RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Formaldehyde (Signed)
21 Feb 2010 10:34 pm
I feel like some kinda sicko saying this, but man, I love this!

Author's Response: I'm glad you love it. There's nothing wrong with loving dark fic :D
Chapter 1 - Punishment
Reviewer: planetkiller (Anonymous)
18 Nov 2006 11:25 pm
Let me start off by saying this would be a wonderful original fiction. If you changed the names and places, I could see it getting published as a particularly dark Harlequin or the like. However, the characterisations appear off to me. I can't see Rodney McKay taking punishment from anyone. If anything, he'd be the dom. Also, John just seems off to me. I can't really explain it, but he doesn't *feel* like John. And nowhere in canon does Kavanagh's characterisation support this behaviour. So far he's been characterised as being Atlantis's version of SG1!Rodney. Both characters have recommended turning off the Stargate will others were trapped on the otherside in order to save himself. If one looks, you can see how remarkably similar they are. If I can't see McKay doing it, I can't really see Kav doing it either. This really is a wonderful story. It just needs a little work.

Author's Response: Sorry for taking a while to respond, but I thought that this needed more than a simple "thanks" *g*, although thank you for the comments. My own personal take on Rodney is that he's a lot more vulnerable than some of the writers on the series seem to show. Now I know this doesn't automatically make him a sub, because subs can be and are strong people, but I think he's the sort of person who could be manipulated if he was feeling lonely and isolated enough. I know about Kavanagh's characterisation and to be honest I have taken a lot of grief on some of my other fics about how I write him. The reason I use Kavanagh is because he's easy to use. I think that the character in the series is quite two-dimensional and it's easier to make him the 'bad guy' than it to do to some of the other characters. There is a further chapter of this but it's not archived on wraithbait. That chapter does show more of Kavanagh's motivations together with how he starts his campaign to ensnare Rodney. It's over on my livejournal if you want to read it. LJ user name pushkin666. I'm not trying to justify how I portray Rodney or Kavanagh in this fic. The problem with this is that it was only intended as a one-off and then I fell into the trap of agreeing to write more *g*. But once, again thanks for the comments and the thought out feedback.
Chapter 1 - Punishment
Reviewer: Llanea (Anonymous)
18 Nov 2006 7:06 pm
Hi me again, just a cyber nudge to your muse to inspire thie next chappy. Please hurry.

Author's Response: HI Llanea It hasn't been updated just yet but to let you know it probably won't be updated on wraithbait. I'm putting all of my stories on my livejournal account. Nothing to do with wraithbait, it's simply easier. My name over there (surprisingly *grins*) is pushkin666.

Author's Response: HI Llanea. I'm going completely mad. This has been updated (sigh). It's over at my livejournal or on the atlantiskink community on livejournal.
Chapter 3 - Confrontation
Reviewer: Allyana (Anonymous)
18 Sep 2006 1:52 pm
WOW, Could you do me a HUGE favour, when and if Weir finds out exact;y what Kavanaugh has done to poor Rodney, can you write in that she knees him in the privates, I've been trying to write it in one of mine for a while but none seem to fit, this story i believe is perfect. :->

Author's Response: I'll try, although after John finishes with him he might not have any balls left to be kneed. *grins*
Chapter 3 - Confrontation
Reviewer: Vixen Price (Anonymous)
10 Sep 2006 2:24 am
I don't normally give reviews like this, but I couldn't help but respond with something. I'll get the good stuff out of the way first. You have potential to write decent dark fic... But you lack the character's having motive for one. Why would Kavanagh be so abusive... it isn't typical of a dom. And saying it's Evil! doesn't justify it really. There has to be plot to why he's not even remotely close to canon. And on top of that... a little research into the world of bdsm/bondage would make this a lot more believable. I hardly find a relationship that seems like it was abusive from the beginning as ever gaining enough trust between the two of them to try bondage. And what of safe words... The anger that Kavanagh shows in this fic is beyond believable. Again I come to the motivation part. And what of McKay? He doesn't seem so desperate for a fuck to tolerat this... and he doesn't seem that scared of Kavanagh in the first three chapters to warrent returning to an obviously novice top. Put a reason for Kavanagh's actions in somewhere... explore the fear he could actually cause Mckay so much so to cause a fearing/abused reaction... and do a bit of research on bdsm culture... and it MIGHT have potential...

Author's Response: Thanks for the comments. This was originally meant to be a one-off but I was asked to write more. That's why it starts in the middle, and doesn't start off with background, motivation etc. As to Kavanagh in canon - what really is there about him? I personally think he's very two-dimensional, and therefore is one of those characters that you can play with to this extent. With regards to the comments about bdsm relationships - there are bdsm relationships where there are no safe words, especially in a relationship where one of the partners has never been involved in anything like this before (Rodney). How would he know about safe words? It's down to the top to introduce them to such things, and there are abusive bdsm relationships out there. There are sadists, and in this fic Kavanagh is one of them. He's not a safe top. PS I have done some research.
Chapter 1 - Punishment
Reviewer: Susan (Anonymous)
09 Sep 2006 12:44 am
I thought that you killed him in the last chapter. I was wondering what you meant about writing a third chapter. Nicely done. I loved the description of the marks all over his body. Nice establishing chapter, now let's hear from Rodney! :P

Author's Response: No, I wouldn't kill Rodney! I'm not that mean! You will be hearing from Rodney in chapter 4, he's not quite as cowed as Kavanagh would like to believe. Chapter 4 seems to be just evolving all of the time with some more background to Rodney and Kavanagh's relationship.
Chapter 3 - Confrontation
Reviewer: duff (Anonymous)
07 Sep 2006 10:10 pm
Kavanaugh has to be lower on the food chain than pond scum. I need to see him go down. More, please? Thanks.

Author's Response: He will, don't worry, although you get to see 'nice' Kavanagh in the next chapter, which is always worrying! The next chapter's taking a while because there's quite a lot to pack into it, including some background.
Chapter 3 - Confrontation
Reviewer: L (Anonymous)
07 Sep 2006 3:30 pm
I'm glad you're writing this with the idea Rodney will be saved from this eventually. I've read some fic ending where the abuse doesn't. One nitpick. Elizabeth doesn't need to be told John is Rodney's friend and would be worried. I'm sure she would understand John wanting to see Rodney for himself.

Author's Response: I don't know. I'm not a great fan of Weir to be honest with you. I think she'd want John to report first (but that's just my personal opinion). The one thing I will tell you is there are going to be two endings, one happy and one sad, but they will be clearly marked so people can avoid the unhappy one if they want. John will get uber-protective in the next chapter though, which is always good.
Chapter 3 - Confrontation
Reviewer: Susan (Signed)
30 Aug 2006 2:21 am
Holy hell! What kind of ending was that!?!?!?! I am truely terrified. *Lights own hair on fire and mutters 'Rodney's not dead, Rodney's not dead'* I'm freaking out here. If that was your goal, then good job!!!

Author's Response: Cheers *grins* Not quite sure what else I can say. I had hoped to get chapter 3 up this week but I don't think it's gonna happen as one of my beta's has been busy and I'm running off to my book launch tomorrow. So next week. I promise. You're gonna really have Kavanagh after the next chapter...
Chapter 2 - Falling
Reviewer: lisagslack14 (Signed)
29 Aug 2006 11:54 pm
I hope Sheppard kicks Kavanagh butt for hurting and almost killing Rodney

Author's Response: He will *grins* Don't worry. I was going to let Kavanagh off lightly but realised bad idea, especially if I didn't want to hide from my readers.
Chapter 2 - Falling
Reviewer: Crow (Anonymous)
29 Aug 2006 12:27 pm
***crying and blubbering like a baby*** Please John save him!!!! You are a very wicked woman! **grins evily** I love your style.I can't wait for more.

Author's Response: Oh dear, what are you going to do to me in the last chapter *grins*. Seriously John will rescue him just not yet... Chapter 4 is being a bugger to write. Hopefully I'll be able to pull it together soon. You think I'm wicked - wait until you see Kavanagh being 'nice'!
Chapter 1 - Punishment
Reviewer: angelwings (Anonymous)
28 Aug 2006 9:29 pm
oh.. this is getting good. i like the grow up will you line- make me think that rodney knows it a game, he just doesn't know how to stop playing, plus cav just changed the rules!

Author's Response: Poor Rodney. He really doesn't know what to do, especially when Kavanagh changes the rules again in chapter 3. *grins*. Glad you're enjoying.
Chapter 2 - Falling
Reviewer: Silverthreads (Anonymous)
28 Aug 2006 7:48 pm
Good to see this update!

Author's Response: Chapter 3 should be up in the next few days. Glad you're still reading *grins*
Chapter 2 - Falling
Reviewer: duff (Anonymous)
28 Aug 2006 12:41 pm
Like watching a train wreck, impossible not to. More soon, please?

Author's Response: Thanks, I think *grins*. The question of course is who will get off alive at the end? Chapter 3 is with my betas so should hopefully be up soon. I fully intend to finish this story within the next 2 weeks - only 4 more chapters to go.
Chapter 2 - Falling
Reviewer: Lena (Anonymous)
28 Aug 2006 11:06 am
Kavanagh needs to be feed to the Wraith!! Go John! Kick his ass and love it!! Then toss him to the Wraith, no one deserves it more!

Author's Response: Well John and Kavanagh face off in the next chapter, but chapter 4 is not wanting to be written. Not sure yet whether to kill Kavanagh off or not *grins*
Chapter 2 - Falling
Reviewer: Lena (Anonymous)
28 Aug 2006 10:40 am
I think a nice date with a Wraith would teach Kavanagh some respect! Poor Rodney, he's so much smarter than that!! If John doesn't rescue him, he should be tossed to the Wraith too!

Author's Response: Oh, he will get rescued but not just yet, and this will become a McShep. Chapter 3 is written and with my betas at the moment but I'm strugging with chapter 4/
Chapter 1 - Punishment
Reviewer: Sonia (Anonymous)
28 Aug 2006 9:41 am
Big cyberhugs if you turn this into a Sheppard/Mckay story. John would be the perfect "white knight". Or even better maybe Ronon can come to the rescue? *shivers*

Author's Response: Don't worry it will become a McShep, but there are going to be two alternate endings, a good one and a bad one. I can't write Ronon, don't know what it is but I just can't do it.
Chapter 2 - Falling
Reviewer: Elle (Anonymous)
28 Aug 2006 9:00 am
I really enjoyed this chapter, especially now John is aware of the situation. I loved the way John was so protective. Maybe John is protective for a reason?! Please, more soon.

Author's Response: Well as far as John is concerned Rodney is his, so wait until he find's out what Kavanagh's up to...
Chapter 2 - Falling
Reviewer: Cammi (Anonymous)
02 Aug 2006 12:35 am
Well you did a great job in your diolge, but I must ad mit the stroy was to short for my liking, any chances of a sequil? Maybe a few more, I would enjoy that very much.

Author's Response: Hi Cammi Yes there will be a few more chapters on this although it's not going to be a long story. Probably about 3 more chapters, with both a happy and a non happy ending. Poor Rodney, I'm so mean to him. *grins*
Chapter 1 - Punishment
Reviewer: angelwings (Anonymous)
05 Jun 2006 8:28 am
oh oh oh! poor silly rodney! whats he doing letting someone treat him like that?! oh please write a sequal- iwant Sheppard to find out! although the icing on the cake would be if Shep was just as abusive! (oh god i'm evil!)great story anyways. thanks.

Author's Response: Glad you liked. The thought of Kavanagh as Rodney's top is just nasty! I'm in a Kavanagh hurting Rodney mood at the moment :o) I have been asked to do a sequel where John rescues Rodney. It won't have abusive John but it will have very dominant John *grins* I already have one of the confrontations between John and Kavanagh written.

Author's Response: You've actually got me thinking now. I think I'm going to do two final chapters, the nice one and the not so nice one, where Shep is abusive. Do you mind if I credit you with the idea?
Chapter 1 - Punishment
You must login (register) to review.