RSS
Reviews For Three Fates

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Sam_Carter_McKay@yahoo.com (Anonymous)
09 Dec 2007 6:07 am
Wow,

I was very nearly intimidated by the size of the novel because I have kids and no time. But I am so glad I made the time (dishes are now piled up).

The story was horribly sad and wonderful. I enjoyed it immensly. I just wish it were much less sad.

Thank you for writing it.
Epilogue
Reviewer: ria mincks (Anonymous)
10 Oct 2007 12:18 pm
wow that was intense... and not the usual character development i'm used to but it was amazing:)
Epilogue
Reviewer: gwen (Anonymous)
04 May 2007 2:36 am
holy shit, that was intense. excellent writing, though i'm voting for the third, er, ending, if you gather my meaning. ;) wonderful story, really well thought out and realistic in its way, with excellent characterization. and the idea about the city's AI seemed very original in its execution. overall, awesome!!!!
1/36 - Atropos
Reviewer: Emma (Anonymous)
30 Oct 2006 11:09 am
I just stayed up all night reading this novel. Wow! It's terrific! I feel so sad for all 3 of them.
Epilogue
Reviewer: CascadePD (Signed)
23 Aug 2006 4:55 pm
That was painfully dark, yet an incredible story. The characterizations were right-on and the imagery done beautifully. Bravo!
Epilogue
Reviewer: Estragora (Anonymous)
26 Jun 2006 3:00 pm
This was such an amazing read. I don't think I can put into words just how much it moved me. I've been sitting at my comp for the last few hours unable to go to bed because I couldn't stop reading. Thank you so much for sharing this story with us :)
Epilogue
Reviewer: Lorraine (Anonymous)
02 Apr 2006 10:24 pm
Quite an amazing and incredible opus. You should be quite proud for creating such a powerful piece. This was an impressive, extremely sad yet hopeful story. The emotions evoked were beautifully balanced, never falling into extremes--that must have been hard. Sensitively done, very well crafted and written. You are quite a team. Thank you for your considerable effort and hard work with this. An amazing effort indeed.
Epilogue
Reviewer: nim the cat (Signed)
01 Apr 2006 1:35 am
There isn't anything i could add to the other reviews. the idea that the AI isn't necessarily benign was a great change, and john's confession that elizabeth was right and - in part - vindicating her actions was very moving.
1/36 - Atropos
Reviewer: scififreak (Anonymous)
01 Apr 2006 12:41 am
All I can say is thank you, both of you, for this. And the ending was perfect. While I miss "our" Rodney, John, and Elizabeth; by the time I got to the end of this, I was appreciating their counterparts more and more. I was so sad that they didnt' have the experiences and time together to form the tight bonds our versions did and be changed by them, but you gave them that in the end. Especially with Elizabeth finally realizing that if she was suffering was a nightmare, what John was experiencing must be hell. And them understanding the enormitiy of the sacrifice their counterparts made for them. And honoring that no matter painful. This is simply the best that fic can aspire to and I'm once again so grateful to be a fic reader/writer.
Epilogue
Reviewer: anonymouse (Anonymous)
31 Mar 2006 3:42 am
Such an amazing piece of writing! So much imagination and care went into this. Thank you so much for letting the world see this. I really appreciate the alternate endings. I admit I always yearn for at least the possiblity of a happy ending in my fics, and you gave that to me. I look forward to reading more stories from you.
Epilogue
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
30 Mar 2006 6:47 pm
Lovely epilogue, and a lovely bonus too :). That first possibility was very sad with John making his offer and Rodney turning him down, especially as he was interested in Elizabeth. I liked the second and third ones better in that respect, with John accepting Rodney's assertion that they could be in the second possibility , and the third holding even more promise amongst the angst. I liked the third piece for it's more indepth detail, the talk between Rodney and Elizabeth as they tried to put the memories aside and then John's appearance, so obviously forcing himself to stay there and wait for an answer. I also liked Elizabeth's realisation about how much harder things must be for John, being so close to his counterpart due to their gene. I liked the fact that this ended at a beginning, lots of time ahead for the three of them and, apparently, it will be spent together :). Loved this, thank you. Laura.

Author's Response: I like to think that the first two possibilities can both lead into the third one. And, of course, in my own heart of hearts, it's John and Rodney together, and a deep and abiding friendship with Weir, as they've settled what happened to their counterparts. With a title like Three Fates, it was just beyond resisting to give it three endings, one of them an ending, one a beginning, and one a continuence. Oh, I am going to miss your reviews, they're always a pleasure to get. (Though I see I haven't got all of them in a timely fashion to respond. Doesn't mean I haven't gone back and read each one, though. Also, I have to leave some for eretria to answer. *g*) - Auburn
Epilogue
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
30 Mar 2006 6:25 pm
Another great chapter. Poor Rodney, waking from his nightmares :(. I was glad that he ran into John and they went to work rather than dwell on things. I loved that moment when they remebered, when Rodney remembered about the ZPM's. I also liked the little chat between Sumner and Elizabeth as she revealed her part in getting John to Atlantis, and Sumner's decision to re-evaluate John's attitude with that in mind. The end was very poignant as they released their counterparts ashes, especially that last, simultaneous release- very symbolic. Elizabeth, feeling overwhelmed by a joy at finally getting contact with Earth that wasn't hers, as she'd not had time to miss it, was a nice contrast. It was alarming to learn what fate awaited John if he'd survived the stasis and I'm glad he never had to experience that. I'm glad too, that the memories have helped ease this John and Rodney into a friendship, even if it isn't the same as their counterparts. Laura.
36/36 - Atropos
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
30 Mar 2006 6:04 pm
I'm glad that Elizabeth has found some measure of peace with the memories, has managed to pull the cloak of leadership round herself to help force them back. Poor Rodney didn't seem to have quite such a good grip on his memories, not if his expecting ghosts and visiting their room, even taking the blanket, was any indication. I wonder how John's doing? That somewhat stilted talk with Elizabeth certainly didn't give anything away. Laura.
35/36 - Clotho
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
30 Mar 2006 5:28 pm
I can really feel their struggles to deal with these memories; John and Rodney going from distant, current timeline interactions to very close and smiling, snarking and bantering with each other, along with Rodney's concern for John. I'm pleased that they're struggling so much, because it makes for great, angsty fic. Elizabeth too, comparing herself and what was. I particularly liked her rather poignant and melancholy realisation that if Elizabeth had intended to erase all the damage they'd done by destroying any links to Doranda, she'd failed because the three of them now remembered it. It was all for naught :(. Laura.
34/36 - Clotho
Reviewer: Linda (Anonymous)
30 Mar 2006 4:35 pm
I am totally, completely in love with this story. Your characterizations are wonderful and you made me fall in love with all of the versions of John, Rodney and Elizabeth. Thank you so much for this, it was wonderful
Epilogue
Reviewer: Monkey (Anonymous)
30 Mar 2006 3:24 pm
I didn't want it to be over. I have tears in my eyes from missing them all already! What an amazing epic you both have created, far beyond the emotions and situations of the actual show. You are both amazing.
Epilogue
Reviewer: FallenPride (Signed)
30 Mar 2006 3:18 pm
This was an absolutly wonderful story. The characters and what they went through came across beautifully. I especially enjoyed the writing style. I hope that you are planning to continue with this story in some fashion. It would be interesting to see how the events that happened in the original time-line change because of what happened. Well done.
Epilogue
Reviewer: Miso no Tsuki (Signed)
30 Mar 2006 3:13 pm
*Bravissimo!* Finished with the same style and verve that you started out with. Beautifully concluded and thanks for the epilogue, which rounded it off nicely, allowing the multiplicity of the timelines to be expressed. A terrific read, thank you both so much. Sends virtual *tiramisu* as gift. :)
Epilogue
Reviewer: Mystic (Anonymous)
30 Mar 2006 2:37 pm
Wow,what an amazing story and very deserving of all the Feedback you've gotten and more. Thank you for not only an amazing journey, but for the bonus, and the hope...one for each as it were. I do hope you'll keep writting as if this was an example, I know great things are to come. Thank you again.
Epilogue
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
30 Mar 2006 11:03 am
I was about to go into withdrawal- RL has kept me too busy to read this chapter 'til now :(. It was worth the wait though. I loved seeing this from Sumner's pov, watching and trying to figure out which was *his* people and which was the doubles personalities bleeding through, plus his confusion over the sudden closeness of John and Rodney and the events they mentioned. The stand off was tense as John told Rodney what Elizabeth had done, how she'd killed him. I liked Ford here too, all on edge. I also loved protective!John, just that description as he stepped in front of Rodney when Sumner made to grab him. I'm intrigued to see where things go from here, how much of the bleed through sticks. Laura.
33/36 - Clotho
You must login (register) to review.