RSS
Reviews For Moka

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: poisonshock85@yahoo.com (Anonymous)
20 Feb 2006 11:47 pm
gulp. oh my god. i just... oh god. [clears throat and shakes herself] that was just... i don't know how u managed to make the first parts equally hilarious and creepy, well, at least until we find out what has been done to poor woobie rodney, where it is just plain creepy and aching. oh god, i'm totally incoherent here. at the end of the fic, i just stared at my screen stupidly. so brave my woobie, though i think that he's handling the whole thing too... easily i guess. after what he went through, which u described very very well, esp the parts with john, i don't understand how he can be so ok now. really. and it's just creepy. and *coffee* u made coffee creepy everyone drinking it, where they got it from a planet where other people and john were *drinking* rodney's blood. [shivers] true brilliance i tell u. and i had made this word doc with all the lines that made me laugh, grin or just plain freak out. ok here it goes: "The Night People were doing something appalling to him. John was trying in vain to taste maple, vanilla or hazelnut. Not very Rodney-like, John thought. He really wanted that coffee. Elizabeth looked pale. John felt pale. Night People were keeping a careful distance, but their voices sounded sympathetic to John. He could smell coffee, and wondered if Rodney would ask for any. But Rodney just closed his eyes and said, "Please don't touch me, Major." Rodney's determined smile got thin-lipped but ultimately held. No, Major, there are no midgets in the woods. "Watch out for the ones with teeth," John told him seriously. revealing a Wraith-white complexion. John could still hear him, now that he'd remembered, shouting for John save him. Rodney had been so frightened, convinced he was going to die. What the hell had been the matter with John? He must have been out of his mind, to watch Rodney methodically blooded and not done everything in his power to stop it." and i had really liked this line, thought it was cute and made me grin:"John was trying in vain to taste maple, vanilla or hazelnut. " and then the last line just left me... i don't know, the uncomfortable cousin of the word "uncomfortable", if that makes sense. truly, wow. want to rec it so high, if only i had a rec page. i am truly awed here.

Author's Response: I'm still grinning at your ... *enthusiastic* response. As before, thanks for taking the time to let me know what you thought!
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: shinra_lackey (Anonymous)
15 Feb 2006 9:36 pm
Hi, I got recommended to read your story from svmadelyn over in lj. I just wante dto tell you how fantastic I found it. I love John and Rodney's interaction and how desperate yet forgiving Rodney sounded at the end when John couldn't stop himself from participating. Your characterization of Rodney was great too, when he was so happy over the coffee. Great piece and thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: Thank you! So glad you enjoyed!
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: mouse (Anonymous)
08 Feb 2006 12:34 am
Wow. My mate does that, the 'this coffee is from X country mixed with beans from Y country, with a smoky bite and a smooth finish' thing. Nicely done. The whole thing is nice, really. I like the tone, and the Night People are a nice break from the 'colonial natives' that are so much of the show. And the style is brillant. :)

Author's Response: Ah -- I don't have that finely-developed a taste for cupping coffee, myself, but it was fun to write about.
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Madelyn (Anonymous)
05 Feb 2006 9:14 am
This was an amazing read. The *kiss*. *whimpers* I was expecting something like that, but the way you did it was beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you!
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: daemonluna (Anonymous)
29 Jan 2006 6:31 pm
I thoroughly enjoyed this--long and plotty, full of great detail (I'm definitely craving a really good cup of coffee right about now), and a fantastic, non-sappy emotional catharsis between John and Rodney. I'm reccing it on my livejournal, hope that's okay!

Author's Response: If it influences more coffee drinking, then of course I'm pleased. Thank you for the rec!
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Mistress Kat (Signed)
28 Jan 2006 7:35 pm
that was gorgeous. Excellent plot, strong characterisation (loved your Zelenka), truly unique and clean writing style. Fantastic.

Author's Response: Thanks!
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: CrayonEater (Anonymous)
25 Jan 2006 5:56 am
I am still having trouble looking at people's necks a WEEK later, esp. since I wear grape lip gloss o_O. You are awesome at the lovely mindfuck. And I want coffee.

Author's Response: I'm not reccomending coffee with the grape lip gloss, though...
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Linda (Anonymous)
22 Jan 2006 3:52 am
Wow, that was incredible! So funny at the beginning, becoming increasinly creepy and truly horrific at the end. Just wonderful

Author's Response: Really glad it worked for you--I've quite a fondness for slowly-building horror.
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Grand_Sophy (Anonymous)
21 Jan 2006 9:09 am
An excellent story, very enjoyable. Thanks!

Author's Response: You're welcome!
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Dru (Anonymous)
21 Jan 2006 2:29 am
Holy Christ, I bow down before your sense of narrative pacing. First, so fabulously disquieting, moving into ghoulish, and then it hits you like a punch in the stomach. Rodney calmly asking if John had nicked the artery and the kiss just killed me dead.

Author's Response: I just adore that about Rodney -- the way he can be so quiet in extremis
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Joyce (Anonymous)
21 Jan 2006 12:41 am
Wow. This was creepy and chilling. I loved it. More, please?

Author's Response: Hope so. Thx!
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: moonlash (Anonymous)
20 Jan 2006 11:01 pm
Oh, WOW. Love this story. Very intense, great structure with the flashbacks, and I have a soft spot in my heart for Guilty!John. And of COURSE Rodney would be a coffee martyr! :) Remarkable work - thank you for writing this.

Author's Response: I imagine Rodney holding a silver thermos, diner mug in the other hand, a halo of glistening coffee beans around his head...
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Bluecoral (Anonymous)
20 Jan 2006 3:34 am
Beautiful development of the story. You had us guessing for a long time. I'm glad the Night People didn't have insects nimbling or laying eggs in Rodney! Though I feel a little strange saying this, the whole blood part of the story was incredibly hot.

Author's Response: Right, no more insects, The show has already graced us with enough of those.
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Gill (Anonymous)
20 Jan 2006 3:17 am
Holy shit. Wow. Also? Ouch. But mostly wow. Wow, and omg amazing, and so many other things I'd love to say but I'm in shock right now from how incredibly well this story was carried out. I'd say more, but, again, brain is stuck on "wow".

Author's Response: Thanks so much -- glad you enjoyed
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: out_there (Anonymous)
20 Jan 2006 1:40 am
Oh, wow. I really don't have the words to express how much this story horrified and thrilled me. The slow reveal of that night was wonderful. I was completely absorbed by the narrative, so when the gruesome surprises came, they really had a strong effect. I love your John, your Rodney, your Zelenka. I love the way that we get to see Elizabeth, Teyla and Ford, and the way that the Night People are both an interesting, primal peoples and also creepy as all hell. It's sweet and scary and utterly fantastic. (I got here through Seperis rec on LJ, and she was so right.)

Author's Response: Really, really glad you enjoyed. The Atlantis universe is so gothic, it seemed as though horror ought to work.
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Syb (Anonymous)
20 Jan 2006 12:21 am
Oh man, this was amazing, essential like coffee, like blood. Thanks!

Author's Response: Ah, thank you. I completely agree with your essentials.
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Starfish (Anonymous)
19 Jan 2006 6:33 pm
Martha, my dear, you really do know how to bring the creepy! It feels odd to say I enjoyed this one; Rodney and John's pain kind of overshadowed that. But it was beautifully done, and a hell of a story. I won't forget it soon.

Author's Response: I'm laughing -- yes, that's my goal! To scar people with my fic. Success is mine!
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Icy Flame (Signed)
19 Jan 2006 5:19 pm
Woah. I'm amazed, I could see this happening. Great story, wonderful ending. You did an amazing job with the characters. The plot flowed well. Awesome idea, I love 'bringing coffee to Atlantis' stories, and this one was the best I've found so far. The ritual of the Night People was believable, and so were the reactions of those on Atlantis. I found this to be a very enjoyable read, thanks for sharing with us. *grins* *waves*

Author's Response: Hee. Grinning & waving back. Thanks!
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Libby (Anonymous)
19 Jan 2006 4:31 pm
That was so wonderful. I'm seriously crying right now. What a great story!!!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you!
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Sandy (Signed)
19 Jan 2006 3:48 pm
Really excellent story with great McKay characterization. You showed his, uh, *determination* (*g*) without making him too over-the-top. I also liked the way you handled John's reawakening memories. I look forward to reading more from you.

Author's Response: Oh, really glad McKay worked for you! Such a lovely man, and so tough to capture.
Part 1 of 1