RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Ansku (Signed)
18 Aug 2006 7:02 am
Incredible :) I'm looking forward to the next part (at least I hope there will be more)...
complete
Reviewer: not_sally (Anonymous)
13 Aug 2006 2:07 am
Hey guys. I've read the whole Geek and Goon universe in a day, and I couldn't be more glad. I had originally read Koschka series (and hopefully left feedback) because I found them amazing. The portrayal of John's and Rodney's friendship at its best (so much that when I reread it about 24 hours ago I remembered some lines verbatim) But finding this co-written gems? That made me so happy. I feel as if I had been put through some sort of emotion-blender. These fics were an awesome continuation and not only because you both write incredibly well (seriously, your characterization is beyond amazing, every little insight to any of them is spot on, and your voices sound completely canon-like; all that added up to the interesting and heart wrenching/warming plots? you guys rule) but also because you write great fics with amazing characters incredibly well. The SGA universe is easy to love, but you guys bring it to life with such humour and grace it's literally impossible to get away from the monitor. OK, I'll stop gushing now, mostly because I need sleep like you have no idea, but I wanted to tell you I had seriously loved this series and I thank you both deeply for having written it.
complete
Reviewer: Linda (Anonymous)
09 Jul 2006 7:24 pm
I have just spent the entire day reading this marvelous series. It is wonderful. You both do a wonderful job of portraying the characters and integrating their past history into each story. I can not thank you enough for this series.
complete
Reviewer: linny (Anonymous)
10 Jun 2006 11:06 pm
This review is actually for the entire series as I have just finished a marathon reading session and thnk you need to be properly thanked for the brilliance that it is. Seriously, this is wonderful and has basically reaffirmed my love for John and Rodney. I especially enjoy learning about bits of their past from the pieces. This is truly a treasured find that I reccommend to anyone jumping into sga fic. Thanks again!
complete
Reviewer: liresius (Anonymous)
14 May 2006 5:05 am
Oh this was great! - wonderful to get the cave backstory, which was very touching in the small gestures and quiet way John had with keeping the faith that he would walk, for Rodney's sake! I simply love the fact write them as unashamed of their love! Yay! The mix of humour, angst and serious moments and snark is wonderful. But especially I love the h/c and caring and just genuine affection. It was nice to read one in this series more focused on the psychological side of things. I really enjoy PTSD mixed in with relationship and the exploration of ways of coping and coming to acceptance. I love happy endings too. I did find it a little hard skipping from one story to the other in this one. I wasn't always sure which ice incident was being talked or thought about, in the first third. I'm so glad you wrote that bit about Rodney being a real hero but not getting enough recognition for it. I completely agree. And the bit about Gall and Abrams - "hobbity geeks". So true! Yay to another wonderful story in the series!
complete
Reviewer: Skein (Anonymous)
03 May 2006 10:25 am
Wow, this one really took me through the wringer. I like all the angsting and hurt-comfort, and I like your writing. I'm always happy when I see that you have published a new story, and it's always worth the bouncing! Hugs and thanks you so much for sharing this. Skein@t-online.de
complete
Reviewer: Jennifer (Anonymous)
22 Apr 2006 5:03 am
This series is, hands down, my favorite story in the Atlantis fandom. To be honest, it is tying with Sideburn's 'The Long and Winding Yellow Brick Road' for favorite in any fandom, ever. When I first started "The Geek's Field Guide to Arachnids", I have to admit I gave up on it very shortly therein. I wasn't in the mood for an EstShip fic, and it seemed a little too on the saccharine side for my taste that day. I didn't come back to it for a few weeks before I ran out of longerish McShep stories, but when I did...wow. I, uh, didn't sleep that much for a few days. And when I finished with the Holiday story I went back and read Arachnids all over again. I've now reread or skimmed the whole series again at least once, more at some parts, and can only say that of a very, very small percentage of the fiction I've read online. Your Rodney and John have become MY Rodney and John when I picture them, now a hundred percent improved by the schmoop and the rings that make a nice sound. (Sidenote: Jesus and GAH!) Needless to say, seeing that there was a new installment made my night. And, per usual, Psychoanalysis was absolutely gorgeous. It was nice to see the continued fall-out from the crash, and how it is all tied together with past traumas. I've grown to truly appreciate how you two weave the past and the present together to form not just a single story, but a fully fleshed out reality that doesn't have a beginning or an ending but rather a series of events that BUILD CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT. If you've never seen the episode of The West Wing titled "Noel", you should. It is a television masterpiece, and it reminds me so much of part 8 of this series. The transitions from the infirmary to the field to Kate's office are so well written I can see exactly how they would work on film. In lesser hands the jumps in time would be convoluted beyond reason, but you two make seamless seem simple. Add to this that you two are consistently some of the funniest and in the same paragraph gut-wrenching writers in the fandom...I can only give my major, major props. Thank you, THANK YOU two for writing this series, and here's hoping (read: me begging and offering my first born) that you continue.
complete
Reviewer: hollymurph (Anonymous)
20 Apr 2006 3:13 pm
An excellent addition to my favorite SGA series. Well written (as always), excellent characterization, and perfect story flow. Thank you!
complete
Reviewer: Krysalys (Signed)
19 Apr 2006 5:40 am
If I were able to bear more offspring without the certainty of it killing me, I would be begging you two to allow me to carry your babies. *VBEG* I don't care that we're all chicks. *grins like a shark* I love you so much for this series. ----}-@
complete
Reviewer: auntiemeesh (Signed)
19 Apr 2006 12:24 am
Oh, I so loved this! I stumbled across this series maybe a month or two ago and it has become my very favorite of all McShep fic. You've managed to put everything I love about fic into one place; h/c, schmoop, action/adventure, angst, humor, caring, etc. I particularly like the way this one gives more details about all those misadventures that have occurred or been mentioned in the previous stories. You've done such a wonderful job of fleshing them out with this, acknowledging that all relationships have weaknesses and working through one of those weaknesses without letting it really, truly become a danger to them. *loves*
complete
Reviewer: melagan (Anonymous)
17 Apr 2006 9:09 pm
/hugs your story to pieces/ And you revisited the ice cave and gave us John's POV. Thank you so much for that.
complete
Reviewer: Luvmckay (Anonymous)
17 Apr 2006 4:06 pm
You guys rock! I love this series and this one is just as exceptional as the others. I think its great how you use their POV to explore the two sets of emotions while still telling a fantastic story. I also love the relationship you've created for them- it always leaves me happy, sad, whistful and with a slight ache that is not quite overpowered by the flashes of humour throughout the story. I really hope there are more to come in this series. Thank you!
complete
Reviewer: Amalthia (Anonymous)
17 Apr 2006 11:39 am
I loved this story. :) It was really nice to see exactly what happened to propel them into this relationship. :)
complete
Reviewer: margec01 (Anonymous)
16 Apr 2006 2:04 pm
You ladies just keep getting better and better. Another wonderful chapter in the future tales of John & Rodney. The tale of Rodney's past experiences with psychoanalysis had me roaring with laughter. And then, the reliving of their brushes with death was more serious, but still included their characteristic banter. All the little touches and the ability to read each other's minute facial expressions portray their closeness. Yet, with all that, they still needed this time to be more honest with each other. A wonderful story with depth and humor--and I love that you write long stories which really explore their relationship.
complete
Reviewer: springwoof (Signed)
16 Apr 2006 11:29 am
Amazing, as usual. I loved the look at the guys' marriage, their time in the ice cave, and how their relationship weathers all the near-death experiences. I liked seeing all their friends, too--Teyla and Ronon especially. The glimpse of Teen!Rodney was intriguing and amusing, as was the vast collection of Star Wars action figures! great job as usual. wags, springwoof
complete
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
15 Apr 2006 9:31 pm
Great characterisation as always. I liked the change in pov as the story unfolded. I also liked the flashbacks and how they worked with the present story, all tying together to result in their blow up at each other. Plus, the flashbacks also gave the development of John and Rodney's relationship, how the various trials affected them and how they both struggled to keep the faith. Very poignant at times. Great snark too :). I was pleased that they sorted it all out after their yelling, and amused that they did it in such a typical man-type way, through the use of Star Wars action figures *g*. Excellent stuff. Laura.
complete
Reviewer: kaialee27 (Anonymous)
15 Apr 2006 9:13 pm
This was great! I love this series, and I'm glad that with this story some of the back story into how John and Rodney got together was explained. Can't wait for the next installment.
complete
Reviewer: fenris_wolf0 (Anonymous)
15 Apr 2006 8:52 pm
:)
complete
Reviewer: Joolz (Signed)
15 Apr 2006 12:49 pm
Great story, as usual. Those poor guys, they don't ever seem to have an easy time of it. Good thing they have each other! *g* Thanks for the fic.
complete
Reviewer: Mystic (Anonymous)
15 Apr 2006 9:50 am
This is such a great series. Full of laughter and some tears, but always worth the read and the journey. Thank you for another great story and I look forward to much more. Thank you for sharing and all the hard work.
complete
You must login (register) to review.