RSS
Reviews For Place Your Hand

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Space1Traveler (Signed)
11 Mar 2009 11:41 pm
Sadly intense, but oh so nice. First times are always special especially when taken slow.
Place Your Hand
Reviewer: Clavally (Signed)
13 Jul 2008 7:38 am
Oh dear. I feel weird saying I liked this story, because it's kind of like I was enjoying the angst, which I was, which...yeah. I definitely teared up
Well done!
Place Your Hand
Reviewer: Madison (Signed)
15 Jul 2007 10:10 pm
wow! What an incredibly powerful story. I would love to go into great detail about how beautifully done it was, how it rang true to both characters and content, but I'm sorta speechless. Wow!
Place Your Hand
Reviewer: BC (Anonymous)
16 Oct 2006 8:41 pm
This is an amazing story and wonderfully written. I've read it before and always look for it to read again. Rodney's reaction to everything seems true and his reaching out to John for help.
Place Your Hand
Reviewer: Faceless (Signed)
10 Sep 2006 9:29 am
Omg, this story is so sweet! I can't help but to cry a few times! I'd love to read more stories like this from you!!
Place Your Hand
Reviewer: Ansku (Signed)
12 Aug 2006 5:05 pm
Incredible... just incredible :)
Place Your Hand
Reviewer: spacemonkette (Signed)
12 Jul 2006 9:38 am
Wow. That was just utterly wonderful, I was practically moved to tears and that's really difficult to do. Very lovely writing.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm so pleased you were moved. It was one of the most difficult stories I've ever written.
Place Your Hand
Reviewer: Luvmckay (Anonymous)
16 Apr 2006 1:37 am
I love the way you write on the other stories of yours that I have read, but you have outdone yourself with this one. It was brilliantly written. The characters were three dimensional and true, and you really gave them voice, emotion and depth. You explored a violent and traumatic situation with gentleness and sensitivity, and the unfurling of trust between the two of them was remarkably well done. Thank you very much for sharing.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this. Your feedback made my morning. This story mattered more to me than anything else I have written so the feedback is even more appreciated. Thank you.
Place Your Hand
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
19 Feb 2006 5:50 pm
I read this a while back. On list? Anyway, it was definitely worth a second look. I just love the characterisations here, of everyone, but especially John and Rodney. The mix of impatience and trepidation is so very Rodney- he would be impatient that it didn't all just go away. His mix of emotions feel very real though, and I liked that he got angry at John, mostly just because John was there, and that he trusted John to help him even before they started their relationship. John's understanding was great too, how he was willing to give Rodney his space, but only to an extent. It was, again, realistic that John had his own anger over the situation, but also got angry at Rodney and felt hurt over Rodney's disappearences. It was good that John didn't completely suspend his own wants and needs for Rodney- that wouldn't have done either of them any good. The slow development of their relationship was a joy to read and it was lovely seeing Rodney's confidence returning, sometimes quickly, other times much slower. The little interludes with Kate added to the whole story, sometimes contrasting with the events as John saw them, and sometimes mirroring them. The end session, when Rodney finally confessed his 'use' of John was great, very cathartic for them both. And the trip to the beach was a great ending. Wonderful story. Laura.

Author's Response: Thank you!! I think you touched on all of the things I was most concerned about when I was writing the story. I really wanted to write a story that dealt with rape in a way that was believable, and detailed feedback like this makes me incredibly happy. Thank you.
Place Your Hand
Reviewer: SylvanWitch (Signed)
18 Feb 2006 5:35 pm
I know that when I see your name on a story, it's going to be good, and this one is no exception. Leaving aside the fact that I'm a huge sucker for good hurt/comfort, this story was especially appealing for the fact that it is very well-written, paced perfectly, and beautifully detailed. I think you've absolutely captured the characters' voices, and the story is plausible and real. Bravo!

Author's Response: Thank you. This was a really important story for me, one I had been wanting to tell for a long time. Knowing that you found it plausible and real means a great deal. Thank you.
Place Your Hand
Reviewer: Leah (Signed)
16 Feb 2006 10:33 pm
I've been hoping you would archive this story here. Thank you so much for having it on the WB list, as well. This is the first (and only) story I've read that's dealt with rape and felt realistic without being preachy or depressing. I read this months ago, but I've been thinking about it for a long time. It's truly one of your best, and that's saying a hell of a lot.

Author's Response: I was planning on archiving the fic at WB. I was just too lazy to do the formatting. But I can't watch TV and not do something else, so I formatted it while watching Wiseguy last night. I'm thrilled you felt it was realistic without being preachy, because that is exactly what I wanted. I really wanted to tell a story that would incorporate a realistic look at what survivors experience yet still be true to Rodney. I fretted quite a bit about that, actually, keeping him Rodney instead of a generic victim. Knowing you liked the story means a great deal because I have such respect for your writing.
Place Your Hand
Reviewer: Monkey (Anonymous)
16 Feb 2006 10:19 pm
Amazing. I still have tears in my eyes.

Author's Response: Thank you. This story meant a lot to me so I'm thrilled you were moved.
Place Your Hand
Reviewer: Krysalys (Signed)
16 Feb 2006 9:39 pm
Damn. *opens mouth to say something, then stops* Damn. Just... damn. ----}-@ Krys

Author's Response: Thank you. /g/ I'm pleased to have left you speechless. :)
Place Your Hand
You must login (register) to review.