RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: iamza (Anonymous)
17 Oct 2008 4:54 pm
Oh, wow, that last section.

I really enjoyed this, particularly how the last few lines turn the whole story on end. Or it did for me, anyway. I mean, yes, I thought John's reaction was a bit strange at the start, but I didn't quite stop to think why.

The choice of split timelines, with the pre- and post-repeal of DADT makes sense to me now as well. Love how everything ties together.
Complete
Reviewer: mik100 (Anonymous)
03 Apr 2008 2:58 am
I adore this story. It's one that I keep coming back too, over and over again. I love the weaving of past and present, and that one story ends right where the other begins.
Complete
Reviewer: Queenbarwench (Signed)
05 Mar 2008 6:31 pm
I love this story! Particularly the way you wove together the 'now' and the backstory, with that amazing gut punch right at the end. Reading the whole thing a second time was even better. Also, good characterisation and realistic responses from all characters.
Complete
Reviewer: Allyndra (Signed)
09 Feb 2007 3:56 pm
Wow ... wow. This is one of the most beautiful, realistic, hopeful slash stories I've read in any fandom. The flashbacks, the progression, the violence and acceptance - it's just so good. And then the last little flashback came up and I almost cried. Gorgeous and wonderful and other adjectives that mean amazing. Thank you for sharing!
Complete
Reviewer: lena (Anonymous)
01 Oct 2006 10:04 pm
oh my dear God. This story was just wonderful. There were so many one liners in there (John thought he might just sit down carefully and have an aneurism.) that had me almost in the floor I was laughing so hard. Great job!
Complete
Reviewer: Ansku (Signed)
11 Aug 2006 5:23 pm
Beautiful :) I love it.
Complete
Reviewer: GeekLove (Anonymous)
01 May 2006 2:55 am
Okay, I loved it, personally, but I need clarification. The italics is all flashbacks leading up to the beginning of the regular type, right? Cause that part had me slightly confused.
Complete
Reviewer: FallenPride (Signed)
09 Apr 2006 9:26 pm
This is such a wonderful story, I loved it. Especially the way you set it up, starting in the middle and working your way to the end of the story while, at the same time, working from the beginning to the middle. I think my favourite line was "With his 'brave little toaster' face firmly in place, John accepted" I laughed, I couldn't help it. Keep up the wonderful work!
Complete
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
20 Feb 2006 1:23 pm
Wonderful! :-) I loved how the story interwove the past with the present and the counterpoint between historical and current events.
Complete
Reviewer: fanficaddict (Anonymous)
08 Feb 2006 6:13 pm
wow, that was incredible! It was neat the way most of the sex was in the flashbacks :D Loved it!
Complete
Reviewer: Lee Michelle (Anonymous)
08 Feb 2006 6:55 am
Damm this is good, I got about half way through and got called into work, and it was on my mind all afternoon. I couldnt wait to get home and finish it. Just brilliant, thank you for sharing.
Complete
Reviewer: JiM (Anonymous)
08 Feb 2006 12:49 am
I loved this. The shifting time sense gave it a dreamy feel that was nicely balanced by the immediacy of the situation and their relationship after the announcement. Thanks for sharing this one!
Complete
Reviewer: anonymouse (Anonymous)
08 Feb 2006 12:34 am
That was excellent! I love the style you chose in telling the story. When I got to the end, I had to go back and re-read the "current" storyline and saw how much more it meant given your last flashback before the memo. The Daedalus had great timing. You have John and Rodney sounding so true to character. You also write very hot sex scenes, not just sex, but with emotional resonance. Thanks for sharing this.
Complete
Reviewer: Anonymous one (Anonymous)
07 Feb 2006 11:34 pm
Very well done; the narrative is beautifully structured, and the emotional impact is subtle but very powerful.
Complete
Reviewer: CrayonEater (Anonymous)
07 Feb 2006 7:29 pm
This wasn't positive reinforcement," Rodney snapped before the door closed in his face. Best. Line. Ever. also, cyclical! YAY! I LOVED this. To the point of CAPS. *hugs*
Complete
Reviewer: annajo (Anonymous)
07 Feb 2006 7:16 pm
WOW! Excellent job on this. I loved it...the story, the style (GREAT STYLE) and the characters voices...been thinking about this story all day. Saving this one to the hard drive. Really really good...Thanks!
Complete
Reviewer: addendum from Leslie (Anonymous)
07 Feb 2006 6:26 pm
I was just lying in bed this morning pondering this story (after having stayed up until 2:00 a.m. to finish it and I realized it had a very sixth sense narrative structure about it. Nice twist and we never really know what is real and what is not! I also agree about the eliding and competent John! -

Author's Response: I just felt the need to make sure you knew that it was all real. *grin* It was a linear flash back that was intersperced within the main story. So it all happened, and it all happened before the first line of the story. I'm glad you liked it though!
Complete
Reviewer: Krysalys (Signed)
07 Feb 2006 6:15 pm
Wow. That was so incredibly hot, as well as maddening. And I bet a pretty accurate way of looking at a possible future. *heavy sigh* If only the American military would grow themselves some intelligence in regards to sex. *shakes head* ----}-@ Krys
Complete
Reviewer: Wordwitch (Anonymous)
07 Feb 2006 2:21 pm
Nice eliding over what *the news* actually was, implying without stating. Very nice giving them time to work through all the psychological steps and implications. I adore competent!John, watching for the pushback he knows has to happen; but not knowing everything on account of "subtlety". Well-written, well-paced, and well-characterized; thank you very much.
Complete
Reviewer: kamelion (Anonymous)
07 Feb 2006 11:30 am
That was so damned heartwrenching! Crap!
Complete
You must login (register) to review.