RSS
Reviews For Moka

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: mouse (Anonymous)
07 Feb 2006 6:34 pm
Wow. My mate does that, the 'this coffee is from X country mixed with beans from Y country, with a smoky bite and a smooth finish' thing. Nicely done. The whole thing is nice, really. I like the tone, and the Night People are a nice break from the 'colonial natives' that are so much of the show. And the style is brillant. :)

Author's Response: Ah -- I don't have that finely-developed a taste for cupping coffee, myself, but it was fun to write about.
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Madelyn (Anonymous)
05 Feb 2006 3:14 am
This was an amazing read. The *kiss*. *whimpers* I was expecting something like that, but the way you did it was beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you!
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: daemonluna (Anonymous)
29 Jan 2006 12:31 pm
I thoroughly enjoyed this--long and plotty, full of great detail (I'm definitely craving a really good cup of coffee right about now), and a fantastic, non-sappy emotional catharsis between John and Rodney. I'm reccing it on my livejournal, hope that's okay!

Author's Response: If it influences more coffee drinking, then of course I'm pleased. Thank you for the rec!
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Mistress Kat (Signed)
28 Jan 2006 1:35 pm
that was gorgeous. Excellent plot, strong characterisation (loved your Zelenka), truly unique and clean writing style. Fantastic.

Author's Response: Thanks!
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: CrayonEater (Anonymous)
24 Jan 2006 11:56 pm
I am still having trouble looking at people's necks a WEEK later, esp. since I wear grape lip gloss o_O. You are awesome at the lovely mindfuck. And I want coffee.

Author's Response: I'm not reccomending coffee with the grape lip gloss, though...
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Linda (Anonymous)
21 Jan 2006 9:52 pm
Wow, that was incredible! So funny at the beginning, becoming increasinly creepy and truly horrific at the end. Just wonderful

Author's Response: Really glad it worked for you--I've quite a fondness for slowly-building horror.
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Grand_Sophy (Anonymous)
21 Jan 2006 3:09 am
An excellent story, very enjoyable. Thanks!

Author's Response: You're welcome!
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Dru (Anonymous)
20 Jan 2006 8:29 pm
Holy Christ, I bow down before your sense of narrative pacing. First, so fabulously disquieting, moving into ghoulish, and then it hits you like a punch in the stomach. Rodney calmly asking if John had nicked the artery and the kiss just killed me dead.

Author's Response: I just adore that about Rodney -- the way he can be so quiet in extremis
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Joyce (Anonymous)
20 Jan 2006 6:41 pm
Wow. This was creepy and chilling. I loved it. More, please?

Author's Response: Hope so. Thx!
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: moonlash (Anonymous)
20 Jan 2006 5:01 pm
Oh, WOW. Love this story. Very intense, great structure with the flashbacks, and I have a soft spot in my heart for Guilty!John. And of COURSE Rodney would be a coffee martyr! :) Remarkable work - thank you for writing this.

Author's Response: I imagine Rodney holding a silver thermos, diner mug in the other hand, a halo of glistening coffee beans around his head...
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Bluecoral (Anonymous)
19 Jan 2006 9:34 pm
Beautiful development of the story. You had us guessing for a long time. I'm glad the Night People didn't have insects nimbling or laying eggs in Rodney! Though I feel a little strange saying this, the whole blood part of the story was incredibly hot.

Author's Response: Right, no more insects, The show has already graced us with enough of those.
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Gill (Anonymous)
19 Jan 2006 9:17 pm
Holy shit. Wow. Also? Ouch. But mostly wow. Wow, and omg amazing, and so many other things I'd love to say but I'm in shock right now from how incredibly well this story was carried out. I'd say more, but, again, brain is stuck on "wow".

Author's Response: Thanks so much -- glad you enjoyed
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: out_there (Anonymous)
19 Jan 2006 7:40 pm
Oh, wow. I really don't have the words to express how much this story horrified and thrilled me. The slow reveal of that night was wonderful. I was completely absorbed by the narrative, so when the gruesome surprises came, they really had a strong effect. I love your John, your Rodney, your Zelenka. I love the way that we get to see Elizabeth, Teyla and Ford, and the way that the Night People are both an interesting, primal peoples and also creepy as all hell. It's sweet and scary and utterly fantastic. (I got here through Seperis rec on LJ, and she was so right.)

Author's Response: Really, really glad you enjoyed. The Atlantis universe is so gothic, it seemed as though horror ought to work.
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Syb (Anonymous)
19 Jan 2006 6:21 pm
Oh man, this was amazing, essential like coffee, like blood. Thanks!

Author's Response: Ah, thank you. I completely agree with your essentials.
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Starfish (Anonymous)
19 Jan 2006 12:33 pm
Martha, my dear, you really do know how to bring the creepy! It feels odd to say I enjoyed this one; Rodney and John's pain kind of overshadowed that. But it was beautifully done, and a hell of a story. I won't forget it soon.

Author's Response: I'm laughing -- yes, that's my goal! To scar people with my fic. Success is mine!
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Icy Flame (Signed)
19 Jan 2006 11:19 am
Woah. I'm amazed, I could see this happening. Great story, wonderful ending. You did an amazing job with the characters. The plot flowed well. Awesome idea, I love 'bringing coffee to Atlantis' stories, and this one was the best I've found so far. The ritual of the Night People was believable, and so were the reactions of those on Atlantis. I found this to be a very enjoyable read, thanks for sharing with us. *grins* *waves*

Author's Response: Hee. Grinning & waving back. Thanks!
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Libby (Anonymous)
19 Jan 2006 10:31 am
That was so wonderful. I'm seriously crying right now. What a great story!!!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you!
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Sandy (Signed)
19 Jan 2006 9:48 am
Really excellent story with great McKay characterization. You showed his, uh, *determination* (*g*) without making him too over-the-top. I also liked the way you handled John's reawakening memories. I look forward to reading more from you.

Author's Response: Oh, really glad McKay worked for you! Such a lovely man, and so tough to capture.
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Muccamukk (Anonymous)
19 Jan 2006 8:10 am
Even seeing that you'd writen this totally made my day. I'm a huge fan of your Sentinel work (especially "Snake Oil" and "Lovely") and have made everyone I know that's remotely connected with either fandom read them. I had no idea you were still writing and it makes me very happy. I always feel a little traumatised after reading (or rereading, I'm on my third run through of this one) your stories, because you always manage to pull me right into the characters hearts, right before you stomps on them. I love the way you can set up a scene or a feeling with just a few words. I also love reading something by someone who demonstrates a firm grasp of anthropology, physics, biochemistry and medicine. You have anthropologists and ethnobotanists who actually act like they studied their professions. Please write more of anything in any fandom very soon. Also: YAY!

Author's Response: So glad you liked this! And of course, nothing makes me happier than hearing from a TS fan. Hee. First loves are always the strongest. Thanks very much
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Katya B (Anonymous)
19 Jan 2006 7:13 am
Oh, Martha, how lovely to see you writing in SGA! The feel of this piece is so well done -- spooky and mysterious, creepily ominous; this is a story that lingers, and not one that should be read late at night when in the house alone. Beautiful job with the characterization all round as well. It's wonderful to see you in this fandom. I look forward to reading more of your terrific work! (Drat -- suppose this means I really will have to update the long-neglected recs page...)

Author's Response: Yes, I'm a lemming, it's true, but thank you so for the warm, warm welcome.
Part 1 of 1
You must login (register) to review.