RSS
Reviews For A Regency SGA Tale

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Krysalys (Signed)
10 Feb 2006 10:53 am
SQUEEEEE!!! *bounces in glee* More more more more more more more moremore! More? Please? ----}-@ Krys
3 - A Life Altered
Reviewer: Silverthreads (Anonymous)
10 Feb 2006 9:29 am
Oddly entertaining. :)
3 - A Life Altered
Reviewer: Doctor Science (Anonymous)
10 Feb 2006 6:23 am
I know I said I was going to overlook anachronisms, but I lied. No bedside clocks in the Regency, only his pocketwatch (because he's rich and a nerd). Rodney as John's secretary is good, I see lots of potential both angsty and comedic.

Author's Response: Really? You would think if they had pocket watches they'd have small clocks but I defer to you since my knowledge of that period is, as previously stated, from reading other regency novels. I've changed it to the pocketwatch. Interactive reading!
3 - A Life Altered
Reviewer: Andrea (Anonymous)
10 Feb 2006 3:30 am
Wonderful story! I used to love this kind of stories (still do every now and then) and you managed to capture the tone of them perfectly . I can just see the whole thing playing out in my mind. Here's hoping for a lot more chapters......

Author's Response: Thank you :) Yes, although I don't read nearly as many regency/historicals as I used to (probably because I'm too busy reading fanfic) I still get the yearning every once in a while.
3 - A Life Altered
Reviewer: Mary (Anonymous)
10 Feb 2006 3:25 am
Oh, Good Lord, this just keeps getting better! Apparently, your fuzzy memories are a perfect match for my fuzzy memories, because you keep hitting all the right notes with the tone of this story - love it! That bit with Rodney dropping the pillowcase full of books? Brought back memories, I swear, of how I used to cover my eyes, while reading!, in shared embarassment during those scenes where someone was making a desperate fool of themselves. Perfect! Oh yeah, you definitely give good cliche.

Author's Response: You do that to? **laugh** We do have the same reading habits.
3 - A Life Altered
Reviewer: lavvyan (Anonymous)
06 Feb 2006 8:02 am
yes, what to do? what now? c'mon, what happens next?
2 - Sheppard broods
Reviewer: Caro (Anonymous)
05 Feb 2006 6:23 am
I'm seriously loving this story, please add more soon!!
2 - Sheppard broods
Reviewer: Jaie (Anonymous)
04 Feb 2006 10:47 pm
I love Harlequin AUs, and this one is definitely intriguing and well-written. I love the new roles that the characters are in...the scene with Ronon and Teyla was very cute. I can't wait to find out about what John has in mind for Rodney and the McKay family. I'm really looking forward to the upcoming chapters. Hope you write more soon!
2 - Sheppard broods
Reviewer: anon (Anonymous)
04 Feb 2006 8:22 pm
I'm liking this a lot. Keep coming up with the good stuff!
2 - Sheppard broods
Reviewer: Icy Flame (Signed)
04 Feb 2006 7:10 pm
Ok I love it. *grins* This is brilliant, love how you have the characters and their "parts". I can't wait to see what you'll do next with this. *smirks* Love Rodney's character. His reaction to John in the first chapter had me squeeing. Poor woobie! Plus Ronon's reaction to Teyla: priceless. *cackles* Patiently (as much as any fan girl can be) awaiting more. *glomps*
2 - Sheppard broods
Reviewer: Mistress Kat (Signed)
04 Feb 2006 6:29 pm
Enjoyed this new chapter as well. And Teyla tormenting Ronon is adorable. Waiting for more.
2 - Sheppard broods
Reviewer: Krysalys (Signed)
04 Feb 2006 4:59 pm
Heh heh heh... WE know what John should do! *VBEG* More? More soon? More soon please? ----}-@ Krys
2 - Sheppard broods
Reviewer: Ellex (Signed)
04 Feb 2006 3:55 pm
I'm enjoying this quite a bit. It's a guilty pleasure, but I enjoy the roles you've given the characters in this. Please continue!
2 - Sheppard broods
Reviewer: Doctor Science (Anonymous)
04 Feb 2006 3:00 pm
I'm overlooking the anachronisms & Americanisms, because I've seen worse in published Regency romances. I am so, so glad that John is kind of vague and hand-wavey about what Teyla is wearing, because (a) I personally am bored by elaborate clothing descriptions, which there are a *lot* of in published romances, and (b) he's still John.
2 - Sheppard broods
Reviewer: Doctor Science (Anonymous)
04 Feb 2006 2:57 pm
Rodney's lack of any arrogance is a bit OOC, to me -- I mean, I would expect one reason Father & Kav hate him to be his inability to suppress how much he despises stupid people.

Author's Response: I agree that Rodney's behavior is very different from real Rodney. I thought about it and tried to imagine him in a situation where he grew up completely under the power of his father who holds him in complete contempt. Given that he's had very limited exposure to people who would value his brilliance and that he's been beaten down both verbally and physically from his childhood I figured that even Rodney could be convinced of his own insignificance. However, trust me. Rodney will get a bit of his arrogance back...eventually :)
1 - Rodney meets John Sheppard
Reviewer: Amalthia (Anonymous)
04 Feb 2006 1:21 pm
I really enjoyed this story. I also kind of grew up reading these types of romances and I'd love to see where you go with this.
1 - Rodney meets John Sheppard
Reviewer: Mary (Anonymous)
04 Feb 2006 1:08 pm
Okay, you are officially my new favorite person. Cliche or not, I'm loving this story. A lot. But the favorite person thing really kicked in when I realized that you are also responsible for Evil Overlord Sheppard, which I adored, and had to go reread and got all excited because you're working on a sequel, and now there's Regency Sheppard (and adorable Cinderella Rodney) and.... well, new favorite person.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! That means a lot, especially because there are so many excellent SGA writers out there. I also bake a mean poundcake. Suck at sport though **laugh**
2 - Sheppard broods
Reviewer: anyanka (Anonymous)
04 Feb 2006 12:29 pm
I don't usually enjoy AUs this far removed from 'reality' but I'm loving this. There's the odd Americanism but nothing jarring. I've got visuals of Sheppard in boots and breeches and I have to say its hot. Love Teyla and Ronon, nicely amusing. Another chapter soon please.

Author's Response: Ah, yes, John Sheppard in regency clothing. And a long billowing cloak. Striding across the English moors **sigh**. Of course, he also looks pretty darn good in army fatigues too :)
2 - Sheppard broods
Reviewer: Felicia. (Anonymous)
03 Feb 2006 5:14 am
More! This is really good - an intriguing tale.
1 - Rodney meets John Sheppard
Reviewer: Mistress Kat (Signed)
03 Feb 2006 4:42 am
woo! regency romance! Very interesting start and even thgouh I don't usually like my Rodney as beaten down as your I have to admit there is something quite... appealing about it, especially because you'll make it all better - after all, this type of stories always have a happy ending... right?

Author's Response: You know Rodney. Give him an inch and he'll take, uh, everything :)
1 - Rodney meets John Sheppard
You must login (register) to review.