RSS
Reviews For Resilience

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Khyrra (Anonymous)
14 Nov 2005 4:59 am
That was AMAZING! I normally tend to skip over the longer fics, as my attention span is usually not up to it. I decided to give your story a try anyway, and well, I couldn't stop until I was finished! It sucked me in and just wouldn't let go! So great! I really don't have the words to describe how much your story moved me. All the other reviewers have said better than I ever could anyway. Please write more! I will watch for you. You have created a big fan. *grin*

Author's Response: Hi. Thank you so very much for your kind words on my story. I'm so happy you enjoyed it, especially since you don't like long stories, and I can't seem to get my guys to walk across a room in less than fifteen pages. LOL Anyway, thanks again. Your comments made my day. Cheers.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: CJAndre (Anonymous)
13 Nov 2005 3:42 pm
This is a really wonderful romance woven through canon. I can't get over the wonderful characterization and the way everything dovetails in with events on the series. An excellent read!

Author's Response: Hi. Thank you so much! I'm so glad you liked the story, and especially glad that you thought it fit in with the series canon it was written around. That's always a worry when you try to write slash around the show. Anyway, thank you again for your kind comments. Cheers.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: Christi (Anonymous)
13 Nov 2005 1:01 pm
First, I hope you don't mind that I linked to the Chapter Index page and recommended "Resilience" on my livejournal under "justalurkr" with the following commentary: "This is a complete story in ten meaty chapters that take our boys from the Welcome To Atlantis party for all the newcomers from Earth following Intruder to the fallout from Trinity. Angsty as all get out, hotter than hell and has some pretty astute guesses about what in their pasts made them the way we see them." Also, I mentioned that while I am not normally a big fan of a particular homo-erotic act that I shall not here mention as it constitutes a spoiler and there are actually people who read reviews before the story and get their knickers in a twist about that sort of thing, "Resilience" made it hot. ;) Good work with that! Kinks hit: 1. Long story that did not wander off te point. 2. Relationship that took its time developing. 3. No easy answers to the very realistic dilemmas that came up for the boys. 4. Believable backstory that explains the characterization we see onscreen and in your story. 5. A taking to task of Rodney's piano teacher & John's parents that doesn't just sound like The Voice of Fandom Enraged, a trap all too many fanfic writers fall into with emotional hurt/comfort themes. The expression of angst and reaction to it were not only in character, but flowed with the story. 6. I can't even find words for how well you pulled apart and explored the Trinity fiasco. I hadn't thought of many of the ramifications you looked at, and was pitching my tent in the "everyone makes mistakes, forgive him and move on" camp, which is true, but there's a lot more to it than that for the folks on Atlantis. Anyway, I'm running on a bit. Suffice it to say: good story, and I'd totally read any sequels you had in you. ;)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for all your kind comments. I'm really glad you liked the story. I was writing it as the eps aired and trying to deal with the events as they affected J&R's relationship. So glad it turned out fairly coherent. LOL Anyway, thank you again. You really made my day!
Chapter 10
Reviewer: fanficaddict (Anonymous)
13 Nov 2005 9:58 am
*standing ovation and wild cheering* OMG Wow! That was heartwrenching and tragic and heartwarming and happy and sappy with oodles of yummy angst...it was completely perfect! Awesome job! THANK YOU!

Author's Response: No, thank you so much for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed it.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: Niala (Anonymous)
13 Nov 2005 3:51 am
I loved this story. I'm so sad that there isn't more. You dug deep into these characters and left nothing buried. I so admire that. I want more! *begs prettily*

Author's Response: Thanks you so much for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed it.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: Niala (Anonymous)
13 Nov 2005 3:46 am
I loved this story. I'm so sad that there isn't more. You dug deep into these characters and left nothing buried. I so admire that. I want more! *begs prettily*

Author's Response: Thanks you so much for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Don't worry, there will be more. These guys have eaten my brain. LOL
Chapter 10
Reviewer: zaftig (Signed)
12 Nov 2005 9:41 pm
I loved this story. It has great pacing and I enjoyed all of the details of their pasts being revealed as their relationship developed. Everything (episode events, details about life on Atlantis) was incorporated so well. Just wonderful.

Author's Response: Thanks you so much for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed it.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
12 Nov 2005 6:08 pm
Brilliant ending. I'm so pleased that they got back together :). It was great that, like I said for the last chapter, there was no easy fix here. They were still tentative and unsure of each others intentions at times. but they've finally reached the point where they can really *talk* rather than simply exchange polite or angry words. It's such a relief. I loved this story. Laura.

Author's Response: Thanks you so much for all your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed it.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
12 Nov 2005 5:33 pm
I like that this is all so tentative between them. There's no quick fix and the hurt and anger is very real. But I'm pleased that they're both trying and not taking the easy way out. I'm also glad that John's overtures to Rodney have made the other personnel more pleasant to him too. Laura.

Author's Response: Thanks. This part was fun to write. It always drives me nuts how when someone screws up on a show the way we saw Rodney mess up in Trinity, by the next ep, everyone's back to normal and it's like nothing ever happened. I think after a mistake like that, Rodney would be taking a lot of heat for quite some time. But I think John is a good enough man to be able to show his anger without demeaning Rodney. Anyway, so glad you liked it.
Chapter 9
Reviewer: Allison (Anonymous)
12 Nov 2005 5:09 pm
That was incredible, you had me hooked halfway through the first chapter and totally shot my entire day. Not that I mind. It was hot, it hurt... the emotions were just so tangible. I can't thank you enough for posting it in one piece and not chapter by chapter. I think that would've been deadly. Great job.

Author's Response: Hi, thanks so much. I never post WIPs. Had too many bad experiences with writers never finishing them after I'd become invested in their world to inflict that on someone else. Anyway, so glad you liked it, and thanks again.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: Fledge (Anonymous)
12 Nov 2005 5:09 pm
Awwww and ooooh in equal measures! Hot and tender; exquisitely described; very novel way of writing a sex scene. That was tantric. Rodney really is gifted for someone who's had such crappy relationships in the past. But John deserves every drop of pleasure for caring about him so much and seeing past all the barriers to the real Rodney inside. Nice touch that Rodney really does come for Sheppard alone, twice now, without any direct stimulus. What an ego-boost for John, and he doesn't even get smug about it. Lovely.

Author's Response: Thanks so much. So glad you enjoyed it. I certainly enjoyed writing it. LOL
Chapter 5
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
12 Nov 2005 4:58 pm
I think "Ouch" sums up this chapter. I don't want either man to be hurt and yet there's no other way this could have gone and sounded plausible. I understand John's anger, that it's about how Rodney treated *him* rather than the project going wrong. Considering what we know about the guys (what they know about each other), it really doesn't say much for Rodney that he disregarded John's trust so easily, not after the effort he went to to win it in the first place. But I'm also sad for Rodney, seeing the anger and disgust in John's eyes and knowing he was responsible, that there was only himself to blame for the screw up this time. It's obviously so very painful for him, especially as all his overtures go unheeded. Lets hope Radek's conversation with John will let the ice thaw a little. Laura.

Author's Response: Trinity was a really hard ep to work around. The ep mentions in passing that what happens at the final test violates the laws of physics, but I don't think enough attention was paid to that fact. Even while he was being so pig headed, I could understand why Rodney did what he did during the test. I really felt horrible for him in that ep. Anyway, thanks again.
Chapter 8
Reviewer: Fledge (Anonymous)
12 Nov 2005 3:17 pm
This is continuing great--John is being very careful and tender with Rodney, even though technically Rodney is the more experienced; but John is obviously the more experienced with romance. I loved the whole exposition of Rodney's dashed childhood hopes of becoming a musician, and the way John's matter of fact sincerity was a revelation that his teacher was wrong. I was so pleased to see someone (finally!!) write about John's love for Johnny Cash, and that he was sad he couldn't hear live country music in Atlantis. It was also a nice touch that they both accepted Weir's presence on their date, because they knew how lonely was, and they were her friends. Finally, that was a very hot, loving, exploratory sex scene; it's good that they're still taking it slow and cautious, although (like men the world over) there is no hesitation at the actual sex. You gave John a little more hair than I would have imagined, but you made it sound so soft and touchable that it wasn't a turn-off (glad he doesn't have a totally hairy back though!) Very good, loving this story.

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I never understood why no one ever really mentions John's love of country music, either. I know a lot of people don't care for it, but if a guy's got a huge poster of Johnny Cash on his wall either he's gay and has a thing for Johnny, or else he's a country music fan. I guess the former would work, but the latter seems more realistic. Anyway, so glad you enjoyed it. Thanks again.
Chapter 4
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
12 Nov 2005 3:11 pm
Lovely chapter. It's nice to see them sharing a bit of time by themselves away from the pressures of Atlantis. More of the tentative uncertainty that I'm enjoying in our boys, and yay, the L word has finally been brought out to play *g*. It's a shame those ruins were dead and the ZPMs broken...although it did leave time for 'neat and tidy' sex, so not too much of a shame ;). I liked Rodney's thoughts about John when he was flying the jumper, about how John has never laughed at Rodney like the other soldiers, but has always encouraged Rodney to try and only offered critiscism as a teaching aid not for the fun of it. Laura.

Author's Response: Thanks, Laura. John's treatment of Rodney was the only thing I liked about him when the show first aired. It took me a while to see John's hidden depths, and I think the best of John comes out when Rodney is at his worst. anyway, thanks so much.
Chapter 7
Reviewer: Fledge (Anonymous)
12 Nov 2005 1:17 pm
Squeee, they finally did it! And there I thought you were going to tease it out to chapter 10 *G* Great case of mistaken anxiety on Rodney's part there--Ronon the Barbarian, lol! And I love the way that from Rodney, behaviour that usually turns Sheppard off a relationship instead makes him more attracted, because he really wants things to work out, and it shows him how much he really likes Rodney. Nice touch too that Sheppard only has so much patience for emotional games; you paint a good portrait of the sexy but distant lover, all surface charm until it comes to the right lover (I have to wonder if that's because Shep really is more gay than bi, but has had to repress it so much). Also more good 'episode fixing' with that whole stupid affair with Katie Brown, and their stilted conversation in the corridor while Cadman was a witness. Nice to see someone taking canon into account with such a believable twist.

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I really loved what the scenes with Katie showed up about Rodney. He's so obviously scared and out of his depth with her. It was fun trying to work that ep around the story I was writing. LOL Thanks again.
Chapter 3
Reviewer: Fledge (Anonymous)
12 Nov 2005 12:37 pm
P.S. It's great that you don't fall into the fanon cliche of Rodney having a messy room--but you refer to it nicely by having John make the same assumption *G* There really is no indication in canon that Rodney is messy, and as you point out in the next chapter, he is probably very fastidious because of his hypochondria. Certainly his room was not messy the one time we saw it in canon (2.4).

Author's Response: Thanks. Great points! I can really see support for either case in canon. Both Rodeney's apartment and room do look very neat the two times we see where he lives, but neat as they look, he still pulls a bag of chips out of his couch that have obviously been there for months and eats them, so . . . LOL, I can see him being either way. Cheers.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Fledge (Anonymous)
12 Nov 2005 12:32 pm
Awww what a sweet first kiss! Love that they aren't plunging into things without restraint, that John is still very uncertain--and that it's Rodney being rational for a change, realising that this will only work if they both feel the same way. I'm glad they've at least sorted out their differences. And I loved Rodney's line that John is his Ferris wheel, his fast car. And John's honest surprise that he could make Rodney come with just a command *G* I was very pleased to see you use their emotional conflict to explain John's behaviour towards Rodney in the canon episode, it's a nice 'fix'. Also great to hear John dressing down the Major, and saying very true things about Rodney (also within Carson's hearing). It redressed his paranoia somewhat, because while Rodney was a bit flakey that time, who can really blame him--they were far too cavalier about the radiation levels, and he was being threatened by a Wraith enhanced maniac with marine training!

Author's Response: You make some great points about Runner. I felt sorry for Rodney throughout most of that ep. He had some moments that were reminiscent of Lost in Space's Dr. Smith, but he was out there totally alone, on a planet he knows the Wraith are on, with a deranged, trained killer. Anyway, so glad you enjoyed it. Thanks again.
Chapter 2
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
12 Nov 2005 12:12 pm
Another excellent chapter. I love how they both desperately want to help the other get over whatever hurt they're suffering, but find it so hard to accept the help. They're very much alike in many respects. I loved that John trusted Rodney enough to tell him about the pain and horror and unfairness of his childhood and Robbie, and that Rodney forced John to look at things from the outside, much as John had done for him concerning the music. I could cheerfully swing for John's parents. Ok, yes, the devastation of losing their son was obviously a lot to bear, but to blame John and cut him out of their lives without taking a jot of blame on themselves was just terrible. I loved that Rodney made him see that it was an accident, and the ensuing sex...well, love making really, was hot. The trust both gave each other just made it hotter. Laura.

Author's Response: Wow, Laura, thanks so much. That was one of my favorite scenes to write. Rodney's pretty easy to take apart, but it takes some work to get John to open up. Anyway, so glad you liked it.
Chapter 6
Reviewer: Laryn (Anonymous)
12 Nov 2005 11:08 am
This was a wonderful story. I will eagerly watch for your next story.

Author's Response: Thanks you so much for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed it.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Fledge (Anonymous)
12 Nov 2005 10:37 am
Oh wow. This was only chapter 1 of a 10 chapter story and it was an incredible read. I love the careful, descriptive scene setting and the way you build up the emotional tension. Rodney's anxiety squeezes my heart, he is so vulnerable yet not pathetic, and John has him spot on: the lack of emotional barriers and yet the fact that he is secretive about everything that would tell John something about his life. I also love the way John is so disciplined and has shut down his own feelings, yet still cares about his friend, and the way he was so determined to clear this up because he knew Rodney would turn it into a spectacle otherwise. You've got them so nailed, so true to canon and yet with the underlying slash premise... I am really looking forward to the rest of this story. 10/10!

Author's Response: Thanks so much. So glad you liked it. I think both Rodney and John are really very much alike under their skins, although they reveal themselves in totally different ways. Thanks again. Cheers.
Chapter 1
You must login (register) to review.