RSS
Reviews For Points of Origin

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Ulfhedinn (Anonymous)
11 Feb 2010 7:24 am
This was lovely. A true masterpiece. Left me wanting for nothing more. Thank you foor sharing, Luv.

Author's Response: Oh what a lovely surprise to get a comment on an old fic! It's been so long since I wrote this that I actually had to go and re-read it again myself! Thank you so much for leaving feedback. This fic remains an intensely personal one to me, and I'm delighted to hear that it resonated with the readers. Thank you!
Chapter 2. Blind Spot
Reviewer: Joe (Signed)
09 Nov 2008 4:22 pm
So good! I loved this. The way you incorporated those important, personality shaping events was pure genius. The way you moved from loneliness, to infatuation, betrayal and the beginning of real friendship was remarkably well done. Thank you very much for sharing this! :)

Author's Response: Oh thank you so much for such a lovely comment. This is a story that was intensely personal for me to write so I'm very glad it's bringing enjoyment to others too.
Chapter 6. Moments of True Present
Reviewer: Exangeline (Signed)
25 May 2007 1:45 am
"One man's magic is another man's toaster." That makes me laugh, but the rest of it makes me feel like crying out of the awesomeness of it all. A lovely, lovely end. I adore how Rodney describes each member of the team and facility and his true perspective of all and, finally, how Carson is seen in his eyes. The best part about the finale to this is that they didn't suddenly fall in love like other stories. There is something there, but it has to develop. I respect that and I love this story. You are so talented with your writing.

Author's Response: I have no words for how amazing it has been to receive such detailed feedback for an old story. I'm truly touched and flattered that you took the time and effort to do this. The fic was a true labour of love for me, and in many ways a very personal story to write. It was also very much a hybrid-story, mostly a character study, with only mild hints of mcbeck, so I thought it might be fall between audiences and be difficult to sell. I'm a firm believer in letting things develop slowly which is why I felt it necessary to end the story at the beginning of a new story, one that can continue in the reader's mind. Again, thank you so, so much for the comments, you have no idea how happy they made me!
Chapter 6. Moments of True Present
Reviewer: Exangeline (Signed)
25 May 2007 1:38 am
And now Carson comes into it! I love the warmth of his character and their immediate chemistry. It was a very touching thing he did, show Rodney the papers, as he knew it was something he wanted more than anything. You are truely a talented writer.

Author's Response: omg, stop with the flattery! This chapter was an absolute joy to write so i'm glad it comes through in the text.
Chapter 5. Warmth Is a State of Mind
Reviewer: Exangeline (Signed)
25 May 2007 1:35 am
"By the time Rodney is 34, he has learned that the universe is fucking huge and that he doesn't know half of the things he says he does. He keeps saying them anyway." Love it. Love it. Love it. The ulterior reason for his liking of Sam was done well and once again, with the conclusion of this chapter, I am feeling sorry for Rodney McKay. Great work.

Author's Response: I'm so happy people liked my take on why Rodney was so keen on Sam, I always saw it that way rather than straightforwardly romantic (though that was a part of it). Thank you again!
Chapter 4. Outside
Reviewer: Exangeline (Signed)
25 May 2007 1:26 am
Ooh! Beautiful transition. And I was just starting to like Michael. Oh well, he got what he deserved. Snaps for Rodney, moving on like that. I think that poor guy needs a hug. The "It's time to move on" is perfectly placed and once again delivers the finale of a chapter well-written. This backstory is slowly becoming one of my favorites.

Author's Response: *blushes* Your feedback is fast becoming one of *my* favourites :) This was indeed very much a transition chapter, and the hardest to write as well because I wasn't sure until quite late into it whether Michale would turn out to be a bad guy or not.
Chapter 3. Michael
Reviewer: Exangeline (Signed)
25 May 2007 1:20 am
Again, an absolutely stunning, depressing chapter of this story. I love the backstories that people create for Rodney McKay, this one in particular is very creative and fits quite well. Again, I love the beginning and end line, which sums up the chapter so beautifully. I can't wait to see what happens from here or what else you come up with, so see you next chapter... ^^

Author's Response: Again, thank you. This backstory has more or less become my personal canon for the character so I'm glad others liked it too.
Chapter 2. Blind Spot
Reviewer: Exangeline (Signed)
25 May 2007 1:16 am
This is so... sad. I can't believe how harsh his mother was towards him. Poor Rodney, and poor Billy. This is truely touching, especially the first and last lines. Both begin and end the tale with drama and suspence looming between the lines. I love.

Author's Response: So sorry I'm late in replying to your wonderful reviews. I couldn't believe someone took time to leave feedback to every single chapter, how utterly wonderfull, thank you! I'm squeeful that you liked the first and last lines, I was aiming for high impact with them so yay!
Chapter 1. Just a Cat
Reviewer: ikswo (Anonymous)
03 Feb 2006 3:15 pm
so... good! must it really stop there? must it? *begs*

Author's Response: erm... yes, it really *must* The story is done but I'm very pleased that you liked it so much. Thank you for reading and reviewing!
Chapter 6. Moments of True Present
Reviewer: TLI (Anonymous)
03 Feb 2006 3:23 am
I started out feeling bad on Rodney's behalf, at least until I got to the last chapter. Then I couldn't stop smiling. Excellent pieces of writing, thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: angst is good. smiling is very good. feedback as lovely as this is fantastic! Thanks so much for commenting, I'm happy you liked to story.
Chapter 6. Moments of True Present
Reviewer: Krysalys (Signed)
02 Feb 2006 11:49 pm
This was an absolutely perfect series. Exquisitely written, and so full of life and color. You have my adoration. ----}-@ Krys

Author's Response: *blushes* oh thank you so much for your wonderful feedback, I'm gald you enjoyed reading it as much as I enjoeyd writing it :-)
Chapter 6. Moments of True Present
Reviewer: dwamimok (Anonymous)
02 Feb 2006 2:42 pm
Lovely. Shows that fanfic doesn't have to be PWP to be good. Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks for commenting. I'm glad you liked. I have a feeling though that I need to write some PWP after all this angst...
Chapter 6. Moments of True Present
Reviewer: Cpt Untouchable (Signed)
02 Feb 2006 2:38 pm
This was so beautiful, from beginning to end. Brilliant character study, Kat.

Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely feedback.
Chapter 6. Moments of True Present
Reviewer: Silverthreads (Anonymous)
02 Feb 2006 1:52 pm
Interesting and thought provoking.

Author's Response: Thank you very much!
Chapter 6. Moments of True Present
Reviewer: Silverthreads (Anonymous)
31 Jan 2006 8:33 pm
Very nice.

Author's Response: Thanks!
Chapter 5. Warmth Is a State of Mind
Reviewer: Krysalys (Signed)
31 Jan 2006 2:33 pm
Awwwww... Thank heavens Carson was able to pull that one off, 'cause I dunno if we could've handled one more crushing personal disappointment for our beloved Rodney. Hmmm? ----}-@ Krys

Author's Response: Thanks, glad you approve. This chapter is by far the 'happiest' one of the lot. While not a huge event in the way the others were, this is still something that would have been a significant point in Rodney's life.
Chapter 5. Warmth Is a State of Mind
Reviewer: Krysalys (Signed)
29 Jan 2006 2:05 pm
Ach. No one really understood Rodney before Atlantis, dd they? Or at least they didn't bother to get to know him. You're really making my heart hurt more for our beloved genius. Thanks! ----}-@ Krys

Author's Response: I don't think so, it was only with Atlantis expedition that he finds his place. Thanks for commenting again, it's really nice to hear from people following the story.
Chapter 4. Outside
Reviewer: Kamelion (Signed)
28 Jan 2006 7:35 pm
I love your writing style. Added this to my list, waiting for more!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! *blushes* I should be updating later today so stick around.
Chapter 3. Michael
Reviewer: Cpt Untouchable (Signed)
27 Jan 2006 5:12 pm
Wow. Ow. Can I smash Michael's nose? I didn't really need to feel more protective of McKay than I already did, before diving into your story, but, you know. It's fine. I'm sure therapy will help. ;) Looking forward to Beckett's entrance, and the next chapter.

Author's Response: yes you can, I'll even hold him down for you ;-) Slash IS my therapy, cheaper too... Thank you for commenting, glad you liked.
Chapter 3. Michael
Reviewer: Krysalys (Signed)
27 Jan 2006 3:10 pm
Yeow. *huggles Rodney* Knowing that Rodney's brain should be registered as a lethal weapon, that Langley guy (as well as Michael) should feel relief that Rodney didn't blow anything up. ;) Another excellent way of showing why our favorite astrophysicist is so damned prickly. ----}-@ Krys, eagerly awaiting the next chapter

Author's Response: Thanks Krys! I'm very glad to know people are following the story, maeks me all motivated to write...
Chapter 3. Michael
You must login (register) to review.