RSS
Reviews For Incision

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: sabinelagrande (Signed)
16 Dec 2008 2:20 am
"Scientists were men and women who couldn't stand down, couldn't turn away, and couldn't set aside even the worst of ideas; they were men and women who had learned how to turn obsession into a cold virtue."

Oh man, amen to that.

I adore this story, squick and all.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: TuffGirl (Signed)
29 Jun 2006 9:32 pm
This is incredibly powerful, and amazingly well written. You write the characters so well, I can see this happening without any great suspension of disbelief. My wife is an SGA junkie, and I had been resisting reading fic because I don't really need a new fandom, but I have to say I'm glad I stumbled upon yours. This was breathtaking. I would love to see this continued. In the meantime, I'm going to read the rest of your fic. =)
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Ellex (Signed)
10 Feb 2006 1:28 am
This was a truly remarkable story. I felt almost as broken as poor Rodney by the time I was about halfway through. I have to congratulate you on bringing me so close to understanding two POV's that are so alien to my own. Also, thank you so much for your kind words regarding my own story.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: lillyjk (Anonymous)
09 Feb 2006 11:15 pm
I found your take on this quite fascinating. You took magnus minor's Dark!John a step further, and I quite enjoyed the result. John's need to hurt and then comfort, Rodney's need for comfort that he can only allow in response to the hurt. Beautiful in a most disturbing way. Hope to see more in this vein from you.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
09 Feb 2006 6:09 pm
Excellent fic. On the shallow side, it's got that incredible hotness, and on the deep side is the emotional stuff. It was very complex. It would have been very easy to hate John for what he was putting Rodney through, especially when Rodney completely lost it in the face of having to watch the recording, but it was Rodney's choice and he kept allowing it to happen. Add to that the fact that John was also very tender and gentle with Rodney, and that Rodney had the secret craving for that side of things. It works for them and allows them to function normally (well, normal for them anyway) in everyday life. A great exploration of a complex situation. Another reviewer was imagining a sequel where someone found out about this and tried to 'help'. I'd like to add my voice to that request :). Laura.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: forlornhope1865 (Anonymous)
09 Feb 2006 12:55 pm
Whew! This story is pretty powerful stuff. The last few paragraphs reveal a lot about Rodney and his needs, as the rest of the story reveals about John. However, what I'd really like is to see a sequel in which some of the other characters find out what's going on and intervene (or try to).
Chapter 1
Reviewer: ajay (Anonymous)
09 Feb 2006 12:22 pm
Don't have words......So hot. Thank you Ajay
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Alanna Smithee (Anonymous)
09 Feb 2006 9:00 am
I've read Magus Minor's story and the sequels and I love them all. This one is a little bit like watching a train wreck. Utterly fascinating.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Bluecoral (Anonymous)
09 Feb 2006 8:44 am
Your story is very well written, very imaginative, and very powerful. But, very troubling too. Why is Rodney continuing to go along even at the end - is it for the love/comfortable that John gives him afterwards?

Author's Response: Thank you for commenting, Bluecoral, and I'm really glad you asked that question. I think that for me, the hardest part about writing this was that I find it difficult to imagine Rodney finding him in this situation at all. If we can get passed that, it certainly is valid to wonder why in hell he stays. This owes more to psyche texts than it does to BDSM info - it's not a romance, though of course it is fine if other people prefer to read it that way. What we have here is a version of Rodney who gets in over his head and whose own ego and self-image issues prevent him from seeing himself as a victim or even as a person who made a mistake. The combination of physical force/violence with love/comfort is very confusing both mentally and emotionally. This is almost always evident to some degree in cases of real Stockholm Syndrome, which is an emotional disorder wherein a person feels love or affection toward a captor or abuser. In this instance, John is not consciously trying to "trap" Rodney, and Rodney isn't consciously thinking that he loves John. However, Rodney has moved himself along through the first phase, which is "It's okay for him to do this to me," has progressed to, "and so I'm getting something I actually kinda like," and finishes up at "and that proves he's a good person who cares about me." I think this is disturbing because it's not stereotypical abuse in which one person inflicts something on another person very much against his conscious will. The combination of elements - even without malicious intent and with the 'victim's' collusion - tend to achieve the same results, however. Even an extremely intelligent person could find himself in this situation because we're talking emotional confusion; processing this sort of stuff through standard logic circuits sometimes has a way of backfiring. ~Kharessa~
Chapter 1
Reviewer: lavvyan (Signed)
09 Feb 2006 3:01 am
i loved magus_minor's original story, and i absolutely adored every sequel so far, each of its own right. and like the other authors, you did a wonderful job writing your own unique take on how it could have continued. you make both rodney and john absolutely believable, characterization down par in their differing needs. you managed to turn something potentially awful into something beautiful, and i especially liked the separation between the torture, non-con part and the easy, loving companionship that follows. basically, what i mean to say is "very well done, and thank you so much for sharing". :)
Chapter 1
Reviewer: GraceandFire (Anonymous)
09 Feb 2006 12:08 am
I really, really liked your sequel. I've read Ellex's sequel as well and I like both, as different as they are. John is so perfectly spooky the first time they're together... "Calm down, Rodney," John said, flashing his Ferris wheel smile... And their relationship is so scarily dysfunctional but understandable after accepting the basic nature of the two in this AU. Good job :)
Chapter 1
Reviewer: overchay (Signed)
08 Feb 2006 10:41 pm
This is an absolutely incredible piece. Just the right amounts of distubring and realistic. It was written so beautifully. This was just absolutely perfect, really. I'm not even sure what to say about it other than it was written in such a way that I couldn't help but read every single word and drink it all in, which is not my norm. This was incredible.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Silverthreads (Anonymous)
08 Feb 2006 9:04 pm
Powerful and tragic. Well done.
Chapter 1
Reviewer: Krysalys (Signed)
08 Feb 2006 8:36 pm
Wow. Just... wow. ----}-@ Krys PS - Admitting that you've struck me speechless is my highest form of flattery, m'dear.
Chapter 1
You must login (register) to review.