RSS
Reviews For Sunny, California

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: nol42 (Anonymous)
13 May 2006 1:04 pm
I really enjoyed this story very much. I loved the way you got everything to come together by the end of the story. Well done. I'm now on to reading your other fiction. Thanks for an enjoyable ride.

Author's Response: Thank you for taking the time to let me know you enjoyed this story. I do hope you find enjoyment in the others as well. Thank you again.
Reviewer: Krysalys (Signed)
05 May 2006 9:55 pm
This series was bloody fucking brilliant. And I love how you jumped forward in time to deal with different aspects of the growing relationship as well as the changes in their lives. Well-rounded story, and made me fall in love with the guys all over again in a completely new environment. Spectacular job. ----}-@ Too bad Rodney didn't invent the rocking thing for Ally's crib (still, genius copying the design just from the basic specs on the 'net), 'cause then he could've patented it. Not like they needed the money or anything though, hrm? ;)

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed the story. As for the crib-rocker, that's a real invention, so I couldn't in good conscience give Rodney the credit...but he proved his genius as it was, building it so quickly. Thank you for the lovely feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed the story.
Four/Four
Reviewer: DragonLady (Signed)
05 May 2006 7:28 pm
I loved this story! It was a very creative AU and John and Rodney still managed to stay themselves. Rock on!

Author's Response: Thank you. I wanted to keep the characters as we know them, and I'm glad it worked. Thank you for letting me know you enjoyed it. :>)
Reviewer: tracy-thenaggingone (Anonymous)
05 May 2006 1:07 pm
what a wild ride dude!!1 what a totally out there AU but it worked and is fun. nicely done.

Author's Response: Thanks for the narley feedback dude...ehehhe. Glad it worked for you and thank you.
Four/Four
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
05 May 2006 4:41 am
Wonderful ending. I liked how it went full circle, starting with the hate crime that tried to burn their house down with them inside *grrrr*, to the completely sincere journalist and her article. I loved how all the neighjbours and friends rallied round to help after the fire and I was glad that they decided to keep Joxer (and got him a girlfriend *g*). I was also pleased to see Amanda appearing and John getting back into surfing...and thrashing the competition :). It was that final finishing touch on their perfect life- Rodney had the job he loved, they had their happy family, and now John was back doing the job he loved too :). Great stuff. Laura.

Author's Response: Thank you so very much, glad you enjoyed it and found the wait worth whiled. I like to see my stories end happy after I make them suffer a bit. Glad it worked for you. Again, thank you for the lovely feedback.
Four/Four
Reviewer: anonymouse (Anonymous)
05 May 2006 3:12 am
Wow, that was just great! I loved how you built this whole other world without any of the other Atlantis characters. John and Rodney behaved just as I would expect them to, their personalities and behaviors coming through no matter what occupations they have. I can imagine John as a surfer given Major Sheppard's comment about those sweet breakers on the southern tip of the Atlantis mainland. And Rodney as a vet reminded me of David Hewlett's role in Scanners II. Again, a great, believable AU story!

Author's Response: Thank you very much, I wanted this to be what if they chose differently AU. Glad it worked. Thank you for letting me know, it makes my day. :>)
Four/Four
Reviewer: ikswo (Anonymous)
05 May 2006 1:34 am
this was incredibly well written and absolutely adorable. thank you so much for posting it; it was just so lovely to read! ah, *squees* i feel happy now...

Author's Response: I'm glad to make you happy as that makes me happy too. Thank you for the feedback, always appreciated. :>)
Four/Four
Reviewer: Shaddow (Anonymous)
05 May 2006 12:24 am
Okay, in awe of your skill once again. jesus, how do you do it? And and and little Ally and the heeling and the the the assistants and and and [flops is ded] [wish Radek was Rodney's secretary, more Atlantis chars, but damn did you pull it off, and that's just my opinion]

Author's Response: Thank you very, very much for the feedback. As for more Atlantis characters...this was an AU of how their lives could have been if they made other choices, not one of the...let's recast AU's (not that I don't enjoy them, as I do) this just wan't one of them). Thank you very much, and I'll see what I can do about an Atlantis crew AU...but no promises. :>)
Four/Four
Reviewer: Ameera (Anonymous)
04 May 2006 8:46 pm
Loved it. It is sweet. An so well written!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for taking the time to let me know. Glad you enjoyed it. :>)
Four/Four
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
04 May 2006 7:18 pm
Lovely chapter with lots going on. I loved the nervousness and anticipation of their three month anniversary, how both were determined that tonight was the night. And what a hot night it was :). I loved John seeing off the bimbo, but wasn't happy with her retaliation, especially when it seemed to have hit John so hard. I was angered and saddened by the big influx of animals that arrived and what they had been used for, so it was great that John chose that time to reappear. I had been a little cross with John for hiding, but that lessened when I saw how scared he was that his news would make Rodney leave him, so it was both a relief that Rodney decided that they should move in and incredibly sweet that they had all that affirming stuff going on in the wake of the difficult few days. I was very glad that Rodney managed to convince himself to take Alison after seeing how ragged John was. As with John earlier, I was a little cross at Rodney for being so reluctant, until I found out that it was fear of being completely and utterly caught by her. That was really quite sweet, as was his sending John off to bed and his building of the crib rocker. Plus the whole mumbled thing about married couples *g*. Can't wait to read the last part, but need sleep, so will have to make myself wait until tomorrow (or later today, in fact). Laura.

Author's Response: I'm sure you understood that it was a huge thing for John, but thankfully he knew he had to step up to the plate if he wanted a chance to have it all...worked for him right? I'm very glad you enjoyed this chapter and I hope you get plenty of rest and ejoy the final chapter. Thank you so much for taking the extra time to give FB on each chapter, that's very classy of you. :>)
Three
Reviewer: fifi (Anonymous)
04 May 2006 6:45 pm
Thanks for a great read. I could smell the coffee and the sea. Excellent AU.

Author's Response: Well, I hope it wass superior coffee and a good sea breeze, as bad ones smell like dead fish. :>) thank you for taking the time to let me know you enjoyed the story, I appreciate it.
Four/Four
Reviewer: Regina Bellatrix (Signed)
04 May 2006 3:56 pm
Cute! I have a weakness for AUs and Animal Lover!Rodney.

Author's Response: Me too! Glad you enjoyed it and thank you for taking the time to let me know.:>)
Four/Four
Reviewer: dannylover934 (Signed)
04 May 2006 2:53 pm
I love this fic. I usually stay away from AUs, especially one that is so different than the show, but I'm glad that I read. This fic has such a different setting but you managed to keep the boys in character and I love it. You have to write a sequel!

Author's Response: Thank you very much, that's a big compliment. *blush* I tried very hard to keep the aspects of the characters we love, otherwise...what's the point in putting them in other settings? I'm glad you gave this story a chance and you enjoyed it. As for a sequel, I don't see one happening at the moment, but one never knows. I write as my muse dictates. Thank you very much for sharing your FB with me, I appreciated it very much. :>)
Four/Four
Reviewer: LushBaby (Signed)
04 May 2006 2:15 pm
Just so heartwarming and happy-making. I just discovered this story and it just makes me feel good inside. It makes me want to be there and I hate the beach! Thanks for putting together such a well-crafted piece for us.

Author's Response: :>) sorry you hate the beach, under the right conditions, it's a lovely place to visit. Thank you also for taking the time to share your feedback, I appreciate it very much.
Reviewer: Emely Raines (Signed)
04 May 2006 2:07 pm
I love this story! And I love that they kept Joxer around!

Author's Response: LoL, couldn't let Joxer go after he saved their lives...that just made him one of the family. :>) Thank you for the feedback and I'm happy you enjoyed it so much. Thanks again.
Four/Four
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
04 May 2006 1:13 pm
Great chapter both for the growing feelings between John and Rodney- and I liked how Rodney comforted John when he told the tale about Frank- and for the excitement of the dolphins. I like how careful John is being not to push Rodney too soon, it just proves how serious he is and I hope Rodney sees that too. Laura.

Author's Response: Oh, I'm sure Rodney will see it too, as deep down they both know how important it is to them. Glad you're enjoying this chapter too. Thank you again for the feedback on it. :>)
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
04 May 2006 12:36 pm
This is a wonderful first chapter, introducing us to this version of John and Rodney. They're both still so recognisable and I loved seeing that instant, though tentative, spark between them. I also loved seeing how cut up John was about his inadvertant poisoning of Taffy, and it was great to see Rodney in action, first angry with John's supposed neglect and then with the abused doberman. His excitment about his marine treatment centre was infectious and it was so typically him to rant so spectacularly about the inefficient contractor. Off to read the next chapter now. Laura.

Author's Response: Thank you so much Laura, for the indetailed feedback, it's always appreciated. I'm glad you enjoyed the first chapter, and yeah, Rodney can be infectious....hehehe. Thank you very much.
Reviewer: Jane (Anonymous)
04 May 2006 12:25 pm
You won me over on chapter one.....good gods....fantastic....words cannot describe the NEATNESS of this fic.......and I can relate to Rodney...having your family cat die in your arms is one of the worst memories to have (ours had cat flu, we couldn't get a vet appointment in time)

Author's Response: *Blush* Thank you for such lovely feedback, I'm very glad you enjoyed it. As for losing a loved pet, sadly I've had my share too. Sorry for your lose and may you never have to go through such again over the idocy of others. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback.
Four/Four
Reviewer: Joolz (Signed)
04 May 2006 10:32 am
Lovely story. Rodney being great with animals, John taking charge and taking care, both being so cute with a kid. And the ending was great. Thanks!

Author's Response: Thank you so very much. I loved the idea of Rodney w/ animals...small ones mostly. :>) Glad you enjoyed it and thank you for letting me know. I appreciate it very much.
Four/Four
Reviewer: Breila (Anonymous)
04 May 2006 10:29 am
Cool! You write the best AU's!

Author's Response: *Blush* Thank you so very much. I like AU's...reading them and writting them. Thank you for taking the time to let me know, it always makes my day.

Author's Response: *Blush* Thank you so very much. I like AU's...reading them and writting them. Thank you for taking the time to let me know, it always makes my day.
You must login (register) to review.