RSS
Reviews For Resilience

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
12 Nov 2005 9:42 am
OMG ::is puddle of goo:: That was so very hot. I really love how much of themselves they're putting into this, how Rodney keeps baring his soul and how John takes such good care of it, hurting for Rodney's past difficulties. I like your John here too, how he's really just as insecure as Rodney, but hides it a little better. I loved his idea with the keyboard and then how he pretty much convinced himself that Rodney would be angry about it. And, in case I didn't mention it before; OMG HOT!!! ;). Laura.

Author's Response: Thanks you so much for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed it. This one was a lot of fun to write.
Chapter 5
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
11 Nov 2005 8:12 pm
Beautiful. I like the way they're instinctively being careful as they test the new relationship, but at the same time, they're communicating with just a look. I loved that Rodney overcame his sadness and played the piano for John, and I also loved that John made Rodney see a different angle to his piano teachers words all those years ago. The scenes once they got to Rodney's room were excellent. I liked the mixture of shy/tentative/embarrased that they both seemed to feel about their bodies, and how that mingled with the boldness of action and enjoyment of cataloguing each other's taste and feel. That was incredibly hot. Great stuff. Laura.

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Laura. That scene was a blast to write. I think Rodney would be insecure with John first time, no matter what, simply because of our society's really screwed up views of what is and isn't sexy. Thanks again.

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Laura. That scene was a blast to write. I think Rodney would be insecure with John first time, no matter what, simply because of our society's really screwed up views of what is and isn't sexy. Thanks again.
Chapter 4
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
11 Nov 2005 7:10 pm
Great chapter. I love all the angst even as it's painful to see them both so insecure and misinterpreting things. I liked the confrontation where Rodney accused John of being with Ronon. I was pleased that Rodney wasn't going to let John get away with it without explanation, but I also liked that he listened to John's answers and believed him. It would have been easy for Rodney to simply think that John was playing him, if the hints about his past experiences are any indication :(. I loved that the recent events pushed John enough to get over a lot of his fear. The sex was hot and had me cheering "Finally"...though I suspect the road ahead will be bumpy. I enjoyed the uncertainty the morning after too, and how they got over it. I was hard pressed to decide which of them was more shocked and awed :). Laura.

Author's Response: Thanks. So glad you enjoyed the first time. I think both John and Rodney would be equally shocked and awed that sex could be so good between them, if for different reasons. Anyway, thanks again for your kind words.
Chapter 3
Reviewer: Kit (Anonymous)
11 Nov 2005 7:01 pm
you must write for a living. I can't believe how well written that was. I normally don't like romances, but I'm more than familiar with the angst, and I have to say that your story had me in tears, which doesn't usually happen. I envy your talent. Bravo

Author's Response: Thanks you so much for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed it. So sorry about the tears. Hope you felt better by the end.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: MaiyaV (Anonymous)
11 Nov 2005 6:14 pm
Aw, MAN, the surfboards? Why don't you just drive a stake through Rodney's heart and get it over with? But signs of a thaw are encouraging. At this point I'm hoping for the best in a frantic way that means I want it the best it can be. Emotionally, I'm back at the first chapter, where Rodney was in the untenable position of loving and wanting John yet had never had him; this is so much worse because he had John, they had each other, and while they haven't said it's over, the distance is excrutiating. There wasn't anything like this even when John knew Rodney wanted him and didn't yet want him back. That's the other thing I appreciate about this fic: your plot points don't get repetative. You state what's oing on in a clear voice and move on, no belaboring the point. Keeps the story moving forward, and always exciting to read, 'cuz I KNOW the next chapter will be something completely new.

Author's Response: Sorry about all the angst, but I didn't think the events of Trinity were something John could just shrug off, no matter how much he might love/need Rodney. Thanks for all your kind comments.
Chapter 9
Reviewer: MaiyaV (Anonymous)
11 Nov 2005 5:22 pm
Damn, I just knew that was coming. Pain and heartbreak, death and destruction, ups and down. Except this is so down as to be six feet under. But yeah, I was impressed with the way Zelenka played it, too. I'm left feeling depressed, with a desperate need for the situation to be resolved.

Author's Response: I think John loves Rodney enough to work things out in the long run. Hope you feel better by the end of the story (I suspect you will).
Chapter 8
Reviewer: BB (Anonymous)
11 Nov 2005 4:41 pm
Sigh... what a wonderful story! I hated getting to the end. I loved that you took that time to explore their inner thoughts, but at the same time, didn't go on and on to the point that I felt beaten over the head with them; it was a perfect balance. Sigh :o)

Author's Response: Thanks you so much for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed it.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: Chris (Anonymous)
11 Nov 2005 4:38 pm
I really really would have loved this story to go on and on, to see what happens if others find out, to have some not so personal crisis, but only because this story was exceptional, really great and wonderful. And LONG! Thank you very much for this wonderful read.

Author's Response: Thanks you so much for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed it.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: MaiyaV (Anonymous)
11 Nov 2005 4:31 pm
*Whimper* Do the words 'emotional wreck' mean anything to you? The gradually unfolding levels of Rodney&John's relationship make this the most believable fic for this (my favorite) pairing I've read yet. I've enjoyed many fics before this one, have favorite authors for this fandom (Shalott a.k.a. astolat suckered me in with her story Transcendental, though I loved David Hewlett before I fell in love with John&Rodney), and I enjoy the many styles I come across on the Wraithbait site alone. But this fic hasn't just hooked me; it's swallowed me whole. I don't think I can even categorize what is that has me wrapped so tightly around this story. I know the style flows smoothly, a logical progression I follow along with easily, no jarring or discordant scenes to knock me out of the story and back to RL; I know I really like the way you've made R&J so tangibly real, with their individual flaws, tragic backgrounds, and personal insecurities well-illustrated and laid out in a comprehensive manner at what feels to me to be peak times in their relationship; and I know this chapter shows exactly why this fic had me so firmly in its grasp from the very beginning - I'm just not sure WHAT it is. I truly enjoy the effort J&R put into their relationship - more than that, I enjoy the way you ARTICULTE the efforts they go to to make it work between them. There's no 'It's hard but I want to be with him so I'll get over it' feeling anywhere to be found. You've got chatty, realistic dilemmas that are dealt with in a mature, adult manner. I think what I like most is the way J&R listen to each other. There isn't any talking AT one another rather that TO each other. That's a rare and precious thing, and you've pulled it off beautifully.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much. I'm so glad you liked the slow development. I love working with these guys because they're so complicated, imperfect, and inherently decent. Thank you so much for taking the time to write. I really, really appreciate it.
Chapter 7
Reviewer: miscbills (Anonymous)
11 Nov 2005 4:30 pm
This story had move me close to tears in many chapters. It is one of the best in a long time. Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: Thanks you so much for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed it.
Chapter 10
Reviewer: miscbills (Anonymous)
11 Nov 2005 3:45 pm
I almost cry as I was reading this at the beginng.

Author's Response: Sorry. Hope you feel better by the end.
Chapter 9
Reviewer: miscbills (Anonymous)
11 Nov 2005 3:38 pm
Poor Rodney, I hope John forgives him.

Author's Response: John needs him, I think.
Chapter 8
Reviewer: MaiyaV (Anonymous)
11 Nov 2005 3:09 pm
*SOB* I can't- You don't- I'm CRYING here. Your fic made me weep. The words I'm coming up with for this chapter are insufficient to express how deeply it affected me. *SOB* I gotta go get a tissue. I gotta get the whole damn box, then re-read this chapter. *SOB* Intense? Doesn't begin to cover it. I love and hate you for doing this to me. It means I'm emotionally invovled in your story on a level that isn't anywhere in sight or sound of casual. *SOB*

Author's Response: Oh, god, I'm sorry. Guess this one should have come with a tissue warning. I hope you feel better by the end. Cheers, and sorry.
Chapter 6
Reviewer: miscbills (Anonymous)
11 Nov 2005 1:47 pm
All I could say is "Wow!" This is really intense.

Author's Response: Thanks again!
Chapter 6
Reviewer: MaiyaV (Anonymous)
11 Nov 2005 1:38 pm
!HOT! !HOT! !HOT! Hoo-BOY, baby! You've got a gift for the sensual, me dear. Porn is one thing; THIS is ART. And OH, I do so adore the music angle. Your fic is so wonderfully rich with personal details, I feel like I should be taking it in small doses instead of eating up the whole thing today ... but it isn't like I have much else to do. No work today! Yay! Uninterrupted reading time! I'm so psyched I get to read this all in one go. I can't wait anymore, gotta go read the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks you so much for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Stars know, I enjoyed writing those scenes. LOL
Chapter 5
Reviewer: MaiyaV (Anonymous)
11 Nov 2005 12:36 pm
OH! Ohohoh! Kawaii! *Huggles* Crap, Rodney takes the 'It's tough to be different' credo to new heights. *Station break so John can administer an ass-kicking to that hideous old quack who has the gall to name himself a teacher* . . . I'm startin' to think John's gonna fix Rodney so good the scars'll hardly be visible. Can't wait until Rodney unearths more bits of John's past. They're really working, I mean REALLY working, for me. I mean, HEL-lo, relationship here! I don't just see it unfolding on paper - er, screen - I feel it as they do. Your style impacts me in a way only a few John/Rodney authors have so far done with me. Floating on cloud nine here that everybody gets to read this chapter to the end. A day's wait was three parts anticipation, one part torture. I gotta grovel before you for your quick response in fixing the incomplete download, which isn't a hardship since I'm already worshipping you for such a juicy fic! Thanks bunches! ^_~

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much. I am terribly sorry about the coding mistake. I found out the story was truncated while at work & couldn't do anything to fix it till I got home. Then I was up until 3 AM trying to figure it out. Ended up sending the file to the archive keeper. Alyse found it and fixed it, thank heavens and her patience. Anyway, thank you for all your kind words. I'm so relieved yo liked it after all the problems.
Chapter 4
Reviewer: miscbills (Anonymous)
11 Nov 2005 11:14 am
Wow, that was sooo hot! Keep going!

Author's Response: Thanks you so much for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed it.
Chapter 5
Reviewer: MaiyaV (Anonymous)
11 Nov 2005 10:51 am
Treats for the wonderful author who graces us with such lovely angst and total hotness all in one chapter! Did I mention I adore your characterizations of John and Rodney? My favorite points: Rodney really IS making John work at this relationship - the accept-no-excuses approach is one I fully support and admire, even when he applies it to situations he's misinterpreted - it means he's sticking to his guns and isn't going to accept failure in this area of his life anymore than he'd accept it in his work; the introspection they're each forced to undertake is much more believable given their particular personalities than the all-action-no-thought approach I've seen in several fics - though that can end up being well-done if the author is a good one, but both Rodney and John are thinkers, and they'd be thinking relationship-type thoughts even if they never talked about it; also, I didn't realize how sick I was of the entire 'I-love-you-you-love-me-let's-get- together-with-as-little-fuss-and-muss-as -possible' plotline until I stepped foot onto the emotional rollercoaster that is you fic, and all I can say is THANK YOU! I really needed this!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for all your wonderful comments! I can see John & Rodney's relationship going either way, really, due to Rodney's character. I think John is an action kind of guy. But we see Rodney as both thinking himself into holes, and then leaping into reckless action, so there's enough cannon to support either presentation of their relationship. So glad you enjoyed this one, though. Thanks again.
Chapter 3
Reviewer: miscbills (Anonymous)
11 Nov 2005 10:48 am
Sweet ending.

Author's Response: Thanks you so much for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed it.
Chapter 4
Reviewer: MaiyaV (Anonymous)
11 Nov 2005 9:22 am
BWAHAHAHAHAHA!!! 'Majorly cool kiddy ride' Kyaaahahahahah! Oh, I love it! *Gaspwheezegiggle*

Author's Response: LOL. Thanks. So glad you liked it. That was a fun scene to write.
Chapter 2
You must login (register) to review.