RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Exangeline (Signed)
25 May 2007 3:08 am
This is so sad... yet inspiring. I love the suspence, and the beautiful ending and the way irony works its way into this story.

Author's Response: I'm glad the inspiration came through. Thanks for commenting
1 of 1
Reviewer: Sickle Sword (Anonymous)
01 Jan 2006 2:36 pm
Wow, that was a really amazing story. You managed to capture the horror in it but there were still sweet moments that added much to the general feeling of reality. I kept thinking 'please, that they will find a cure!!' but I guess that your end is better. No all endings are of fairytales. Please consider writing a sequel, hopefully a longer one, ok?

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it. Nope, no cure I'm afraid - I prefer realism to fairytales. I don't think there will be a sequel either, I'm not sure where I could go, but I'm flattered that you'd want one.
1 of 1
Reviewer: Kamelion (Signed)
17 Dec 2005 6:14 pm
First reaction, shock. Then yes, irony. This story was amazing. Good god, I was right there with Rodney, and could feel his presence more so without the dialogue than with. This is the first fic I've read that has such a feeling to it, it's remarkable! I love the way everyone adjusted to his inability to speak, to the point of being drawn in. Again, that speaks to the power of his presence, and your ability to see it. I remain stunned.

Author's Response: Wow, that's praise indeed! Glad you enjoyed it, and thanks for the comment.
1 of 1
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
17 Dec 2005 4:54 pm
Excellent story. I was shocked at the reason for Rodney's silence and then at the rather ill-considered ways that people tried to 'help' him. It was sad, but also great, that John and Radek were the only two who still treated Rodney as Rodney, snarky genius. And I liked Rodney's method of thanking John for that *g*. The whiteboard that Radek set up for Rodney to write instructions (read: disparaging comments *g*) on was a great idea and I liked how he realised that he'd stopped speaking himself, how it was a relief to not always have to mentally translate stuff. I liked Caldwell's irritation at Rodney's smirk. Serves him right for trying to send Rodney away because he could no longer do his job! Shows what he knows...Atlantis can *talk*!!! Great stuff. Laura.

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it, thanks for the comment
1 of 1
Reviewer: Krysalys (Signed)
17 Dec 2005 12:38 pm
Heh. Leave it to Rodney to come up with new ways of insulting those of lesser intelligence. *snicker* Wonderful tale. ----}-@ Krys

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it!
1 of 1
Reviewer: Dr_Dredd (Signed)
17 Dec 2005 10:19 am
Removing his tongue wasn't the worst they could have done. Rodney really talks with his hands. Removing those would have been the ultimate torture. Typical of Caldwell to want to give up on people too early -- guess he never heard of "no one gets left behind." Great story!

Author's Response: Rodney talks with his whole body. He's the kind of guy who *makes* you understand him. Thanks for the comment
1 of 1
Reviewer: Laryn (Anonymous)
17 Dec 2005 9:53 am
Wonderful story!

Author's Response: Thanks
1 of 1
Reviewer: fanficaddict (Anonymous)
17 Dec 2005 9:51 am
Wow, that was very powerful! Poor Rodney sure ran the entire gambit but he's definitely strong, loved the ending :D Awesome job!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it, thanks

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it, thanks
1 of 1
Reviewer: Silverthreads (Anonymous)
17 Dec 2005 8:25 am
Excellent tale!

Author's Response: Thanks
1 of 1
Reviewer: Mistress Kat (Signed)
17 Dec 2005 7:07 am
oh that was beautifully painful. hurts good... I love the way you portrayed Radek and Rodney's friendship, how it didn't need words because it was never about the words. Lovely, thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: Thanks for the comment
1 of 1
Reviewer: tardis (Anonymous)
17 Dec 2005 1:23 am
wow. when carson said, "they removed his tongue." i was shocked. and stuck out my tongue to check it was still there. :) i haven't really seen many fics that deal with rodney being hurt so *permanently* and it's interesting how you wrote him without his most distinguishing trait, his voice. (it's...wow. it's almost as bad as a rodney without hands.) i normally judge a well-written rodney by the quality of his words. but you did a great job portraying him with his actions: not accepting being treated like he was handicapped, the whiteboard, the atlantis program (or programme, you're british aren't you? :-) it was very mckay. though i'm slightly disturbed by how much i enjoy seeing my favorite characters tortured and maimed, i really enjoyed your story. thanks.

Author's Response: I'm glad Rodney still sounds like Rodney, even without words. Thanks
1 of 1
Reviewer: Joolz (Signed)
16 Dec 2005 11:36 pm
Painful, but very cool. I like how Sheppard understands where Rodney's at. Thanks

Author's Response: Thanks for the comment
1 of 1
You must login (register) to review.