RSS
Reviews For Scheherazade

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Argosy (Anonymous)
19 Mar 2007 3:32 am
Okay, this is what I get for skipping over all the stories marked "gen" in this fandom. I'm obviously going to have to expand my horizons. This was incredible. Moving, and plotty, and emotional and really good sci-fi to boot. I loved it. Thanks.
Chapter Twenty
Reviewer: Michele (Anonymous)
12 Jan 2007 8:47 pm
Excellent story.
Chapter Twenty
Reviewer: Shonaille (Anonymous)
25 Jun 2006 2:25 pm
I really need to reread all this so I can fully appreciate this story but the ending had me so tense, I wasn't sure what was going to happen, if John and Rodney were going to come to some sort of understanding and I'm just grateful after all the pain that they went through that they got this lovely, quiet, happy ending. As usual, kudos for an amazing story with excellent characterization for everyone and the unique technology used in this story.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad that you liked the ending, and I always love getting compliments on my characterization. Thanks for reading!
Chapter Twenty
Reviewer: Brown Eyes (Anonymous)
25 Jun 2006 2:14 pm
Loved this story. It's one of my favourites. It's complex, challenging and brings out some questions that are hard to answer. Thanks for posting it.

Author's Response: Thank you! You mentioned some of the things I look for when I *read* a story - - I didn't know that I could necessarily *write* one.
Chapter Twenty
Reviewer: Amalthia (Anonymous)
25 Jun 2006 1:54 am
I loved this story, the ending was heartbreaking and real and I loved that things still work out in the end.

Author's Response: Thank you! I thought that, after all of this, they deserved a happy ending.
Chapter Twenty
Reviewer: Silverthreads (Anonymous)
24 Jun 2006 11:02 pm
Good story though I found the ending a bit weak considering the absolute intensity of all the rest.

Author's Response: I'm sorry that you didn't like the ending, although I'm glad that the story, as a whole, worked for you.
Chapter Twenty
Reviewer: cofax (Anonymous)
24 Jun 2006 10:19 pm
Oh, that was impressive. Beautifully written, very insightful and moving and creative. Lovely, marvelous story.

Author's Response: Thank you. I like to *aim* for the traits you listed, but I'm never sure that I even *can* hit them. This is very, very gratifying.
Chapter Twenty
Reviewer: Mikou (Anonymous)
24 Jun 2006 10:03 pm
This was amazing. Usually, I'm satisfied with SGA's light-hearted tone, but sometimes I wish they would dig a little deeper into some of the bad things that happen, the difficult choices that the characters make, and the dangers they face. This story had that all and so much more. All the characters were so beutifully themselves -- at their worst and best -- even my oft-sidelined favorites, Ronon and Teyla. The basic premise felt fresh and the plot evolution was well-paced and interesting. There are many moments that touched me: the bittersweetness of Rodney's 'happy' memories, the awful (and sometimes beautiful) memories that weren't his own, Teyla's strength and serenity in her memrories and prayers, Ronon's hidden pain in the memorial room. The 2ndary characters and original characters enriched the story and felt fully fleshed out and complex. Oh, I could go on, but I'll just say that this was one of the best and most satisfying stories I've read in SGA. Thanks.

Author's Response: Wow - - thank you so very, very much. I know I'll treasure this comment. Characterization is extremely important to me and to hear that I've captured everone, as you said, at their worst and best - - it's incredibly high praise. And with all the great SGA stories out there, having you rank mine so high is *very* flattering! Thanks so much for reading.
Chapter Twenty
Reviewer: kbk (Anonymous)
24 Jun 2006 4:24 pm
oh, I like, i like. because it's not a shiny-happy-everything's-better but there's recovery and hope for more, and, I like.

Author's Response: Thank you - - I thought that they deserved a happy ending but not an *easy* one. I'm glad you liked it.
Chapter Twenty
Reviewer: Martha (Signed)
24 Jun 2006 12:13 pm
Ah, you did it -- the gravity of what happened through Ronon and Teyla, the reality of recovery through John and Rodney. Especialy the relief of Rodney himself, so beautiful. Thank you so much for an amazing journey

Author's Response: Thank you. The juxtaposition of the two sets of characters was fun to write, of course, but doing Rodney at the end was much harder - - it's great to hear that he worked in that final scene. I've been so glad to have your feedback for this story, all the way through.
Chapter Twenty
Reviewer: Cpt Untouchable (Signed)
24 Jun 2006 1:17 am
*breathes* I've loved this story from the beginning, and it's given me chills here at its end. How fabulously beautiful.

Author's Response: *blushes* That's very, very high praise! Thank you so much.
Chapter Twenty
Reviewer: Stephanie (Anonymous)
23 Jun 2006 11:35 pm
Wow. Loved this.

Author's Response: Thanks so much!
Chapter Twenty
Reviewer: Ellex (Signed)
23 Jun 2006 9:16 pm
Wow, I can't believe the end of the story is here...but it's a perfect ending. The thought of Sheppard waking up and *being* McKay is intriguing, and scary, and almost incomprehensible. I like the quietness of this ending, too. The entire story is one of the most amazing and unique things I've ever read, and well worth the wait for the final chapters. Now I have to go back and reread it from the beginning, which is a very enjoyable prospect. This one is definitely going on my rec list.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you caught (and liked, of course) the bit about Sheppard *being* McKay when he woke up - - it was a throwaway detail, but I'd hoped that it would have that kind of impact. Thanks so much for reading!
Chapter Twenty
Reviewer: Kitestringer (Anonymous)
23 Jun 2006 8:42 pm
Oh my God, what a perfect ending. Just...yeah. *Perfect*. I absolutely love it, and really, it's quite a bit happier than what I'd prepared myself for! I reread those last few paragraphs several times and just sort of...*wallowed* in them. (I hadn't been sure *what* to expect, as far as what was going to happen with John and Rodney in the end -- which, of course, is a good thing. *g*) Congratulations on finishing! :-)

Author's Response: They do really come close to a happy ending here, don't they? (Of course, I may just be setting you up for a future story with a hideously *unhappy* ending.) So, so glad that you liked it! Your feedback has always been amazing.
Chapter Twenty
Reviewer: Martha (Anonymous)
21 Jun 2006 9:38 pm
Again, takes a few days to settle before I know what to say. And I still don't, really, except that terrible, never-ending dinner is so heartbreaking_ and that's Rodney's *happy* memory. Oh lord. The jelly beans into John's hand, the spiral from memory to reality IS written So beautifully. Plus-- 1 loved the Chapter synopsis. Just especially, achingly apt.

Author's Response: Writing that dinner scene breaks my heart every time - - I'm glad it has the same effect on you. And I'm glad you liked the synopsis, too; I think it sums up the end pretty well.
Chapter Nineteen
Reviewer: kalikahuntress (Anonymous)
18 Jun 2006 5:43 pm
This was amazing, I'm anxiously awaiting what happens next and Rodney just trusting John so completely and John feeling like he is betraying Rodney just breaks my heart.

Author's Response: What happens next is coming up very soon, don't worry. I'm almost done breaking the boys (for now, of course).
Chapter Nineteen
Reviewer: Kitestringer (Anonymous)
18 Jun 2006 10:05 am
As always, I'm afraid I have nothing intelligent to say about this story except that I continue to be *destroyed* by it, every single chapter of it. The whole second part of this chapter, in particular, was brilliantly done and made me all verklempt. I'm going to be very sad when this story is finished, I think, regardless of what you have in store as the ending. *g*

Author's Response: Aw, that's really sweet - - and really, really flattering. I think that I'm going to be sad when this is done, too: it's been terrifically fun to write. And, of course, to read awesome feedback like this.
Chapter Nineteen
Reviewer: Doctor Science (Anonymous)
16 Jun 2006 6:09 pm
OMG I have never loved you more.

Author's Response: *grin* Thanks! And I selfishly hope to top that with the next chapter.
Chapter Nineteen
Reviewer: Silverthreads (Anonymous)
16 Jun 2006 6:09 pm
This chapter is incredible. Rodney reliving his memories while still talking to John is an amazing perspective.

Author's Response: Thank you - - that section was particularly fun to write, and I'm glad it was just as fun to read.
Chapter Nineteen
Reviewer: fanficaddict (Anonymous)
16 Jun 2006 5:58 pm
Eeek! Ack! Poor Rodney, poor John! Gah, I need to find out what happens next! More Please!!!!

Author's Response: More will be up this week, I promise. I just have to keep you on the edge of your seat!
Chapter Nineteen
You must login (register) to review.