RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Ismene (Signed)
10 Dec 2007 4:31 am
Um, way to break my heart, lady.

No, seriously, though, this was incredibly effective - the style in which it's written, the way you don't tell us a damn thing about what's happened except the visible things, the insights into them and the things that have to be rewritten to make them marketable.

This was really fabulously well-done.
Reviewer: Korilian (Anonymous)
23 May 2007 3:11 pm
Eeeh. I hate your OC SO MUCH! He doesn't get it, at all! But it's a really compelling story. And him diagnosing Rodney with PTSD (which he may very well have, but I imagine it's probably just Rodney being himself), was hilarious. (and did I read it right, that they didn't destroy Atlantis at all?)
Reviewer: deichtine (Anonymous)
03 Oct 2006 2:10 am
Wow, what an excellent and original idea, and very effectively written. The line about adding all the periods and ellipses was just perfect. A writer writing about a writer - gold. Well done!
Reviewer: witchofthedogs (Signed)
07 Jul 2006 8:09 pm
Gorgeous. Absolutely gorgeous and aching.

Author's Response: Thank you! This one was a lot of fun to write.
Reviewer: Silverthreads (Anonymous)
11 Mar 2006 8:24 pm
This is chilling in its reality of how history is written and extraordinarily sad simply as a story. Excellent work.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked the overall theme - - the "revision" of history in general is really something that I, personally, care about.
Reviewer: Syb (Anonymous)
04 Mar 2006 11:52 am
Oh, this is a great view of them in the aftermath, all a little broken, and the injustices that this kind of "history" does to the truth of people. So plausible and sad. Thanks!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you found it believable - - and let's hope for a better future for them than this.
Reviewer: springwoof (Signed)
14 Feb 2006 8:53 am
very well written. nicely ironic

Author's Response: Thanks! It is ironic, isn't it?
Reviewer: Mistress Kat (Signed)
28 Jan 2006 5:05 am
That was heart-breaking. You made me ache for all of the characters, even the narrator because in their blindness they missed something remarkable. This was a truly excellent piece of writing.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. The narrator really was blind to what made these people so remarkable, and yes, that's unfortunate. I'm glad everyone stayed sympathetic.
Reviewer: Lacey McBain (Signed)
26 Jan 2006 10:54 am
I really liked this, and yet at the same time I disliked the narrator for twisting the whole story. I suppose that was the point, but I was frustrated with that type of journalist/writer, making them into characters (and oh, the irony, they're already characters!) that would sell better. Poor Rodney, fed on by the wraith. Really well done - the point of story is to evoke emotional response and you certainly did that.

Author's Response: Yes, the narrator is rather frustrating - - he/she misses everything that makes the team remarkable. I'm glad you liked it, in spite of that.
Reviewer: Krysalys (Signed)
25 Jan 2006 7:24 pm
Wow. Interesting how people will twist reality to suit their own desires. *shakes head* This was excellent and disturbing. Thank you. ----}-@ Krys

Author's Response: Thanks. The Atlantis team would look very, very different in this writer's story, wouldn't they?
Reviewer: stoopbeck (Anonymous)
18 Jan 2006 12:43 am
Damn. This story hurts. A lot. That interviewer just didn't get it, did he? Nicely written. I need to go cry into my pillow now.

Author's Response: No, he really missed the point of our heroes. Thanks!
Reviewer: Emma (Anonymous)
17 Jan 2006 9:42 pm
Fantastic. This gave me the chills. Loved the extrapolations of the expedition's "future."

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked the glimpses we saw of the future.
Reviewer: scififreak (Anonymous)
17 Jan 2006 4:23 am
I hate that writer so much--but fuck if it isn't true what s/he says about "truth" and how it's rewritten. And s/he has the audacity/arrogance to think that they are doing the ppl they write about a favor. sigh

Author's Response: That's the worst part, isn't it? That he/she honestly believes that this is the *best* thing to do. Thanks for reading!
Reviewer: scififreak (Anonymous)
17 Jan 2006 4:21 am
I hate that writer so much--but fuck if it isn't true what s/he says about "truth" and how it's rewritten. And s/he has the audacity/arrogance to think that they are doing the ppl they write about a favor. sigh

Author's Response: - - See above.
Reviewer: Jessica (Anonymous)
16 Jan 2006 8:40 pm
I hated this, and in that is quite the compliment. You made me feel passion driven hatred for a writer that alters people's lives for the sake of something publishable. It was an interesting insight to how the five people live their lives after Atlantis. The truth as made by the writer of this book, does sound better, but it's false, and I loathe lies. Thanks for giving me something to ponder. It was well written.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm gratified that I could provoke an emotion that strong - - and if it helps, as Doctor Science said, in this scenario, other, more accurate works, would undoubtedly come along.
Reviewer: Doctor Science (Anonymous)
16 Jan 2006 8:02 pm
I just pimped this story and Scheherazade in my LJ (mecurtin).

Author's Response: Thanks! I really need to get active in LJ someday . . . (By the way, I've searched for Tiptree, but am now resigned to ordering it off Amazon. I have an unfortunate local selection.)
Reviewer: out_there (Anonymous)
16 Jan 2006 6:33 pm
Oh, wow! That's fantastic. Utterly fantastic. It's such a revealing look at the nature of truth; at the way that we simplify What Happened into What's Easy To Tell; at how the story of the thing can be more important, more remembered and feel more *true* than the thing itself. It's an interesting insight into each of the characters, treating them with respect, showing their depth and contradictions. It made me stop and think, and for that, I thank you.

Author's Response: Thank you very, very much. I have a certain issue with how "true stories" are usually portrayed - - there's a certain sameness about them that spurned me to write this. And the Atlantis team, in particular, is so *surprisingly* heroic that it's almost easier to make them simple pulp heroes.
Reviewer: mari4212 (Anonymous)
16 Jan 2006 12:57 pm
Ow. That is beautiful, and painful, and scarily true. Oh wow.

Author's Response: Thank you! Glad you liked it.
Reviewer: Michael (Anonymous)
16 Jan 2006 9:43 am
This was an amazing piece. I loved that nobody really survived Atlantis the same way. I particulalry like how you wrote Ford, because if he ever returns to earth it will be like this. Fantastic

Author's Response: Thank you! For some reason, Ford's pieces was my favorite one to write.
Reviewer: Doctor Science (Anonymous)
16 Jan 2006 7:32 am
It doesn't make me sad, it makes me laugh (bitterly, ironically) at the perfectly realistic bitter irony. Yes, this *is* how these things happen. But there will also be other historians (including competant ones), other books, other re-workings -- even if this writer's simplifications make him the most popular. I continue to fangirl you insanely.

Author's Response: Oh yes, there would definitely be other, more qualified writers to tackle the story - - this writer's book doesn't make him the be-all, end-all, thankfully. Glad you liked it!
You must login (register) to review.