RSS
Reviews For Anguish

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Twinchy (Signed)
25 Jul 2007 10:49 pm
The first thing that comes to my mind is 'disturbing'.

Even in the detatched way you wrote it, the story still quentched my heart. The emotinal strain for both Shep and Rodney was literally overwhelming and I'm more than glad they found a way to get past it.
Taking into account the events of the capture and seeing the look on McKay's face afterwards in his quaters, I can totally believe John despairing and trying to commit suicide.

Very well written and deeply moving piece of fanfic.
To Live Freely
Reviewer: Nanook of the North (Signed)
25 Apr 2007 1:09 pm
Whoah what a story. Wow. Two thumbs up.
To Live Freely
Reviewer: snowflake (Anonymous)
25 Apr 2006 4:35 am
You know, I read the comment that critizised the detachedness and I'm a bit confused. This is very powerful, you wrote it exactly like I would imagine a victim to tell his story. Maybe I'm interpreting too much into this but I could think he tells it like he can't believe it really happened to him, uhhh... like he's in a bubble. Does that make sense? Anyway, I really like this story!

Author's Response: Thanks! Yeah, when I was writing it, John was telling the story how he wanted it to be told, and it just felt right that way. I actually had to struggle with my pronouns to keep it in that detached view that I thought the story needed. I'm glad you liked it!
To Live Freely
Reviewer: Emmuzka (Anonymous)
17 Dec 2005 5:45 pm
Detached can be a nice way to tell a story, but I think that this went a little too far with it. A fist-person wiew told almost completely in past tense? The first rule of good writing: Show, don't tell. For example, it's much more interesting if the readers aren't just informed that they talked to the shrink, but they can tead the actual conversation. The other thing is that neither John or Rodney would ever try to commit suicide. They would behave self-destructively, go on to suicide missions or even abuse their own bodies, but they would never consciously try to kill themselves. Imho, that would be occ.

Author's Response: Well, I like to go too far when I'm trying something new. As for a first person narrative in past tense, I've read dozens of them, if not more. Thirdly, this was written as if a victim was telling a story, for the first time. I would never expect someone to describe the faces, the environment, and the minutest details, instead they would tell the facts simply as they happened, as that would be hard enough for them to get out. And lastly, no one knows what a victim of rape will and will not do. Just because they behave in one way to death in general does not mean they would not kill themselves in this instance. Thanks for reading, and critiquing.
To Live Freely
Reviewer: Krysalys (Signed)
16 Dec 2005 5:13 pm
Wow. Very powerful, and yet with a detachedness to it, as if he was desperately trying the entire time to keep himself separated from the reality of it all. Great job. ----}-@ Krys
To Live Freely
Reviewer: kamelion (Anonymous)
15 Dec 2005 10:29 pm
Oh. . .WOW!!! Love the way you kept it vague enough so that either person could be put in either role. And the bit about coming home to cheers, and throwing up on someone's shoes said so much. When I read the synopsis I was surprised to find the fic was short, because it seemed like an awful lot of material to cover, but man, you did it brilliantly! Absolutely brilliantly!!!
To Live Freely
Reviewer: Tonia Barone (Signed)
15 Dec 2005 10:05 pm
*wipes eyes* Damn. So painful. So beautiful. Lovely. Wonderful. So much emotion. Thank you for this.
To Live Freely
Reviewer: Leah (Signed)
15 Dec 2005 5:38 pm
I'm glad their friendship survived--but I don't think John would. :-)Overdosing on Tylenol does permenant liver damage.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing. I had a friend who overdosed on Tylenol, she's never mention liver damange, so I'm hoping that's not true for her sake. As for John he'll at least survive for a few years.
To Live Freely
You must login (register) to review.