RSS
Reviews For The Photograph

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Atlantis_Angel (Signed)
17 Apr 2011 7:48 pm
I absolutely loved this, it was amazing. Did it ever get finished? Was it continued? I so want to find out what happened to the 3 of them.
Once and Only - 5/5
Reviewer: Gemma (Anonymous)
06 Aug 2009 3:12 pm
Holy cow I haven't read the first chapter yet but you wrote that Mckay had a daughter named Emily. I Was Going to do that! Spooky or what.I even picked the same name.Just had to get that offmy chest.
The Photograph
Reviewer: B_C (Anonymous)
08 May 2007 8:44 pm
This was a wonderful story. The emotions were really well written.
I'm glad to see families being allowed on Atlantis and for Rodney and John making one for little Emily. :)

Author's Response: Families in Atlantis are inevitable - at least the way I look at it. It's just a matter of time really. As for John and Rodney making a family for Emily ... you know any family made up of John Sheppard and Rodney McKay would never be what people would see as "normal" which makes them interesting and fun. I'm glad that you've enjoyed this story so far, I hope you keep enjoy it too when I branch this thing off into the new series bit. Thanks for the review!
Once and Only - 5/5
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
07 May 2007 7:39 pm
Some great John/Emily moments in this chapter, proving that he's just as committed to this as Rodney is. I liked how he dealt with the tough questions and the fears of a little girl. Great news about families being allowed to go to Atlantis and I'm looking forward to seeing where things go from here.

Laura.

Author's Response: I wasn't sure how people would react to John answering Emily's difficult questions verse having Rodney answer them. But I am really glad that you enjoyed this chapter! Thanks for all of the reviews you given so far!
Once and Only - 5/5
Reviewer: emma (Anonymous)
03 Jan 2007 4:33 am
interesting

Author's Response: Thanks!
Once and Only - 4/5
Reviewer: haggy (Anonymous)
08 Dec 2006 2:58 pm
oh lord, what happens next?????

Author's Response: Well... if you'll lean just a little closer, I might whisper the next details into your ear... But, since you can't actually lean through a monitor screen I will let the next parts of the story speak for themselves?rnrnI'm glad you are enjoying the story though. Thanks for taking the time to review!
Once and Only - 4/5
Reviewer: Allanaya (Anonymous)
05 Dec 2006 4:29 pm
Evident by those words of wisdome i am presuming you are also a parent? really good interaction between him and his daughter and him and john + co, love the story next bit soon please?

Author's Response: No, no children of my own. I had worked for a number of years with young children and the words of wisdom you speak of came from simple observation and experience too. I'm glad you like this, and thank you for the review! More to come soon, I promise.
Once and Only - 4/5
Reviewer: duff (Anonymous)
04 Dec 2006 11:01 pm
This is such a fascinating tale. You have done such a good job of creating rich and complex characterizations. I like that Chloe is not a bad or mean-spirited person. But, having said that, if her mental problems are not real, will she and Jim still want to give up Chloe? Looking forward to the next phase. Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: I don't think Rodney would ever really fall for some who was essencially bad or mean - though slightly bitter about something maybe. Thank you for the review and I'm glad you are enjoying the series.
Once and Only - 4/5
Reviewer: luvsciencegeeks (Signed)
04 Dec 2006 11:01 pm
WHERE'S THE REST OF IT??? Damn, this is good. I just love it, all the parts of it. The relationship between John and Rodney is perfectly written, and the sex is hot. Elizabeth's reactions are fantastic--her reaction at hearing about the abortions is perfect. John's mom is just exactly what I'd want her to be for him. I can so see this happening with Rodney's ex wife, and you've put the whole package together seamlessly. Excellent fic. THANKS!

Author's Response: Lol! I'm really glad you are enjoying this, and I'm happy to know that I'm pulling it all together in such a way that seems believable. Thank you for the review! More to come soon, I promise
Once and Only - 4/5
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
04 Dec 2006 7:36 pm
Yay, an update :). And a great update it was too. I loved Eileen, giving her ear and her advice to both boys. I'm hoping that Rodney and John are on a more even keel now and that there will be no more foolishness about John going back and Rodney staying. Dinner was great, right from the initial meeting between Rodney and Emily on the doorstep. She has definite Rodney-traits and it was amusing to see him confronted with them for a change. I liked her acceptance of Rodney and the fact that she'd be living with him soon. It takes some of the worries away. John and Jim's conversation was another good aspect of the story. It gave a lot of insight into their lives and motivations. It made it much easier to see why they were seemingly willing to give Emily up just like that and made me like Jim more. As for Chloe and Rodney's talk, I'm glad Rodney gave her the little piece of mind she could get from knowing that she hadn't imagined the NID and their threats. I'm looking forward to seeing what happens next. Laura.

Author's Response: Rodney tends to steam-roll over people. It would be the universe's sense of humour to have the only person who is able to steam-roll over Rodney be his own flash and blood. And i'm glad you liked her. I was worried about the kind of recption she might get (specially after all the build-up of her absent character). I have to admit that introducing the driving factors for the custody exchange were part of introducing Emily's life - they were also the shaping details of the current chapter. If Chloe and Jim were any other way, Emily would have probably hit the roof when Rodney arrived. But I'm gald you like this, and that I was able to make the 'bad-ish guys' seem more real and likeable with understandable motivations. Now I'm off to keep writing the next part. Thank you for the wonderful review! Jade
Once and Only - 4/5
Reviewer: BC (Anonymous)
04 Dec 2006 4:21 pm
I really love John's mom. She's good to Rodney and he needs that. :) Very sweet his meeting Emily. She's definitely his child, what with the talking and being advanced for her years. A closet glimpse of Rodney at that age. :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you like Emily and Eileen. They have to be by two favourite OC to write for. Thank you for the review!
Once and Only - 4/5
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
15 Oct 2006 6:20 am
Oh. Suddenly my dislike of Chloe has vanished in a puff of smoke, to be replaced by saddness and anger (though not too much, cause it wouldn't be right for Rodney never to have met John). I feel bad for Rodney too, suddenly finding out that it wasn't ever anything he'd done. And then there's John, slowly falling into despair at his impending loss of Rodney. I hope Rodney, not the most observant man, granted, but I hope he figures out John's woory soon and puts him straight. It's concerning that he's apparently expecting John to go back to Atlantis, because it wouldn't be fair to ask him to stay with Rodney, but I hope he gets over that idea soon. I liked Jim Dawson, he seems to have done right by Chloe, Emily and Rodney all these years. Looking forward to more. Laura.

Author's Response: No, it would not be right for Rodney to have never met John. I'd have nothing to write about - no great love affiar to detail and life would be boring. With the lack of certanty about the response to families in Atlantis the tension with the boys believing that this is going to be it is one of the resons I'm enjoying writing this so much. And I'm glad you like Jim Dawson, sort of stick figure that he currently is at the moment. And I hope you continue to find his character interesting when the next part gets put up. Thanks for the review - I can't describe how much I look forward to your reviews. Jade
Once and Only - 3/5
Reviewer: mercury973 (Anonymous)
13 Oct 2006 3:35 pm
You better continue this store stat! When I read the 1st chapter, I was slighty interested, but as I read on, it became very interesting. Now this past one, wow. Please keep it up.

Author's Response: Lol, I'm writing part four as we speak. I'm glad I was able to draw your interest out in the story. Thanks for the review.
Once and Only - 3/5
Reviewer: A Cat Called McKay (Anonymous)
13 Oct 2006 8:53 am
AH you need to write teh next chapter soon please realy like it.

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! Thanks for the review.
Once and Only - 3/5
Reviewer: duff (Anonymous)
13 Oct 2006 4:11 am
This is so good. moremoremore! Thanks

Author's Response: You're most welcome. Glad to see you are enjoying the story. Thank you for your review.
Once and Only - 3/5
Reviewer: Blackbirdie136 (Anonymous)
13 Oct 2006 2:28 am
Your story is amazing! I'm a big McShep fan, and I have to say that so far this is one of the most touching and simultaneously suspeseful fics in that category that i've read. Really, when are we going to meet Emily? I've been waiting patiently, and I thought maybe we'd see her in this chapter... Also, when is Elizabeth going to come through with permission to have families on Atlantis? You can't leave Rodney on Earth!! And, excellent plot twist with the nefarious schemes of the NID and IOA. Seriously, great work, though you could perhaps use another beta reader. I've come across several typos in each chapter, as well as a few other little nit-picky things that could be better. I'm an English major, and have some experience with proof reading, and I'd be glad to help out with that if you'd like. You can contact me at kmcnic1@luc.edu if you'd like some help. Nevertheless, you have something really wonderful in the works here, so keep up the good work! All the best, Blackbirdie

Author's Response: McShep was how I was introduced to SGA fandom (before I'd even seen the show!). We're going to meet Emily soon, I was going to introduce her in this part, but realized I still had some ground work to put in place first. As for Elizabeth, well I'd hint at when she's coming in and what kind of response she'll bring with her, but that would be a spoiler ^_- I'm really glad you are enjoying this story, I didn't think I would get as good a response to the story as I have, since it's Kid!fic and one of those squick types of stories. As for the thought of a third beta, you should have an e-mail in your inbox soon, I sort of feel behind in responding to my reviews. Thanks for the taking the time to review, it's much appreciated. Jade
Once and Only - 3/5
Reviewer: BC (Anonymous)
13 Oct 2006 1:59 am
Keep it coming this is good stuff. :) *L* I so love Mrs. Sheppard, grandbaby indeed. But its good to know that she'll accept John and his little "family". Now, for the rest. ACK! Ruttin' NID. I hope everything goes smooth and they can get off earth soon.

Author's Response: You just know that Shep's mom would have to be the accepting sort. The next part should be coming up soon - I just need to like, kidnap my muse. Thanks for the review!
Once and Only - 3/5
Reviewer: Azar Darkstar (Anonymous)
13 Oct 2006 1:58 am
Interesting. Very interesting. I don't think I have ever read a story quite like this. The little interludes at the beginning are a nice touch. I am looking forward to an update.

Author's Response: *G* It's nice to know that I'm doing something original with a theme that I've found to be very interesting in the SGA fandom. Thanks for the review, and I'm glad you are enjoying this.
Once and Only - 3/5
Reviewer: Krysalys (Signed)
26 Sep 2006 4:18 am
Oh, this is a lovely series. I'm looking forward to seeing where you go with this. BTW - are you on LiveJournal? -----}-@

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it. And yes, I'm on LiveJournal, the link is on my profile page. Though there really isn't much on it right now - I only recently discovered the joys of LJ.
Once and Only - 2/5
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
23 Sep 2006 6:46 pm
Love John's mum, how she so quickly sized up the situation and what Rodney was to John, plus how completely unbothered she was. It was a relief after John's uncertainty about going to see her. It sounds like she and Rodney will get on fine :). Can't wait for more. Oh, before I forget: Loved the hot hotel scenes too! Laura.

Author's Response: *G* With a son like John any mother would have to be insightful and quick on her feet, as well as accepting. And thanks, the hotel scenes were surprisingly more difficult to write than I thought they would be. Thanks for the review!
Once and Only - 2/5
You must login (register) to review.