RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: madison (Anonymous)
19 Feb 2007 8:12 pm
wow! Amazing story, really well done. Great characterization, great physical description. I must admit I read it at a great gallop, heart in my throat--I'll have to read it again, more slowly this time...
Reviewer: duff (Anonymous)
26 Nov 2006 11:24 pm
Brilliant. The plot, structure and characterizations are just perfect. I am in awe of your writing skills. Thank you so much for sharing this.

Author's Response: Thank you so very much! If only publishers shared your view ;) xx
Reviewer: ankhmutes (Anonymous)
30 Oct 2006 7:39 am
Excellently done! Using flashbacks can backfire on a writer, can cause some readers confusion. This story needed them and you used them well. It just would not have been as tight, suspenseful and evocotive if it had been told on a linear timeline. The emotional impact of the story was huge and it is one I definitely will reread.

Author's Response: I'm really glad you enjoyed this, and approved of the flashbacks. I didn't know how else to slowly reveal the story as the characters discovered what had happened! V glad you enjoyed so much - thanks very much for reviewing :) xx
Reviewer: aphelant (Anonymous)
17 Aug 2006 10:54 pm
Holy *Jesus* this is the most heart-wrenching fic I've ever read. It just...broke me into tiny little pieces, and yet, I still love it, even for all the pain. *So* good. Thank you for sharing.

Author's Response: Lol, thank you for reading! I'm glad it struck a chord :) x
Reviewer: Jack_rocks (Signed)
02 May 2006 1:12 am
Ohh definitely one of my favorites. This story is so well written and compelling I had to read it all at once. Loved how John and Rodney's feelings turned in something deeper because of the horrible tortures they shared. And even more loved how both John and Rodney tried to fend off their own fear and pain in the attempt to support the other. God! The scene of Rodney tied on the altar while John watching him bleeding to death was heartbreaking. I could really feel his desperation. And loved when Rodney woke up in the infirmary finding John asleep on his bed. WOW! This story is just awesome. Excellent work. Thanks.

Author's Response: Lol. I'm really glad you liked it :) x
Reviewer: tragic_05 (Signed)
06 Mar 2006 12:17 am
I am usually very iffy about stories that involve torture. I find that most writers have difficulty turely capturing it in a light that doesn't make it either way to graphic or the characters end up being far to out of character. But this story was amazing. You had me sitting on my seat waiting to hear what came next. You had my heart in my throat. My stomache would twist and turn in parts. There were part that I found difficult to read but with the shear brilliance of the way this story was written I keep reading. The characters felt so true to life(or fiction as the case maybe). The one part that made love this story is that I found myself saying things out loud. ex. "Lorne’s bringing him in now, they’ve got to get him to the jumper, then he’ll be home John. He’ll be home,” was just a brilliant line and as I read it I just sat back and my chair and I swear to god with a hand on my chest let out a sigh and repeated "He'll be home" thank you so very much.

Author's Response: Oh my, I am pleased it affected you so much. It makes the process of writing seem so much more worthwhile if people really enjoy reading it :) Thank you V x
Reviewer: SylvanWitch (Signed)
05 Mar 2006 3:58 pm
Never let it be said that you are not a master of suspense. This story is taut with it, and leaves a tight feeling in the region of one's heart as we wait to discover what really happened, what the truth is about McKay's status. Excellently and brilliantly done, no punches pulled on the excruciating details of cruelty. Bravo!

Author's Response: I do like to tease, thank you :) x
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
04 Mar 2006 8:53 pm
Do you know how good this is? It's staying up 'til 2.45am good! This was an excellent fic and it has been promptly added to my favourites. The actual plot was very tense, all that torture, just because they could :(. You wrote it very well, getting the balance of graphic images, but not going too far with them and just making it nasty. Great whumping of our boys. As for the characterisations; they were excellent. Everyone was in character and they all had an actual part to play too. Obviously John and Rodney got the biggest parts in this and I really think you did them both justice as they tried to fend off their own panic and offer strength to the other, lots of little touches and expressions for each other. I was a little surprised at first that John was so certain Rodney had killed himself. Then, as the story progressed and I saw that extent of both men's injuries, I began to see how John may have ended up in that mindset. And then we finally get the flashback where Rodney remembers threatening to shoot himself if John didn't leave. Those words in John's state of mind, it's not difficult to see why he was so convinced. It was very sad to see them (John) pulling away, especially after Rodney woke to find John with him an dthen they shared all the looks in the infirmary. I wasn't really angry with either of them though. I mean, people do odd things after such horrific trauma, and John was also battling his guilt for believing Rodney dead. It was a big relief when Rodney turned up and they just went for it, no words, just both in the moment. And the ending was great, finally they confessed their love for each other, though being John and Rodney, they managed not to actually *say* the words *g*. Excellent fic. Laura

Author's Response: My goodness! What a wonderful review! Thank you! I'm sorry I kept you up late, but I am glad as well, because you obviously took it all in and enjoyed it! I don't like to see other characters in a fic if they aren't being used, so you hit the nail on the head there, thank you. Really though, this fic took on a life of its own. I didn't know where it was going when it started (other than knowing I wanted to see how John and Rodney would react to seeing each other tortured) and it really did grow from that first scene with John in his 'coffin'. I wanted you to know as much as John knew, which meant you don't get to see a lot from Rodney's pov, but I'm glad that his pov struck you so well, and had the impact I was looking for. I'm really pleased you felt so much for the characters, that means a lot to me - and it makes them more real. Thank you again for a lovely review. V x
Reviewer: ajay (Anonymous)
04 Mar 2006 1:19 am
Loved this. So well done. Thank you Ajay

Author's Response: You're welcome. I'm glad you liked it! :)
Reviewer: Kamelion (Signed)
03 Mar 2006 11:37 pm
All I can say is, angst at it's best. This rocked. Adding it to faves!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm realy glad you enjoyed it so much! :D
Reviewer: fanficaddict (Anonymous)
03 Mar 2006 11:15 pm
Wow! that was glorious! LOL very well written with awesome descriptions, wonderful characterizations and some really damn good whumping *bg* thanks!

Author's Response: Thanks!
Reviewer: anyanka (Signed)
03 Mar 2006 6:06 pm
Good lord that was good. I just loved it. Not sure what else to say. Wow!

Author's Response: Speechless is always good, thank you ;)
Reviewer: Krysalys (Signed)
03 Mar 2006 4:35 pm
Wow. That was so frelling cool. ----}-@ Krys

Author's Response: Grin. Good. Glad you liked :)
Reviewer: LouiseH (Anonymous)
03 Mar 2006 4:29 pm
A great fic that grabbed my attention from the get-go. I also liked your use of Lorne. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! :)
You must login (register) to review.