RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Miscbills (Signed)
25 Aug 2013 5:00 pm
I want to read about Bates finding the wrappers!
1 of 1
Reviewer: Azamiko (Signed)
27 Apr 2012 12:27 am
*snicker* Like the inclusion of the Bates bits.

Author's Response: Poor Bates - he got such a raw deal from most of us writers, but it was terribly fun using him as the bad guy in this.
1 of 1
Reviewer: monanotlisa (Anonymous)
11 Mar 2009 9:37 pm
Still thrumming with power, with emotion. Love it.

Author's Response: Thank you!!! *hugs*
1 of 1
Reviewer: Tania S (Anonymous)
08 Feb 2008 3:45 am
wow, just wow.

Incredibly well written. I'm quite funny about guns but you used them so intelligently that I liked it. I also normally prefer more light-hearted mcshep with lots banter because it's easy to make realistic, however this really got to me and I completely believed every word. Fab!

p.s. love the last lines

Author's Response: Thank you! This seems to be one of those stories that people really respond too, even though it's a bit angsty. Glad you enjoyed it.
1 of 1
Reviewer: Smee (Anonymous)
31 Jan 2008 3:04 am
Thank you thank you thank you, did I mention thank you?

A wonderful fic, as all of your others are, and I hope you don't mind that I'm stealing quotes from here to add to my awesome quotes book. I love a story that makes me think and leaves me with a smile. Thank you!

Author's Response: Thanks! It's sweet you'd include me in your quotes book.
1 of 1
Reviewer: zaftig (Signed)
26 Dec 2007 5:01 pm
Hi, I loved this story from when I first read it, but I think that I read it back when I was afraid to give feedback. You deserve a lot more reviews for this story -- it's great! Love John teaching Rodney, Rodney learning well, the scientists afraid of Rodney toting a gun, how John & Rodney help each other when Pegasus gets to be too much, the betting with Bates (how it escalated, and that Rodney did not fold under pressure), the final but scary scene in the armory. All excellent. Thank you.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Never be afraid to give feedback - I've never met a writer who didn't like to hear from a reader. I'm even okay with critical feedback, and you can always find me on Livejournal as laceymcbain.
1 of 1
Reviewer: kensieg (Anonymous)
20 Feb 2007 8:02 pm
they did put on eye and ear protection when they went to the range right? otherwise great story.

Author's Response: It's one of those things that works better in reality than in fiction; I didn't specifically write it in because it messes a bit with the romance visuals, but I can see that it bothers people who know something about guns. Lesson learned for next time! *g* Thanks for the comment.
1 of 1
Reviewer: miasnape (Signed)
09 Aug 2006 7:59 pm
This... is so close to perfect that it hurts. It literally takes my breath away at certain points, and the note it ends on is so very fitting. I quite simply adore this - in it's entirety - and you can bet I'll be back to read it time and time again.

Author's Response: Thank you - that's always a lovely compliment, to hear that someone will read your fic more than once. *hugs*
1 of 1
Reviewer: Microt (Signed)
22 Jul 2006 10:06 pm
That was so brilliant. I loved it! And seriously, when Rodney went to the armory after Shepard nearly blew himself up I swear I thought this was going to turn into a terribly sad death fic. Great writting!

Author's Response: I would warn if it was a deathfic - I'm mostly your happy-ending girl, so you usually don't have to worry with me. Glad you liked it!
1 of 1
Reviewer: Deadra (Anonymous)
20 May 2006 6:51 pm
Loved it. Great characterisation,plausible development, and - my personal favourite - Bates-torture. ^^

Author's Response: So glad you enjoyed it. It's really the first substantial fic I wrote in this fandom, and it seems to be a favourite for people.
1 of 1
Reviewer: sobelle (Anonymous)
30 Apr 2006 1:38 am
I hadn't realized that I'd lost your story until I stumbled on it again. I first read it when I was relatively new to SGA and was struck by... just everything... the initial consideration that got them into the armory to begin with, through the deaths and disasters, Bates and the marines and finally to their complete understanding. I'd have to say this is one of my favorites and as I said before, I'm glad I found it so I can save it to my hard drive. ps... are you on LiveJournal?

Author's Response: Oh, that's so sweet. Thank you. And yes, I'm on LJ as laceymcbain.
1 of 1
Reviewer: raildog (Anonymous)
23 Feb 2006 4:11 pm
Intense and powerful and very moving. Beautiful job. And the end line was great. Made me smile. Really excellent job.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. This story has gotten a really positive response in fandom, and that makes me feel great! *hugs*
1 of 1
Reviewer: Follicks (Anonymous)
10 Jan 2006 9:20 pm
I've been searching for about 2 weeks for this story, so I could re-read and enjoy it again. I love the pacing, I love your Rodney and Jonh, and how this really captures their evolution in a way that stays so true to canon. Well done, and thank you. Jennie

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you found the story. I'm going to try to make sure all my SGA stuff gets archived here.
1 of 1
Reviewer: Jessica (Anonymous)
20 Nov 2005 7:00 pm
This was so tense, and sad, but something about it was thrilling too. Loved it.

Author's Response: So glad to hear you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading.
1 of 1
Reviewer: out_there (Signed)
20 Nov 2005 7:15 am
Oh, that was wonderful. I love the way that you weaved the events of S1 through the narrative, the way that you fleshed out John and Rodney's emotional reactions to events. It was utterly wonderful.

Author's Response: Thanks! I did try to fit in canon where I could, and flesh it out too. Glad you enjoyed it.
1 of 1
Reviewer: Ajay (Anonymous)
20 Nov 2005 4:50 am
This is wonderful. Rodney is a little quiet but the hole story is so hot I'm not complaning at all. Thank you, thank you Ajay

Author's Response: I know Rodney's quiet in this - I think I'm working up to witty banter. *g* Thanks so much for reading - glad you enjoyed it.
1 of 1
Reviewer: fifi (Anonymous)
20 Nov 2005 3:16 am
That was packed full of brilliance, wonderful wit and sensation. The last section was tense and scary - each one creating the means for the other to be destroyed... Great work.

Author's Response: The two of them are probably going to be the death of each other - but it'll be hot in the meantime! Thanks for reading.
1 of 1
Reviewer: Mystic (Anonymous)
19 Nov 2005 8:14 pm
What a terrific story, tender sweet and unique in the insight of something that could be considered technical...great job. Keep writting.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm just starting in SGA, but I'm sure I'll have lots more to write.
1 of 1
Reviewer: Delwyn (Anonymous)
19 Nov 2005 1:57 am
This was beautifully written. And who would have thought that target practice would become hopelessly erotic to me.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I've always thought men with guns were interminably sexy in a strange way, so I guess target practice works as a sexual metaphor. *g*
1 of 1
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
18 Nov 2005 8:55 pm
Oh ::adds to favourites:: I loved this. The gradual deepening of their relationship was great and I liked how the armoury and target practice grew to mean so much more than simple practice, and how the instructions John gave Rodney to improve his stance and such came to be so much more than simple instructions too. I was so glad that Bates got taken down a peg or two (hundred *g*), I especially liked the ending, where they leave condom wrapers for Bates to find *heee*. This was a really interesting look at John and Rodney too...so much of their interaction is all snark and bickering, so this, with so much silence and just the minimum few words to offer comfort or instruction, was a very interesting take on them. And that one moment, when John arrived at the armoury after beaming back from the Daedalus...that was very tense. I didn't believe Rodney would do it, but there was that tiny sliver of doubt after seeing how dead and empty he felt, and that John also feared that single shot made it so much worse. I loved that they finally acknowledged what was between them, it was hot and sweet, and I liked the way the sex mirrored the target practice with the quietness so different from their normal, public faces. Great story. Laura.

Author's Response: Wow - thanks so much for the lovely, detailed feedback. I'm glad the silence worked for you and that the target practice was a good build-up. I really appreciate the feedback. Thanks!!
1 of 1
You must login (register) to review.