RSS
Reviews For Three Fates

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
17 Mar 2006 7:01 pm
A great, tense chapter. First there's the outright tenseness and fear of the Wraith culling and Rodney missing. I was so relieved when he reappeared and wasn't languishing in a dart somewhere ::wipes brow::. I loved John's...soldierness...his thoughts on how the P-90 was an extension of himself, but that it wasn't a turn on like his previous girlfriends had thought. I really felt his emotions as they returned to the jumper at last and he was still coming down from the adrenaline and the fear for Rodney and how that manifested as anger at Rodney, how he was completely unable to relax even when Rodney got hold of him. Then there was Elizabeth, all alone and that horrible tension from the thought of being watched, of having Atene loitering about eyeing her every move and just waiting to catch her out. It's so easy to assign emotion to Atene and she really does seem intentionally hostile to Elizabeth, above and beyond the no gene aspect of things. It would be bad enough for Elizabeth to be left alone in that situation, but it's worse because of knowing how she felt in and about Atlantis of our time. No fear and anxiousness there, at least, not for the city itself. And then the guys were home safe and making their play for Elizabeth. It may not have been the smoothest invitation ever given, but I can see how the Dagan mission would affect them both. I really hoped Elizabeth would agree, she so obviously wants to and yet she's holding herself off. She even thinks it herself, how if one man had approached her, she would have said no for fear of ruining things, but they've both approached her, together. I hope they can sort out their issues soon. At least John has realised how he's treating her. I can see his reasoning and I understand why he makes her stay behind, but I'm pleased that he's starting to see how much damage that's doing to Elizabeth and to their friendship. I hope she rethinks her decission after watching that incredibly hot sex. I loved seeing it from the outside, from Elizabeth's pov, being able to watch them both together and getting that bit of distance to appreciate things a little differently. Things like Elizabeth seeing John so different to his usual demeanor, letting go the grip on his control a little and getting lost in the sensations. Yes, very hot. I loved the aftermath too, Rodney dragging John up for food in a wonderfully domestic moment, but John's issues coming back to haunt them- admittedly spurred on by Elizabeth's refusal to join them. I can see why he'd get more reluctant to approach her every time she backs off. Having seen his needy streak, why would he invest the effort in trying to get hold of someone who's so intent on slipping away from him? And there's the whole love issue, which is a complex one. Anyway, I've rambled enough. I look forward to the next chapter. Laura.
17/36 - Lachesis
Reviewer: Shayz (Signed)
17 Mar 2006 6:18 pm
I can't wait for each chapter, this fic has me so hooked! I'm loving the triangle. But mostly, I think Elizabeth's slow-burn breakdown is the most engrossing. Rod & John have had there's fast and furious, but Liz isn't that kind of person which I think you've captured beautifully. I can't wait to see how or if the boys will react to or even notice her inevitable lost of control when they're so involved with each other and Atene. Speaking of Atene... fascinating! And I can totally feel for Liz...insecurity, distrust, lonliness. Absolutely awesome story... more please!

Author's Response: Elizabeth's erosion, her loneliness and conflicting feelings of loyalty, duty and fear for the future are what make this such a long story. The changes in her can't happen over night. It's great that you're enjoying that part and seeing how the different ways of coping (or not) result in different choices. John and Rodney break and patch themselves together, learning to live with the damage. Elizabeth holds herself together under more and more pressure, and we know what happens when the pressure gets too much for a person. But it isn't just her choices, it's the choices the men make the force her into decisions she wouldn't contemplate otherwise.
17/36 - Lachesis
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
17 Mar 2006 5:57 pm
Well, another great chapter, as always :). I have to admit that I can see Elizabeth's point about Atene and the chair, and Rodney seems to have completely forgotten how he was so against John using the chair, back before he had a taste of it. I hope his casual dismissal of Elizabeth's concerns don't come back and bite them. I have to say I'm intrigued by John's new connection to Atlantis even as I'm worried about it. It certainly seemed useful when they dealt with the bio-weapon labs, once he'd gotten Atene to slow down the data flow, but it's definitely concerning that John's not worried by the fact that he physically can't talk about some of the stuff because Atlantis has classified it- that can't be good, that he's lost his volition about some aspects of Atlantis :(. Off to read the next chapter now and see what new problems/fears may arise. Laura.

Author's Response: All of their decisions come back and bite them. Rodney's decision to trust Atene, Elizabeth decision not to, John's to accept the interface - there are consequences. The one thing I wonder if we made clear was that the limitations that John experienced because of the interface were limitation imposed on Atene by the Ancients who created the AI. Parts of Atene are as hardwired and out of its control as our autonomous nervous systems. And have I said, you give great, great reviews. - Auburn
16/36 - Lachesis
Reviewer: Starwind (Anonymous)
17 Mar 2006 12:31 pm
Sorry I should elaborate: I'm crying for Elizabeth's pain.
17/36 - Lachesis
Reviewer: Starwind (Anonymous)
17 Mar 2006 8:56 am
*wipes away many tears*

Author's Response: But why tears?
17/36 - Lachesis
Reviewer: Monkey (Anonymous)
17 Mar 2006 8:16 am
Amamzing as always. It seems as if these people will never get a ZedPM (yes I'm Canadian) even when they know exactly where they are. Poor Elizabeth, I just feel so bad for her, she's so frightened and alone and it seems as if the guys just don't get it. I don't care what Rodney says Atene is totally HAL! LOL

Author's Response: But do we really know if Atene is evil? As for the ZPM ... It's still there, on Dagan. With the Wraith there, it'll just be a bit more complicated to get it.
17/36 - Lachesis
Reviewer: anonymouse (Anonymous)
17 Mar 2006 2:46 am
I just found this story and read all the parts posted so far. Wow! This is absolutely brilliant! The voices sound so right. The motivation and actions of the characters are real to what we've seen on the show. The situations are believable and coincide with canon when you bring canon into the story. And the sex is hot! Wonderful job. Can't wait for the rest of it.

Author's Response: Don't get this wrong, but ... Finally someone comments on the sex. We were beginning to wonder if people were reading for the *gasp* plot.
17/36 - Lachesis
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
16 Mar 2006 7:20 pm
Great chapter. I enjoyed seeing them playing and letting go of the worry for a while, though it was good to see the concerned looks John got from Rodney and Elizabeth, as well as the discussion the guys had about Elizabeth being wound too tight. Over all though, a fun chapter and a nice respite from the angst, worry, fear and anger of the previous chapters. The UST was great too. Just how long can Elizabeth keep taking herself out of the situation and how long will John and Rodney let her? Can't wait to see what happens next. Laura.

Author's Response: How long? Well, her walls are certainly crumbling. But saying more would be giving the plot away. You will notice that Rodney gets more determined, however, whereas John gets more and more unsure about the whole premise, mainly because he's got issues with Elizabeth. But he'll have his epiphany. (eretria)
15/36 - Lachesis
Reviewer: Miso no Tsuki (Signed)
16 Mar 2006 5:40 pm
I'm so hooked on this! Need my daily fix of high quality fic! Still original, precisely detailed and utterly engrossing, I'm consumed with jealousy! :) +fav of course.

Author's Response: Nah, no jealous, please. After all, we were working on the story for 6 months, so we had a bit of time to fine-tune the prose. :o)
15/36 - Lachesis
Reviewer: irony (Anonymous)
16 Mar 2006 4:44 pm
Nice foreplay!

Author's Response: Thank you.
15/36 - Lachesis
Reviewer: Mary (Anonymous)
16 Mar 2006 3:10 pm
Excellent chapter! I was, however, depressed to see only one chapter instead of two - we've been spoiled. And I too was looking for this all day . . . starting with when I woke up around 12:30 or 1:00 this morning! I love this story.

Author's Response: Spoiled! Auburn has spoiled you. I ought to live up to the stereotype about my country now and be really strict and stern and proper and by-the-rules ... But, no. Auburn softens my mean old heart. (eretria)
15/36 - Lachesis
Reviewer: Monkey (Anonymous)
16 Mar 2006 2:50 pm
Nice clean fun! A great chapter, nice to see them filled with a lot less angst. The sexual tension didn't hurt either. Keep it coming...I nearly had a stroke waiting for this chapter today, LOL

Author's Response: I am not paying medical bills! :o) Just you rest assured, though - we do post every day. And, yes. In between all the angst, you need a beacon of hope from time to time. Just, what goes up ... (eretria)
15/36 - Lachesis
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
15 Mar 2006 4:54 pm
I liked seeing the results of Rodney's dream from his pov, it complimented Elizabeth's view of things and paralleled what I said in my last review: That they needed to wait 'til John was back before contemplating anything between them. I liked catching up with John too, even if it was concerning that Atene wanted to make the various changes, had already tweeked his and Rodney's DNA a little to allow easier access to the chair. I was so relieved when John emerged from the auto-healer, and I had to smile at his stoned actions...until they got him to his room and he was so afraid that they'd leave him there. I'm glad Elizabeth's seen that side of him now; it may give her a bit more insight into his mind. I'm looking forward to the next chapter. Will Rodney get to the bottom of the nanobots, will John try the connection to Atene without the chair, will he remember the merged lifesigns and draw the wrong conclusion? Looking forward to finding out. Laura.
14/36 - Lachesis
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
15 Mar 2006 3:50 pm
Another great chapter, with some complicated issues. I wonder what Atene is up to keeping Rodney out. Is it because she's worried about him too? Or is it something else? I loved the scenes between Rodney and Elizabeth; he so desperate to distract himself from the fear and she so touch starved that she seriously considers it. But it was good that she stopped things both times before they went too far. It may well be that John and Rodney have had their discussion about Elizabeth, but this is a bit too fraught a time and it seems better to wait until John's around too and they can all be assured of eachothers feelings. Great insight into Elizabeth's type too, how Rodney and Simon are more to her taste with that more powerful build and the broad shoulders making her feel almost overpowered. I can't wait to have John back. Will he be all stoned and sweet? We could all use that comic relief at the moment. Laura.

Author's Response: Atene saw that Rodney was abou to do more ill than good and closed the doors because of that. She also might be a bit mad, if a machine mind actually has those emotions. For now, it was all risk-assessment. Thank you, too for the comment on Elizabeth - her having sex with Rodney in the situation would have been understandable, but it would have destroyed something important between them. And she is a grown up woman, after all. Sh knows when to stop. As always, Laura, your comments are a pleasure. Thank you. (eretria)
13/36 - Lachesis
Reviewer: Monkey (Anonymous)
15 Mar 2006 9:13 am
I can't decide if Atene is helping them or is an evil creepy computer like Hal from 2001 a Space Oddessy. Nanobots in John's brain? AHHHHH Too freaky. I loved the Rodney/Elizabeth cuddle...very hot. And now all three of them are on one bed... What a great story!!
1/36 - Atropos
Reviewer: Sandra (Anonymous)
15 Mar 2006 1:41 am
Whoops, accidentally submitted a review for ch. 1...I'll just repost it here I LOVE this story, especially now that they're getting back on their feet a little, a little less haunted. So, just how much are they going to change their own future? Are the wraith going to discover Atlantis now, will they go into stasis or live out the rest of their lives in Atlantis? Or will they somehow make it back home, a little traumatized but none the worse for wear? As other people have commented, I usually skip right over any threesome stories, but a great writer can make anything work, I guess, b/c this is awesome!
14/36 - Lachesis
Reviewer: Sandra (Anonymous)
15 Mar 2006 1:36 am
I LOVE this story, especially now that they're getting back on their feet a little, a little less haunted. So, just how much are they going to change their own future? Are the wraith going to discover Atlantis now, will they go into stasis or live out the rest of their lives in Atlantis? Or will they somehow make it back home, a little traumatized but none the worse for wear?
1/36 - Atropos
Reviewer: df (Anonymous)
15 Mar 2006 12:53 am
awesome chapters... do we ever get tired of a whumped John? Can't wait for the moment they'll propose Liz.

Author's Response: Hmn. No. But for variety's sake, Rodney will get walloped real soon. - Auburn
12/36 - Lachesis
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
14 Mar 2006 9:06 pm
Gah! You're determined to do me an injury with all these cliffies! And you always make it worse by giving us a good moment first! This time the good moment was John and Rodney patching things up after Rodney's unthinking lashing out that upset John so much. It was such a relief that John understands Rodney enough to know that he didn't mean it and was just reacting to the anger and helplessness of the situation. Still, it was good to see Rodney making the effort of an actual apology, bad as it was. That effort is unusual enough in and of itself for John to accept it. So, there I was all happy and you go and break John ::glares::. I thought you wrote Rodney's frantic panic and desperation very convincingly and I loved how he never stopped talking, never stopped urging John to just hang on because he needed him to help against the ghosts. Realistically, I knew that John would make it. This early into the story there was no way you were killing him, but this was so well written that I could put that knowledge aside and get sucked into the current situation fully. ANd then they made it back and Elizabeth was there to help Rodney keep himself mostly under control and thus help John that bit more. Evil cliffhanger, no surprise there! Looking forward to the next chapter. Laura.
12/36 - Lachesis
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
14 Mar 2006 8:11 pm
Just as it seemed that John and Rodney were getting back to a more normal mindset, they have to find the human 'supplies' alive :(. And it all started off so well with them secure enough that they could discuss Elizabeth, even if it was in a typically stilted way. But now Rodney's been reminded of how ruthless John can be when the need arises. And it's not like he isn't right in this instance, nor that he's deeply unhappy about that, but there's really no way the two of them could do anything to rescue the people. And Rodney, letting his mouth run away with him :(. That comment hurt John and I wonder how this will affect their relationship, especially taking into account John's neediness and fear of Rodney leaving him. How could you leave the boys like that? Gah! But it was good to catch up with Elizabeth too, and her creepy interaction with Atene. I'm assuming she's not imagining the voice? And it's so hostile, always trying to make Elizabeth go. And I bet John and Rodney wouldn't quite believe her either :(. I hope they can fix themselves before they arrive back in ATlantis as they've still got to think of someway to help Elizabeth too. Rushes off to read more. Laura.
11/36 - Lachesis
You must login (register) to review.