RSS
Reviews For Retromancy

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: korilian (Anonymous)
11 Nov 2008 7:38 am
I loved this. Caldwell is an asshole, but at least knows he's an asshole. And Rodney being vicious and willing to go against what he believes in to protect what he loves and Sheppard not letting him, even if it goes against his own best interests were perfect! (long sentence whoo)
Reviewer: Doctor Science (Anonymous)
21 Aug 2008 10:26 pm
Just came across this from a mention on an LJ. Wonderfully fucked-up in every delicious way. I don't think a court-martial would be necessary, just discharge for conduct unbecoming. And I love the fact that Rodney was taking care of John when John needed something too impersonal for Rodney to give.
Reviewer: CaldwellFan (Anonymous)
30 Mar 2008 11:21 pm
Formerly Lauriebds in the Skinner world. I'm thinking this is the same JiM from that universe. I am still a big fan.

Author's Response: Yep, I'm that JiM. Apparently, I simply can't resist any character played by Mitch Pileggi.rnThanks for your kind words.
Reviewer: Manic (Signed)
08 Feb 2008 2:06 pm
"Yes, there's a problem, Colonel. Get off your knees; we're going to have a little chat."

Holy shit! My jaw just hit the floor! I'm almost afraid to find out what happens next! OMG! That comment is so Rodney ;)
Reviewer: Manic (Signed)
08 Feb 2008 1:56 pm
"Yes, there's a problem, Colonel. Get off your knees; we're going to have a little chat."

Holy shit! My jaw just hit the floor! I'm almost afraid to find out what happens next! OMG! That comment is so Rodney ;)
Reviewer: Sulien (Signed)
15 Oct 2007 1:36 am
Damn. This story is like a scab over a bad scrape, I have to keep poking at it and picking at it and making it bleed. Wow.

Pardon the weird analogy, but it's accurate for me here. Nicely done.
Reviewer: Haggy (Signed)
17 Sep 2007 6:45 am
I totally loved this, Caldwell is such a powerful character and he can be almost anything the writer wants him to be because we really know so little about him. It's easy to see Sheppard protecting him even when he knows the man doesn't trust him as far as he could throw him. huggles from Scotland
Reviewer: lq (Anonymous)
10 Sep 2006 3:35 am
wow, when you were in the xfiles fandom you captured skinner's voice, now in SG:A you've captured Cadwell's voice. You are a master of the prose...nice to 'see' you're still writing and always improving. I hope this years Altanis story arcs lead to more stories from you. I think you'd do a wonderful Koyla (sp?)/cadwell/sheppard triangle angst--h/c story...you have wonderful voice..keep using it...lq.
Reviewer: Icarus (Anonymous)
21 Jul 2006 8:01 pm
JiM, I'm really impressed. You nailed Caldwell's voice. The Sheppard/Caldwell sex was really hot (destroyed by sex with Stephen Caldwell? Oh man...) but your observations about Caldwell make this story. The disappointment when he realizes, okay, it's over. The fact that he knows he can't give John what he needs. The poignant realization that he rarely lets himself have what he wants, and can't believe that it turned out all right. I respect this Caldwell because of his self-honesty and total lack of jealousy. He genuinely wants John to have whatever he's getting with Rodney and doesn't regret what he did for a moment. I recc'd it here. Icarus
Reviewer: forestgreen (Anonymous)
21 Jul 2006 4:43 pm
I liked this story a lot. Caldwell is a character who doesn't get explore too much in this fandom and seeing things from his POV was rather refreshing. I liked the pragmatic no-bull-shit way he has of analysing his actions and the reasons behind it. Nice story. Thanks for sharing it.
Reviewer: imogenedisease (Signed)
21 Jul 2006 2:38 pm
Wow. You turned something that would normally seriously squick me into something extraordinarily fascinating. Seriously great work.
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
13 Jun 2006 6:19 pm
Great story. I liked the ambiguity of it, seen through Caldwell's eyes and him not really knowing what his feelings and motivations were. I felt bad for John, who genuinely didn't seem to realise just how much Caldwell was using him and how much he was taking with no giving back. I loved Rodney's efficiency in dealing with Caldwell and how he was so feircely protecting John when John didn't even know he needed it. It made me feel maliciously pleased that Caldwell started wondering what he'd missed after he so summarily called things to a halt, and how he started to notice that John was obviously getting what he himself could have given from elsewhere. I'm glad that my hope- that Rodney stepping in was because he knew he could do better for John, had real feelings for him- turned out to be true. Laura.
Reviewer: califmole (Anonymous)
10 Jun 2006 10:47 am
Ooh, very interesting story. A bit like watching a trainwreck unfold before your eyes. I like what you've done with Caldwell here--this seems very much in character with him. Love the ambiguity of Caldwell's POV which leaves us guessing just what is going on in John's head. Very effective. Thanks for writing & sharing.
Reviewer: the witch in winter (Anonymous)
09 Jun 2006 9:26 pm
What a lovely little tale...JiM you are the master.
Reviewer: Frappels (Anonymous)
09 Jun 2006 2:10 pm
This story was amazing! I've enjoyed your work in the X-Files fandom and I'm so glad to see you writing in the SGA fandom. No pressure, but it would be great if you could codify this story with a companion piece as to how John and Rodney got together after the whole Caldwell incident. Thank you again for this fic.
You must login (register) to review.