RSS
Reviews For Atlantis, baby

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: toki mirage (Anonymous)
18 Jul 2008 2:30 pm
*sniffles* That was a very touching fic. I wish I knew exactly what happens to shepperd's mind, but that was a very good ending. *sniffles* very good fic!
Atlantis, baby
Reviewer: Raincitygirl (Anonymous)
11 Sep 2007 11:48 pm
Oh wow. Lyrical and heartbreaking.
Atlantis, baby
Reviewer: GBaby (Signed)
07 Mar 2007 2:33 pm
*sniff* This is the best Ménage à Troi I´ve ever seen... sniff!!
Atlantis, baby
Reviewer: greyscales (Anonymous)
03 Oct 2006 9:30 am
Sad, but beautifully so.
Atlantis, baby
Reviewer: vampiegirl (Anonymous)
17 Sep 2006 5:46 am
oh god *wipes eyes* that was beautifull
Atlantis, baby
Reviewer: BC (Anonymous)
15 Sep 2006 3:00 am
The city would do this for John. End his pain at the loss of Rodney. Thank you for this touching story.
Atlantis, baby
Reviewer: GwenE (Anonymous)
21 Aug 2006 10:56 pm
Oh this made me CRY! Poor John and Rodney! It's good but in such a painful way!
Atlantis, baby
Reviewer: avira_jaden (Signed)
07 Apr 2006 3:23 am
You know that feeling you get? When the end comes and you can do nothing but bow your head against the weight of the inevitable? That's what this fic did for me. That's what that last line did. Oh, John.... I loved this, I truly did. I particularly enjoyed the passage of time and the evolution of their relationship. You describe so much so succintly, that it leaves much up to the imagination and it *works*. I love the connection that John has to Rodney through Atlantis. It makes for a balance between both of John's loves, and makes me feel all that much more how McKay's death disrupts that. Very nicely done.

Author's Response: Thank you. That feeling - the weight of the inevitable - that was what I was going for. I'm really glad it worked, that this fic has made people feel something, that there's been an impact. Thank you for a lovely review.
Atlantis, baby
Reviewer: adafrog (Anonymous)
21 Mar 2006 2:48 pm
Wow, very powerful story. It's be interesting to see what John actually does after that. Or what Atlantis and he do after that.

Author's Response: I don't know what happens next. I don't know if they manage to get John out of the chair, and send him back to earth. I have no idea how long it takes them to realise where he is. I don't actually need to know. For me the point of this story was the end. I don't usually start writing a fic with an end point in mind, but in this one, the end was the point, and I have this hazy vision of a bleakish eternity stretching out, John and Atlantis, and no Rodney.
Atlantis, baby
Reviewer: Speranza (Anonymous)
07 Mar 2006 12:31 am
Ohhh, I like this. I did a similar story called Learning to Breathe, but in a way, I like this better, because it's bleaker; in mine, Rodney saves John from the chair, but in yours--god, the chair can wait Rodney out. Infinitely sadder and more moving. Great payoff on a killer ending!

Author's Response: Thank you for your comments - and the ten things rec. Greatly appreciated. The ending was why I wrote this. I was playing around with stuff in my head, and this just clicked, and it practically wrote itself. The hardest part was actually working out how Rodney would die. I wanted it to be normal, dramatic, and completely unstoppable - and in the end Atlantis would still be there. I just had to get things to the point where it was bleak enough that John would take that offer. I do like _Learning to Breathe_, as I don't actually like reading deathfics. I much prefer crack (in SGA) or angst with a happy ending (almost any other fandom).
Atlantis, baby
Reviewer: anon (Anonymous)
30 Dec 2005 3:04 am
I dont understand why are you making John and Rodney Gay Lovers ?????? When they are clearly not......

Author's Response: A number of people, myself included, enjoy reading and writing John and Rodney as gay lovers. We think there is enough subtext on the show for this to be valid, although it is entirely possible that we'd write it anyway, considering some of the slash fiction on the internet. So, yes, I enjoy it, and it amuses me. But this particular piece of fanfiction, as indicated by both the story and the writing, was more about John and Atlantis, than John and Rodney. Hope that makes sense, but really, in terms of slash fanfiction, this was particularly mild. Try reading the NC 17 rated fics at this site - now that's Gay Lovers.

Author's Response: A number of people, myself included, enjoy reading and writing John and Rodney as gay lovers. We think there is enough subtext on the show for this to be valid, although it is entirely possible that we'd write it anyway, considering some of the slash fiction on the internet. So, yes, I enjoy it, and it amuses me. But this particular piece of fanfiction, as indicated by both the story and the writing, was more about John and Atlantis, than John and Rodney. Hope that makes sense, but really, in terms of slash fanfiction, this was particularly mild. Try reading the NC 17 rated fics at this site - now that's Gay Lovers.
Atlantis, baby
Reviewer: (Anonymous)
18 Dec 2005 4:08 pm
I'm not really sure what I can add to the wonderful things already said. Their lives strike me as a kaleidoscope of shapes and colors, John, Rodney and Atlantis, each different but related. And all turning smoothly together. My heart also broke for John when Rodney died, but that's when you realize how Atlantis has always been there for John, especially now in his despair. Beautiful.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked it. I tried to create that sense of unity, but also a sense of time passing, of years rolling into one another, until someone runs out of time, and when one side of a triangle is gone, then everything kinda collapses, and I hope I got that across too.
Atlantis, baby
Reviewer: logovo (Anonymous)
12 Dec 2005 6:26 pm
Wow, what a terrific ending.

Author's Response: Glad you liked it. I had the ending in mind from the very beginning, and worked towards it. Kept my writing short, which isn't necessarily a bad thing.
Atlantis, baby
Reviewer: Bibliokat (Anonymous)
21 Nov 2005 11:07 pm
Wow. *Damn* but wow! The ending just blew me away. I'm going to sit here in shock for a few more minutes. Great writing!

Author's Response: Thanks! The entire point of the fic was the ending. On of the few fics I've written where I knew the ending before I began. ...sorry about the delay in replying, I completely forgot to check for reviews.
Atlantis, baby
Reviewer: Lapis Lazuli (Signed)
18 Nov 2005 11:11 pm
Fantastic. Ending absolutely perfect - John would SO do this. And I could see Atlantis keeping him alive for a *very* long time...

Author's Response: I had the ending in place before I started writing it, so I'm glad it had the impact that I wanted it to. I hadn't really thought about how long Atlantis would keep John alive for, but I suppose she has access to all sorts of useful things that would help... she wouldn't surrender him easily. Me, I'd like to know what happened when Elizabeth and everyone else workeed out where he'd gone.
Atlantis, baby
Reviewer: Doctor Science (Anonymous)
18 Nov 2005 9:31 pm
Oh man, what a ride. I can totally see this, John's double marriage and how Atlantis gets him at last. Wonderful story, no more bittersweet than life itself. I have put a link to the story up on http://www.livejournal.com/community/atlantis_alive/.

Author's Response: Ooooh, someone recommended a fic of mine! Neat! *goes to check out link* And yeah... Atlantis has all of John's life to get hold of him. She can afford to wait. And I can't see John not going for human contact eventually. I'm glad you enjoyed it.
Atlantis, baby
Reviewer: springwoof (Signed)
18 Nov 2005 8:33 pm
this was good. sweet and sad, and somewhat creepy at the same time...wags, springwoof

Author's Response: Yours is the second (or first, but I read the reviews reverse chronologically) review that said the fic was creepy. I suppose so, but that's not something I'd ever thought of before it was mentioned. Glad you enjoyed it.
Atlantis, baby
Reviewer: JoAnn (Anonymous)
18 Nov 2005 8:13 pm
Nnggh. Beautifully done. Thank you.

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you liked it.
Atlantis, baby
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
18 Nov 2005 8:08 pm
Oh, sad, but also not. I'm always intrigued by stories that look a John's connection to Atlantis and I liked this one. I'm glad that Atlantis and Rodney were happy to share John and that John told Rodney about his connection. Rodney dying was so very sad, and I liked how Atlantis offered comfort and that the connection did more for John than his friends support could. Then the ending, very bittersweet. I was glad that John was never truly alone even when Rodney was gone, but I was sad that it meant him sitting in the chair and probably staying there until he died himself...at least, that was the impression I got; how difficult it seemed to be to get John out of the chair even when it was Rodney waiting. So, very good, you made me sad *g*. Laura.

Author's Response: I'm glad it made you _feel_. The reason I wrote it was the ending. And the fact that I'm intrigued by a sentient Atlantis. I thought of it as a kind of surrender, I think. John has spent all this time resisting the complete allure of Atlantis, especially since in the chair he can do a lot for the city, and Rodney did a lot of that, but without Rodney... he doesn't have a lot left, or he can't relate to what he does have left. I can't imagine John coming out of the chair willingly, so yes, probably until he died himself. On the other hand, as another reviewer pointed out, who knows how long Atlantis might keep him alive for? Thanks for your lengthy and thoughtful review. It was greatly appreciated. And I'm glad you liked the fic.
Atlantis, baby
Reviewer: Miso no Tsuki (Signed)
18 Nov 2005 6:04 pm
Oh good! Really , really good. Loved the ending, beautifully done.Lovely angst :D

Author's Response: Thank you very much. The ending was the entire point of the fic, so I'm glad it had an impact.
Atlantis, baby
You must login (register) to review.