RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: AliCat (Anonymous)
09 Nov 2008 2:02 am
Saw a recommendation by Arduinna at trickster, and decided to come see. Really well done. Too bad Jack couldn't go and give us his perspective on everything else.
one of one
Reviewer: Manic (Anonymous)
31 Jan 2007 11:33 am
I just love your stories. I miss Jack. It was nice to have such a long narrative from him. I also like how much weight you give to the military side of the story. And as I've said before, I like the connection and the similarities between Jack and John. Thanks for sharing.
one of one
Reviewer: Kath (Anonymous)
05 Jan 2007 3:49 pm
This was a nice part of "missing scenes" for the SGA-pilot. I liked how you've wrote Jack. There were parts that made me laugh very much, e.g. "(...) the Marine team leaders tended to be more inflexible, but that was because they led all-Marine combat-oriented squads and didn't have their own versions of Daniel wandering off and disobeying instructions because they had a better idea, weren't subject to military regs, and oh, that looked pretty."
one of one
Reviewer: Sarah (Anonymous)
11 Jul 2006 10:26 pm
Simply amazing. I was completely blown away by your descriptions and the amount of research you must have put into this story. Incredibly detailed. Honestly, you should pitch your stories to the show! If I were TPTP I'd hire you in a heartbeat!

Author's Response: I don't think TPTB want this much detail to bog down their storylines, but if they're hiring... :)
one of one
Reviewer: angelwings (Signed)
02 Jul 2006 7:42 pm
yeah i know i'm reviewing twice (does that make me sad?- who cares!) but i just finished reading the novelisation of rising and to be honest i was bitterly disapointed- your is just sooooo much better. why oh why don't they ask people like yourself to write these tie-ins theyed proably sell more that way! seriously though i just had to congratulate you once again for an utterly fantastic story. *vbg please write more stories soon!*

Author's Response: Many more stories after this one was written. I'm very flattered that you came back to comment again. Thanks. :)
one of one
Reviewer: with_an_apostrophe (Anonymous)
20 Jun 2006 12:05 pm
I haven't yet read the actual novelisation of 'Rising', but I'll be pleased if it's as good as this. Your insights into the military mindset were fascinating, and has helped me understand Sheppard a little more than I did previously. However, your one inconsistency concerns Sheppard - he IS concerned with his rank as we discover in season 2, but that's such a small gripe that I feel quite like the Grinch to be even mentioning it. I too was surprised (like O'Neill) that only one other Marine Officer went with Sumner. I suppose it just goes to show how much the focus of the expedition was on the scientific, and how little they expected to meet any kind of enemy. Their focus was on exploring and revealing the secrets of Atlantis, not on travelling the Pegasus Galaxy. I also liked the detail of explaining why Beckett is wearing the St Andrew's Cross rather than the Union Flag that Grodin wears - something that had been bothering me. Your explanation is the one I'm going for. You've also my curiousity concerning McMurdo. I think I'm going to have to poke around a bit on-line and see what it looks like. Please, please do continue with this. I'd also be interested in how you interpret that 5 second shot of sheppard sitting on a stretch of grass near a bridge in a location that is definitely not Antarctica. How do you interpret the coin-toss? Just an idle fidget? I know many see this as him making the decision to come to Atlantis, but it doesn't make sense for more reasons than I choose to fit here. Ok, essay over!

Author's Response: For the record, I don't think the coin-flip really determined whether or not he was going. I think he knew he was going after his helicopter ride with O'Neill, but spent the next months wondering what the hell he'd gotten in to. The coin flip may have been a moment of second-guessing, but there had to be months between his being asked and them going and, well.
one of one
Reviewer: SHIRLEY PACE (Anonymous)
09 Jun 2006 1:29 am
THANK YOU!! This is a terrific story but could you do the rest of the episode? Could you possibly do the rest of the series?!! Please keep writing; we'll keep reading!
one of one
Reviewer: ANGELWINGS (Anonymous)
18 May 2006 7:25 pm
you know this totally blew me away. so many fics are, well, unrealistic (which is cool cause, you know, fic and all) however this rang so true for me. you got the emotion and the internal monolog perfectly. thank you this is exactly what the episode 'rising' was missing- its heart.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. So much has to go into a pilot, but... yeah.
one of one
Reviewer: blaze (Anonymous)
04 Apr 2006 9:11 pm
I loved your General Jack. You had him (and every other character)true to canon. The story was seamlessly intergrated with the episode. It was nice to see most of the story from Jacks POV. Do you come from a milatary background? You put the military across in such a "real" way. Not glamerized or belittled but with valid reasons for the way they think and do some of the things they do. That is very refreshing to see in a fic.

Author's Response: A belated thank you. Getting the military mindset is easy -- just stay away from the news and listen to what the soldiers themselves have to say. ;)
one of one
Reviewer: Muffle (Anonymous)
12 Mar 2006 6:37 pm
Thank you, thank you, thank you! I've always craved this backstory, and your version of it is perfect. You wove events from the pilot in so seemlessly, it just felt like part of the whole. Great job!

Author's Response: Considering that this story started as an accident... I'm glad it has gotten such a nice response.
one of one
Reviewer: Joolz (Signed)
12 Mar 2006 4:59 pm
I loved this story the first time I read it, and am just as impressed the second time around. From McKay almost frying Sheppards brain the first time he got him in the chair, to the insightful backstory for Sheppard, to the well written, competent O'Neill. Very nice! Thanks

Author's Response: I'm glad it's held up. Thanks.
one of one
You must login (register) to review.