RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Rigel (Anonymous)
20 Oct 2007 12:47 pm
I just wanted to let you know how much I adored this fic of yours.

I recced it at stargateficrec on LJ as well.

http://community.livejournal.com/stargateficrec/916529.html
Reviewer: Kylie Lee (Signed)
24 Jul 2006 9:17 am
This story showcases your lush, sensuous writing style. I'm intrigued that John's thoughts reveal so little of him as a person, instead focusing on events and thoughtful revelation. The first section blew me away, although I worry I may have misread it, because for a second, I thought Sheppard had killed Dr. Jackson, which made my world skew sideways. (A reread makes me think this isn't the correct reading.) And the second section blew me away because it's so sensuous and beautiful, and it's a wonderful take on the idea of a god--Chaya is one, after all. I rec'd this to crack_van over on LJ today.

Author's Response: Thank you! I like having John's head be a mystery even to him, really - - he does what he does and puzzles out his own motivations later. As for him killing Daniel, I tried to make it ambiguous - - whatever take you want on that is fine. And thanks for the rec!
Reviewer: Jessi (Anonymous)
21 Jul 2006 2:58 pm
*shivers* The first story reminds me of an Arthur C. Clarke short story. How he can have you believing one thing the entire story, only to turn everything on its head in the last sentence or two. Utterly beautiful and utterly horrifying at the same time. Awesome.

Author's Response: Thank you! The first story inspired the whole piece, so I'm particularly glad that you liked it.
Reviewer: sparklegem (Anonymous)
22 Apr 2006 7:27 pm
I agree with everyone else. Creepy and very artistically styled. Beautiful. I really like how you put number five as number five. Being a Rodney fan, I'm reluctant to see it as creepy, and I don't really feel it is by itself, but the ambiance of the whole piece casts a significance and foreboding on it, in particular the last sentence, that give it a different meaning. I wish I had the time to look more deeply into the piece for answers, but as it stands I was wondering if you could help me with number two, though I feel badly asking the author to explain her work. I feel sort of confused by it, especially, "The things they had done were small, and virtually harmless; but they were still there and John needed to know what Rodney would choose, in the end," and "If there had been a god in that woodwork once, John could only hope he never met it." I feel the importance and meaning imbued in the last part, but can't grasp it, instead reading into it a few ways (John and Rodney as gods of Atlantis or themselves worshipping the city) and I fear incorrectly. Thank you.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm very much a Rodney fan, too, but I feel the fifth piece was the msot disturbing *because* of that like and because of the kind of Faustian bargaining atmosphere about it - - we, as readers, know that it *shouldn't* have worked and there is something *wrong* with the fact that it did. On number two, I intend for John and Rodney to be worshipping the city itself - - and to have their "small, and virtually harmless" deeds be the things they did *for* the city that even hurt members of the expedition (lying to Elizabeth, throwing tea in the faces of anthropologists, etc.).
Reviewer: James (Anonymous)
28 Feb 2006 8:09 pm
Wow, this is lovely and dark - you write very well! I found the Goa'uld piece particularly chilling, especially because it took me a couple of paragraphs to work it out. Very well done.

Author's Response: Thanks! The Goa'uld piece was the first one that formed in my mind, so I'm especially pleased that you liked it.
Reviewer: springwoof (Signed)
14 Feb 2006 10:36 am
wow. awesome. the Goa'uld one gave me a shiver.

Author's Response: Thanks! The Goa'uld piece is what inspired the story.
Reviewer: Krysalys (Signed)
25 Jan 2006 7:33 pm
Wow. Again, just... wow. You have such a superlative way with words, m'dear. ----}-@ Krys

Author's Response: High praise! Thanks so much. I'm glad you liked it.
Reviewer: ceitie (Anonymous)
13 Jan 2006 4:33 pm
Please take it as a genuine compliment when I say that this story is fascinatingly horrifying. Wonderful writing and scenarios that are just so damn plausible that they left me cold to my bones.

Author's Response: I'm glad you found them plausibly and glad I could give you a chill. Thank you for reading!
Reviewer: out_there (Anonymous)
17 Dec 2005 9:58 pm
Stunning. Utterly stunning.

Author's Response: Thank you very much!
Reviewer: walkingshadow (Anonymous)
15 Dec 2005 12:43 am
wow, wow, wow. i love the idea of this theme as much as i love the execution: it's creepy, it's sad, it's--well, mostly it's creepy, but to varying degrees, and sometimes it's so subtle it's buried under the humor and the action. the first and the last stick with me the most: the blood in the snow and john standing throughout; and then john following rodney, such a casual comment on such a small action, but at the end of this story it means massive things. i'm also in love with your title. beautiful job!

Author's Response: Thanks! And yes, it is mostly creepy. The last one was my favorite, personally - - because of the ending that you mentioned. The title took me a long time, so I'm glad you liked it.
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
14 Dec 2005 5:09 pm
A nice selection of might-have-beens. All splendidly dark and angsty. The Chaya one was perhaps more chilling for its brevity- those last few words making it all clear and I was still trying to assimilate it after the words ran out. It was nice to end on a mostly upbeat note, but that little dark moment when John doubted just gave it an edge. Great stuff. Laura.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you. It's good that you liked the brevity in the Chaya section - - I was afraid I wouldn't pull that one off.
Reviewer: Doctor Science (Anonymous)
13 Dec 2005 10:18 am
I recced your stories on my lj, http://www.livejournal.com/users/mecurtin/287418.html, and I think I'll put this one up on http://www.livejournal.com/community/atlantis_alive/ on acccount of #2. You give wonderful, logical, believable darkfic.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the rec (I was *wondering* what was suddenly drawing people to "Infinity"), and I'm glad you liked it. Darkfic is always a pleasure to write.
Reviewer: Miso no Tsuki (Signed)
13 Dec 2005 4:06 am
Very not-nice. Angsty, creepy, unsettling and very original. All the bits that get left out refined into one smouldering dark punch to the gut. Ave Imperator!

Author's Response: Thank you. I always like exploring the darker underside of things.
Reviewer: Joolz (Signed)
12 Dec 2005 12:00 am
Wow, this is so totally cool! Each one haunting in its own way. Thanks

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked it.
Reviewer: minnow1212 (Anonymous)
11 Dec 2005 8:54 pm
Wow. Very powerful.

Author's Response: Thank you very much!
Reviewer: Auburn (Signed)
11 Dec 2005 5:54 pm
Elegant and dark and more than a trifle creepy, particularly the fourth part. The Chaya section was at once the most lyrical, filled with color, and horrific all at once. Not that they all aren't dark and good. Very good. I very much enjoyed this glimpse of the way things weren't (thank the canon Gods).

Author's Response: Thank you - - everything you said was *exactly* how I wanted the story to work, and I'm glad you liked the Chaya part - - I was concerned about its compact size.
Reviewer: Mistress Kat (Signed)
11 Dec 2005 4:08 pm
OMG that was gorgeous. Loved it to bits, will now make it my god to worship *lays down sacrificial offerings*

Author's Response: Wow - - thanks! (The story happily accepts your worship and gives you chocolate.)
You must login (register) to review.