much for your kind words on my story. I'm so happy you liked it. As for writing more - right now I really don't have a choice. Rodney has sort of taken over my brain. LOL Thanks again. Cheers.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Mystic (Signed)
15 Nov 2005 12:30 am
What a fantastic story! The only thing wrong w/ it was it ended. My word, if anything screams more, this story does. I'd love to see Rodney gain John's trust...trust enough to let Rodney make love to him and of course, love to see John teach Rodney to sure, and the ultimate a duet...music wise. So much here and all wonderfully presented. I added you to my favorites. Thank you for sharing.

Author's Response: Hi. Thank you so much for all your kind words. I'm so happy you enjoyed the story. More's always a problem with this kind of story, because, once you work the bugs out (figuratively speaking), a lot of your tension dissipates, but we'll see what the rest of the season gives us to work with. Anyway, thank you again for taking the time to write. I really appreciate it. Cheers.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: Shippygem (Signed)
14 Nov 2005 7:55 am
...wow...just wow. I tend to really get into fic that I read and omg I don't think that one fic has ever taken me though such a rollercoaster of emotions. I cried, I laughed I got that warm funnzy feeling that apparently made me glow with happiness (yeah, like I said, I *really* get into them) I sat up until 5am reading this fic cause I couldn't bare to go to sleep without finishing it. Your story was amazing, the characters were flawless and everything that happened as it would naturally. Wonderful Story.

Author's Response: Wow. Thank you so very much for all your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed the story. It was great fun to write. So sorry it kept you up so late, though. Had that happen a time or two and the next day is so not fun! Anyway, thank again. You made my day. Cheers.
Chapter 10
You must login (register) to review.