RSS
Reviews For The Photograph

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: MysticalTis (Signed)
23 Sep 2006 12:11 pm
brilliant story so far, keep it up!

Author's Response: Thanks!
Once and Only - 2/5
Reviewer: duff (Anonymous)
23 Sep 2006 4:05 am
Really interesting story. I love John's mom. Looking forward to more. Thanks.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I'm happy you are enjoying the story so far!
Once and Only - 2/5
Reviewer: Manic (Anonymous)
23 Sep 2006 1:34 am
LOL! I really loved the interaction in this chapter. And I loved mom.

Author's Response: They were fun to write, if a little challenging (making them all the more funner - I know it's not a word but...). And I'm glad you liked mom too. That's almost what she's like isn't it? Everyone's mom? Heh. Thanks for the review!
Once and Only - 2/5
Reviewer: BC (Anonymous)
22 Sep 2006 8:47 pm
*L* Gotta love John's mom. She even likes Rodney by the looks of it. :)Love the look at John's family.

Author's Response: Lol, I'm glad you liked her!
Once and Only - 2/5
Reviewer: annajo (Anonymous)
22 Sep 2006 7:39 pm
luv u! luv u! luv u! What a fantastic chapter!!!!! You keep getting better and better. Really looking forward to the next piece. Seriously...this was VERY well done!!

Author's Response: I'm really glad you like this, and I'm happy that I'm improving. Thanks for the review!
Once and Only - 2/5
Reviewer: Haley Teague (Anonymous)
22 Sep 2006 6:23 pm
What a great characterization of John's mom! This story is a lot of fun--I can't wait to see more of it. I'm also interested in what Rodney's ex's issues is that she ran like she did. Excellent suspense build up and great job portraying the characters.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you liked John's mom, she's really very fun to write. As for Chloe, I can't mention anything here without giving something away for the next chapter, so I will have to keep you in the dark. But thank you for the review. I'm glad you like this story, it's fun to write.
Once and Only - 2/5
Reviewer: Meb (Anonymous)
21 Sep 2006 11:33 pm
Wonderful is this story. Yey yep. write more please, pretty please.

Author's Response: i'm glad you liked it. And more will be forthcoming - as soon as I can translate the legal speach conserning custody laws in the USA.
Once and Only - 1/5
Reviewer: duff (Anonymous)
21 Sep 2006 9:46 pm
Wow, this is so compelling. I love that you are addressing an issue that would be huge in real life, and has not been addressed on the show. If you cannot have your family, doesn't that make the whole struggle hollow? Looking forward to more. Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. And I think that - given a little more time - this very issue will -have- to be delt with on SGA. But it is true, does not having your family, or even just your loved ones from home, around make the fight seem less important? Or does it make fighting simpler? Thanks for the review!
The Photograph
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
21 Sep 2006 8:02 pm
Excellent chapter. Very tense as Rodney made his points and then John added his own. I can see both sides to the arguement. It's like putting families on the Enterprise in Star Trek; does it make a person more vulnerable because their family could be in danger, or does it make them fight harder to protect them? It's difficult, but personally I think families should be allowed. What are hey fighting for if not the freedom and safety of their families? And how bitter is it that they're fighting for the very thing they can't have if Elizabeth carries on this way? I'm glad they seemed to get through to her, especially John saying he'd go back to Earth for Rodney, after saying he'd never return. It seems to have hit home with Elizabeth at last. I was sad for the five abortions and sadder that the women that had them were right about being sent to Earth. Looking forward to the next part. Laura.

Author's Response: I'm really glad you liked this chapter and the different stands the characters took. It's a difficult choice that they are faced with - and a very personal one. Not everyone is going to want to have their families at ground zero, but other still will want to keep them close. I tried to show those two views between Rodney and Elizabeth, and I'm glad to see it worked. As for the abortions, I wish I hadn't had to put them in there, but something had to change Elizabeth's mind - not just John's choice. But thank you for the review!
Once and Only - 1/5
Reviewer: BC (Anonymous)
21 Sep 2006 4:55 pm
Very thoughtful and Elizabeth finally caught a clue. :) They are as she first thought "over grown children" and beautiful and close friends. But they are also two men who need each other.

Author's Response: Exactly. And the fall out of that realization will be in an up-coming chapter. I'm glad you liked it, thanks for the review!
Once and Only - 1/5
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
16 Aug 2006 2:43 pm
I loved this chapter. It was by turns melancholy- Rodney writing it all down for Emily even though he didn't think she'd ever get the letters; sad- Sissy getting killed by the Wraith; hot- needs no explanation *g*; sweet- those same letters where Rodney tells Emily about his feelings for John; and hopeful- John's news at the end. I can't wait to see what happens. Has he found her? And what will it mean if he has? We know Rodney was conflicted about giving up Atlantis and John for Emily. Hopefully it will all work out. Laura.

Author's Response: Is it sad to say that I'm glad you liked Sissy? I'm always so leary about putting in an OC because everyones expectations of them seem so different. But I am really glad you liked this chapter, too! The letters to Emily were a way of building her character without actually introducing her just yet. Thanks for reviewing! ~Jade

Author's Response: Is it sad to say that I'm glad you liked Sissy? I'm always so leary about putting in an OC because everyones expectations of them seem so different. But I am really glad you liked this chapter, too! The letters to Emily were a way of building her character without actually introducing her just yet. Thanks for reviewing! ~Jade
Finding Emily
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
16 Aug 2006 1:51 pm
Great start. I loved the flashback to their capture and Rodney's reaction to the Genii threatening the photo. I also liked how John drew Rodney out of his perilous slide into grief. Sure, the initial push was harsh, but it got Rodney talking and allowed John to comfort him. I have no words for Chloe. It would have been one thing for her to leave if Rodney was being his usual oblivious self, but he seemed to have been so doting and caring, so her actions are completely selfish it seems. I wonder what will come of John's favour from Caldwell. Laura.

Author's Response: Sometimes you need to give that almost brutal shove to get someone off the edge of that cliff. Rodney seems like someone who would need that kind of push. I'm glad you enjoyed the first part! Thanks for reviewing.
The Photograph
Reviewer: Cooksterbird (Anonymous)
15 Aug 2006 4:19 pm
Oh wow, that was a fantastic combination of angst and adorable!! But please tell me that is not the end - I need more! honestly you can't leave it there without causing me permanent upset!! Keep the great stuff coming!

Author's Response: Lol, it's just the end of the chapter, even I am more than a little curious about how it will all turn out. So I guess that means I should really knuckle down and finish the next chapter, eh? I'm glad you enjoyed this! Thanks for reviewing.
The Photograph
Reviewer: starfox (Anonymous)
15 Aug 2006 4:08 pm
Oh, you're writing Rodney-daughter fic, and it's so painful-angsty-lovely. You've raised so many questions in these chapters (why did Chloe leave, what's Emily like, etc), and I can't wait to see the answers.

Author's Response: I love my angst, and I'm glad you enjoyed the story thus far. Answers will be forth coming, I promise. Thanks for reviewing!
Finding Emily
Reviewer: tracy-thenaggingone (Anonymous)
15 Aug 2006 2:08 pm
heck no it is not THE END!!! its just the beginning you will have more of this right??? soon??? Wonderful wonderful job. Read it twice because my heart was just pounding and my mouth dry the first time.

Author's Response: Lol, not the end, just the end of that chapter, I promise *g*. And I'mhappy you liked it! Thanks for reviewing!
Finding Emily
Reviewer: Caro (Anonymous)
20 Jun 2006 12:02 am
Oh you have to continue this!!!!! Please?? pretty please??? ... with cherries on top??

Author's Response: Really? Cherries? Lol, but, I do so solomly swear that I am writing a second part to this story. It's just taking longer than I expected it to. Thanks for the encouraging review!
The Photograph
Reviewer: mckaysgenius (Anonymous)
19 Jun 2006 9:34 pm
I loved this story. You have to write a sequel. I need to know that Emily has been found and hopefully Chloe has met with an unfortunate demise that will require Rodney resuming custody on Atlantis. Thanks for the story.

Author's Response: I'm still working on the Chloe details and the custody ones as well. It's really hard to find the military's stance on taking children to an isolated base. But I'm really glad you enjoyed this story, and thank you for reviewing.
The Photograph
Reviewer: Akro (Anonymous)
19 Jun 2006 8:50 pm
OMGEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Please write more. Lots more. Oodles more. Like, *now*.

Author's Response: Lol, I'm working on the sequel, I promise. Though it won't be finished for another few weeks. Thanks for reviewing though!
The Photograph
Reviewer: Mystic (Anonymous)
19 Jun 2006 8:35 pm
Oh NO! You can't leave it here, you really can't. You had me wiping tears in my eyes (I'm a mom) and then to just cut us off like that... Please, begging for a sequel and happy ending. Rodney needs his daughter and the military has tons of resources...please? Willing to use bibery.

Author's Response: I'm kind of glad I didn't end it where I had originally planned to then. I was going to stop writing the paragraph after Rodney annouces that he doesn't even know if Emily knows who he is. I'm going to write a sequel to this, since Photograph is a story complete in and of itself. I'm really glad that you enjoyed this story, and thank you for reviewing. But I can't promise a completely happy ending, but I'll do my best.
The Photograph
Reviewer: Linda (Anonymous)
19 Jun 2006 6:41 pm
This just begs for a sequel. Or at least and explanation of why Chloe took Emily. I really hope you follow up on this.

Author's Response: I'm hoping to do both - the sequel and the explanation. Thank you for reviewing, I'm glad you enjoyed it.
The Photograph
You must login (register) to review.