RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Twinfetish (Signed)
22 Jul 2009 2:14 am
You had me crying near the end. That was painfully, and yet beautifully written. I loved it.

Author's Response: *hands you hankie* That's a lovely compliment - thank you.
1 of 1
Reviewer: Blue dinosaur (Anonymous)
26 Sep 2006 11:38 am
Wow. You really captured what it must be like to be Rodney.

Author's Response: Thanks - I think I can get into Rodney's head easier than John's in some ways, so I'm glad you felt this rang true.
1 of 1
Reviewer: duff (Anonymous)
25 Sep 2006 2:40 am
Powerful story! I wonder why no one else seems to see that Rodney is asked, threatened, yelled at and generally required to perform miracles. And never a thank you or well done. I often wonder if he had received some positive feedback if he would not feel the need to point out his brilliance. Maybe? Maybe not. Regardless, your story makes a very valid point in a moving way. Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: Thank you - I do think Rodney really needs approval. Like many brilliant people, he's insecure. I was trying to show that, so I'm glad you thought this was effective.
1 of 1
Reviewer: diannelamerc (Signed)
02 Jun 2006 5:19 am
Ouch. Damn, *I'm* exhausted just reading that! And yeah, I can see it getting this far before they realize just how much they're always expecting of him. :/

Author's Response: It was kind of exhausting to write - I felt sort of breathless after, but I think that works here. So glad you enjoyed it. Our boy Rodney certainly has to put up with a lot!
1 of 1
Reviewer: Joolz (Signed)
22 May 2006 1:09 am
I've been wanting a story that deals with people's expectations of Rodney and how they, especially John, yell at him 'fix it', 'do it', 'save everyone'. And how that must affect Rodney, who's pretty high-strung as it is. Thanks for doing just that! But, he will be okay, right?

Author's Response: Rodney's much more of a survivor than people give him credit for - yeah, he'll be just fine. I sometimes get mad at the show because it's often the "McKay saves the day at the last minute" show - and with very little thanks. I'd like to see there be more consequences - this was my take on it. Thanks for commenting!
1 of 1
Reviewer: SylvanWitch (Signed)
14 May 2006 8:37 pm
Beautiful, subtle, and powerful, this story balances on the fine line between angst and drama and manages never to fall. Bravo! I like how you get inside Rodney's head; this is a very, very credible version of him. Just excellent-thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! It's always good to hear I'm managing to balance that line - it's hard to know when you're writing if you're succeeding.
1 of 1
Reviewer: Mangst (Anonymous)
10 May 2006 6:19 pm
I really liked this. You left just little clues through the story as to what was going on. They do expect alot form Rodney, don't they? I would like to see a sequel to this told from the others points of view. Just to see if I was guessing right about what happened.

Author's Response: Probably no sequel, but definitely I tried to make the details of Rodney's fall towards addiction clear in spite of the chaotic style. Thanks for reading!
1 of 1
Reviewer: Rayne (Anonymous)
10 May 2006 2:16 am
I liked that you addressed this situation. I could see Rodney's character resorting to whatever means it took to pull him through and get what needed doing done. I hope John gets around to giving him lots of hugs now that he's aware of the situation. Your story is beautifully done, Thank you for sharing.

Author's Response: I always felt that the show could have done more with Rodney and the concept of addiction - they let it go too easily, and I just couldn't. Glad you enjoyed the story.
1 of 1
Reviewer: Krysalys (Signed)
10 May 2006 2:05 am
God. This is just so... exquisitely painful in its beauty. Thank you for writing such a haunting piece. ----}-@

Author's Response: Thank you.
1 of 1
Reviewer: Shaddow (Anonymous)
10 May 2006 12:18 am
JEsus . . . that hurts . . . but so good. . . and just ouch.

Author's Response: *pets you* Sorry for the hurting - but Rodney just begs for angst.
1 of 1
Reviewer: fanficaddict (Anonymous)
09 May 2006 11:22 pm
ah, that was great! Poor Rodney :( I like the comparison you made with Sisyphus, very apt :D I'd love to read more if you have it, maybe something from john's pov or what happens next! Does Rodney get his tomorrow or was he dying? :D

Author's Response: I'm glad the Sisyphus parallel worked for you - seriously, it was the first thing I thought of with rock and roll. How weird is that? I don't think there'll be a sequel, but definitely Rodney's got John to help him through whatever comes next.
1 of 1
Reviewer: Pranksta (Anonymous)
09 May 2006 11:05 pm
All I have for you is jealousy! How did you do that? Write something so beautiful and intense, with such great style. It's so good! It has to happen sometimes, doesn't it? Rodney cannot possibly be that strong and I think you did it so well, making him fall under the weight he has to bear. Oh yeah, so very good!

Author's Response: Aw - thanks! I was experimenting with style here, so it's always nice to hear it worked.
1 of 1
Reviewer: Silverthreads (Anonymous)
09 May 2006 10:15 pm
Poor Rodney and all his companions, especially John. This is so touching and sad and so incredible. Even on the second reading.

Author's Response: I'm glad it bears a second reading. Thank you!!
1 of 1
Reviewer: Songspinner (Anonymous)
09 May 2006 9:04 pm
This bit really got me - "They need him to figure out how to open the doors and turn out the lights—because Sheppard lights up the place, but never remembers someone’s got to pay the electricity bill" What a great image! Powerful stuff here...

Author's Response: Thanks! That's one of the images I really like too.
1 of 1
Reviewer: Mystic (Anonymous)
09 May 2006 8:24 pm
Wow, this was intense and sad in a way. It was hard to figuer out what Rodney had done at first, but then it clicked and I was stunned that it had gone on so long to get to this point. Part of me knows this story is done, the other half wishes to see what happens next. Either way, great job, made me want to seriously hug Rodney.

Author's Response: I'm glad the story finally clicked - it's always tricky with a piece like this to make sure people get what's going on, but I guess that's part of the challenge. Thanks for reading!
1 of 1
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
09 May 2006 7:24 pm
Poor Rodney, having to go to such measures to live up to everyone's expectations. I'm glad John's there for him and hope Rodney realises it in time. Laura.

Author's Response: Rodney's under an incredible amount of stress in the show - and people are just realizing how much they rely on him. I'm quite sure John will be there for him. Thanks for reading!
1 of 1
Reviewer: becb (Anonymous)
09 May 2006 6:46 pm
Poor Rodney! I hope he gets better! Thank you for writing. I really enjoyed it. Please write a sequel!

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you enjoyed it. No sequel planned at this time, but thanks for the encouragement.
1 of 1
You must login (register) to review.