RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: lillyjk (Signed)
21 Dec 2005 6:58 pm
I am really enjoying this fic...can't wait to see what happens next.

Author's Response: Thank you very much.
A Triadic Interlude
Reviewer: Anonymus (Anonymous)
21 Dec 2005 8:03 am
I just realized that i put my review of chapter two in chapter one... oops (lurker)

Author's Response: Eurgh?
A Triadic Interlude
Reviewer: Anonymus (Anonymous)
21 Dec 2005 8:01 am
I am a lurker, so I thought I would finally write a review. What I have seen so far of this fic is excellent in dialogue and characterization. The author balanced the different emotional aspects of these complicated relationships... the characters really come alive and it feels as if they are in the room when they speak :) Some of the reviewers noted problems in reading Carson's dialect, I had no such problem... the author's efforts should be praised as it is difficult to write in dialect of any sort effectively, and ya do so *g* Carson's "voice", is not just his brogue, of course :), but the way he speaks is important to his characterization, just as Radek's clipped English is... on the show as much as in the fics. I really want to see more... eagerly anticipating ;)

Author's Response: Thank you very much. And you totally hit upon the reason for the dialect. Carson wouldn't be Carson if he were saying "can't" or "cannot" instead of "cannae". It wouldn't sound right or really be Carson. It'd be someone else that had neither lyrical cadeance nor overwhelming affection for everyone around him. Just like Radek never sounds quite right in fic where he has all of his articles articulated. Thanks again.
In Lab Revelations
Reviewer: anonymouse (Anonymous)
21 Dec 2005 3:37 am
Good fic. I'm looking forward to more. Not too many foursome fics out there. Rodney is the center - he's the one who interacts with John, Carson and Radek individually. The other 3 don't interact with each other as much. May I recommend that you *not* write Carson's accent? We all know what he sounds like. It just makes reading your fic hard. It's ok to put in the Scottish-isms, like "aye" and to put in that he calls people "love" or you can spell that "luv" if you insist. Saying "love" isn't a Scottish thing, it's a Carson thing. A Scottish person wouldn't think that Carson is speaking with an accent, so you shouldn't write English words any different. For example, Rodney says what sounds like to my American ears "bean" for the word "been" instead of "bin". But I wouldn't expect anyone to write "bean".

Author's Response: I think the "bean" is a typo, honestly...no matter how many times my beta and I read things, we still miss a few. And the dialect just adds to the potential for errors in proofing. As for the dialect, I have trouble hearing Carson's accent when I'm reading fic that doesn't use dialect. Part of the reason I took a lot of extra time to attempt to recreate the dialect. I'm also not certain that the same lyrical quality can be achieved without the presence of dialect. And someone from the same area as Carson wouldn't think he has an accent [which wasn't what I was trying to recreate], but someone from a different area of Scotland would. Rather like being from the Midwest and hearing someone speak whose from the South or the East coast--we're all speaking English, but it's different dialects of American English. As for love/luv, not trying to imply that it is a Scottish-thing. It's a Carson-thing. That's why it's there. As soon as the edit function is back up, I'll take the dialect out and put the dialect-version up on my LJ. 'Though, I really think something will be lost without it.
A Triadic Interlude
Reviewer: Krysalys (Signed)
20 Dec 2005 8:31 pm
*snickersnort* But what if John wants the three of them to join HIS harem? WHat if HE wants to be top dog of the puppy-pile? *chortle* Nah, if they all manage to get the quad thing going, then I'm sure John wouldn't mind being taken care of. ;) Nope, not at all. Hey, any room in that pile for me? Lots to go around... *snicker* More soon, I hope? ----}-@ Krys, wishing you a happy holiday

Author's Response: John needs to be taken of occasionally. 'Though I don't think the puppy-pile would mind being his harem...*sigh* nummy. I'm certain we can sqeeze ya in. There is more coming as soon as Wraithbait is back from hiatus. Happy Holidays to you too.
A Triadic Interlude
Reviewer: starfox (Anonymous)
20 Dec 2005 4:59 pm
Cute chapter. Spelling out Carson's speech phonetically was a bit disconcerting, but other than that, good chap.

Author's Response: Yeah. I had to read it outloud...it's like the first part of Pygamalion before Shaw got sick of the dialect...Thanks for the review.
A Triadic Interlude
Reviewer: HermioneORourke (Signed)
20 Dec 2005 4:08 pm
*sighs with content* I loved their interaction. I thought you did a very good job with it. Though sometimes the dialect was a little tough to actually read {as I can be a little dense sometimes *smiles*}, I thought it was very good. *applauds* Can't wait for more.

Author's Response: Yeah. It's a bit tough to write too. I ended up having to read a lot of it outloud to make certain I was spelling it about as right as it could get. It's rather like reading the first bit of Pygmalion before Shaw got sick of writing in dialect. Blah.

Author's Response: Oh, and because I'm completely knackered and boarding on stupid today, thank you for the review.
A Triadic Interlude
Reviewer: Elnea (Anonymous)
17 Dec 2005 12:04 pm
"Did I tumble through a quantum mirror to the world where everyone on Atlantis is gay?..." LOL! Sometimes that's what I wonder when I browse through Wraithbait.com sometimes! *grin* Cute story, and you do nice characterizations. Fun!

Author's Response: Thank you. I often feel that way too...but I've little room to talk since I write slash. *sigh* Thanks again.
In Lab Revelations
Reviewer: lillyjk (Anonymous)
16 Dec 2005 9:01 pm
oh this is the funniest hottest thing I've read in ages. can't wait to read the next part!

Author's Response: Thannk you.
In Lab Revelations
Reviewer: Tonia Barone (Signed)
16 Dec 2005 7:40 pm
Yes. Yay. More soon, please. Love it.

Author's Response: Sir, yes, sir. Off to poke my beta into wakefulness to hurry along the process. *poke poke*
In Lab Revelations
Reviewer: Krysalys (Signed)
16 Dec 2005 3:35 pm
Oh, PUH-LEEZE tell me there's gonna be a sequel to this? Excellent job. As for logistics... who says they all have to be in a puppy-pile at the same time? Although that would make for some scrumptious lovemaking... *drools copiously* ----}-@ Krys

Author's Response: I really like the puppy-pile...terribly nummy. Sequal's coming. Thanks for the review.
In Lab Revelations
Reviewer: dizz (Anonymous)
16 Dec 2005 10:55 am
"No mating. I already have too much hair to fight with" That's just perfect.

Author's Response: Thank you very much.
In Lab Revelations
Reviewer: HermioneORourke (Signed)
16 Dec 2005 9:46 am
*squee* Wonderful! I have to second the notion that there should be more to this if you can! *bounces*

Author's Response: Thanks. I'm working on it. Swear.
In Lab Revelations
Reviewer: TLI (Anonymous)
16 Dec 2005 8:39 am
Had me cackling right from the "Keep Out" sign, and it only got better from there. Please, oh PLEASE tell me there'll be more to this!

Author's Response: Yes, yes there is...just in-process of beta.
In Lab Revelations
You must login (register) to review.