RSS
Reviews For Moka

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Katya B (Anonymous)
19 Jan 2006 7:12 am
Oh, Martha, how lovely to see you writing in SGA! The feel of this piece is so well done -- spooky and mysterious, creepily ominous; this is a story that lingers, and not one that should be read late at night when in the house alone. Beautiful job with the characterization all round as well. It's wonderful to see you in this fandom. I look forward to reading more of your terrific work! (Drat -- suppose this means I really will have to update the long-neglected recs page...)

Author's Response: Thanks so, so much for the warm welcome! Always a little scary to post in a new fandom.
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: firesprite (Anonymous)
19 Jan 2006 6:05 am
Oh my GOD. I am dead with this.

Author's Response: Heh. Um...good?
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Emmuzka (Anonymous)
19 Jan 2006 5:25 am
Great story: Good timing with the scenes, attack without the "cheap plot device" non-con.. I expecially liked the diner dream sequence, dreams are really hard to make work, but you did.

Author's Response: Thanks!
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: bluebell (Anonymous)
19 Jan 2006 3:54 am
Seriously wicked story! I was mesmerized from start to finish - thank you.

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed!
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Amalthia (Anonymous)
19 Jan 2006 1:45 am
I loved your story thanks for sharing. John's guilt and slowly returning memories was done perfectly. :)

Author's Response: Thanks!
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Ellex (Signed)
18 Jan 2006 11:34 pm
Mesmerizing. I love the fractured timeline of the story, the descriptions of the Night People, the slow and subtle explication of exactly what happened to Rodney. I'm so pleased to see you back in fandom - and in Atlantis fandom!

Author's Response: Oh, good -- so glad the backward story-telling worked for you
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: iibnf@livejournal.com (Anonymous)
18 Jan 2006 11:06 pm
Creepy and cool and really unique. Great story! Are you the same Martha who wrote Snake Oil?

Author's Response: Same one, I'm afraid.
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: logovo (Anonymous)
18 Jan 2006 8:33 pm
Excellent story, idea, exection, everything. I wanted to follow it longer because I'm greedy, but it does feel like it's at the right ending. I just loved this idea. How John slowly remembers? Wow. Great moment at the first glimpse of how he participated in the ritual. I was also so curious to know what had happened to Rodney from that opening scene.

Author's Response: Thanks!
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Dee (Anonymous)
18 Jan 2006 8:08 pm
This was simply marvellous. Spot-on characterization, with a compelling plot. Loved the use of all the side characters, and John and Rodney's relationship, in all its complicated glory. The affection, the aggravation, and the push and pull dynamic were all used to great effect. I'm sooo pleased to see that you're on the mend, and have written SG:A fic. I always loved your Sentinel fic, so this is just doubly good. Because I love Rodney and John so very much. Thanks so much for sharing. :)

Author's Response: Nothing warms my heart more than Sentinel fen -- thank you! (and yeah, obviously besotted with John and Rodney these days, too)
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
18 Jan 2006 7:56 pm
Oh, this was *good*. I thought you got all the characters spot on and the idea was very well done too. I liked the murkiness regarding the Night People, how it was difficult to hate them for what they did because they weren't doing it from a malicious stand point. I liked the way we were in the dark until John remembered snatches of images. I loved his struggles as he remembered more about what he had done to Rodney, how he refused to let it go no matter how many times he was reminded of the drug, even ignoring Rodney's pleas to let it go. Radek was great, first lookin out for Rodney and then giving John the means to be in the same place as Rodney. He's sneaky *g*. And I loved the final scenes, John remembering more even as Rodney stubbornly refused to let him go. The last scene was particularly touching with John's soft kiss and Rodney's little laugh before he started to cry. Great story. Laura.

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much for the detailed & generous review! Very glad you enjoyed this.
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Krysalys (Signed)
18 Jan 2006 7:55 pm
Jesus humping Christ on a stick, that was fucking brilliant. Only a man in love vould forgive what had happened so damned quickly. I'd love to see an epilogue. Or hell, another story that happens soon after this one? :) Please? ----}-@ Krys

Author's Response: No immediate plans to continue this, but flattered you'd want to see more.
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: anatolia1 (Anonymous)
18 Jan 2006 7:38 pm
Awesome, awesome story. I greatly enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed!
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: AnonyMouse (Anonymous)
18 Jan 2006 7:18 pm
Wow. Wow. What an amazingly awesome story. I'm reduced to small words. I ... need to go read this again.

Author's Response: Thanks!
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Pranksta (Signed)
18 Jan 2006 6:23 pm
Holy jeeeez! What a disturbing idea! That ending was...I don't know really! I'm a bit shaken here, you're goooooood!

Author's Response: Heh. Thank you!
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: Teaphile (Anonymous)
18 Jan 2006 2:09 pm
Wow, what a great premise. You executed it beautifully, too.

Author's Response: Thanks!
Part 1 of 1
Reviewer: kbk (Signed)
18 Jan 2006 1:32 pm
Oh. My. This is seriously, seriously good. Rodney, willing to overlook potential-Wraith-worship in pursuit of coffee, and then becoming the "willing" victim... ow. In that first little scene, John's indifference shows, and that just seems wrong, and then you realise it's because of the drugs, and you find out what happened at the same time he does, through his fractured memories. And Zelenka's coveted moka pot! and his sneaky little plan to get the pair of them talking again, and. *sigh* I like. A lot.

Author's Response: Thank you!
Part 1 of 1
You must login (register) to review.