RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: lizlou (Signed)
26 Jul 2010 6:55 pm
Wonderful story. Had me totally captivated throughout and in need of a box of tissues after Rodney's accident! Think you captured their doubts and insecurities perfectly.
Chapter One
Reviewer: Marsali (Signed)
24 Feb 2010 5:02 pm
I have to let you know that this was the most wonderful story about rodney and john that I ever read. I love it so, SO much! Thank you for writing that. It really made my day.
Chapter Ten
Reviewer: casuba (Anonymous)
15 Aug 2008 8:03 pm
thank you sooo much for this-and thank you to the gentleman who handed me a tissue when a few tears got loose on my way home from work on the london tube when i read what happened to rodney when he went to meet john ! my heart just ACHED for them so much
love ,love loved it xx
Chapter Ten
Reviewer: bizzy (Anonymous)
29 Jun 2008 4:01 am
Wow. It's so rare to find a truly long story in this (or any other) fandom that is so thoroughly captivating. The writing is terrific and the characters are so, well, in character. I've read this a half dozen times and I still find myself enthralled with it each and every time. You have a wonderful style. It's a rare author that can draw someone into a story so thoroughly. Your descriptions were so vivid, I felt like I was there alongside the characters. Brava and keep up the good work!
Chapter One
Reviewer: Jantique (Signed)
06 May 2008 12:23 pm
I enjoyed this story very much. BTW, nice touch having Cary and Deborah filming AATR while John and Rodney are there!

I wish you'd write more. You're really very good at it.
Chapter Two
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
23 Jul 2007 1:10 pm
Wow!
Chapter Ten
Reviewer: rasah (Signed)
02 Apr 2007 3:51 pm
it seems like a story this long deserves a long review but all i can really think to say is that i realy, really enjoyed this and will look out for any of your future stories. i have a terrible habit (my brother says terrible, i don't realy see the probem myself) of staying up all night reading if i get caught up in something, and i did it with this one! it was so well written that i just couldn't bring myself to stop reading. thanks & have a good evening!
Chapter One
Reviewer: Andree (Anonymous)
10 Mar 2007 12:07 pm
There are two things, Tira. I love the story, it's really nicely done, not too sappy, not too over-honeyed. It is worth some hours of a very enjoyable reading. But... where the heck did you come up with this "Seignior"?? This doesn't exist in any language. Senor perhaps in Spanish or seigneur in French. But nobody calls anybody seigneur anymore since at least two centuries. Okay for Monseigneur, which would be Monsignore. But why didn't you just simply go with Monsieur? And the last thing... I have no idea in which time span you have put this story but if you have put it in this time now... it might even have come to other countries that Europe changed their different currencies in EUROS, no more French francs etc. I am sorry to nag and rant about this but I truly hate it when people misuse words from other languages without being sure that they are correct. I regret that a little bit because it diminishes the effect of this really good story. I apologize if I have hurt your feelings with my ranting, that was not my intention, but I couldn't help it anymore, I simply had to let it out.

Author's Response: Hi. Thanks for the correction on 'seignior'. I'm not French. I had help with some of the words, but that one I looked up on the internet. So much for internet accuracy. As for the francs - the story is set in the 1950s, just like the movie. Euros didn't exist then. You didn't hurt my feelings, but I must say that if those are the only comments to be made after a story that long, you sort of missed the point of the story. Cheers
Chapter One
Reviewer: quezovercoatl (Signed)
26 Feb 2007 10:58 pm
Hi, I just wanted to let you know how totaly amazing your story is. I read the first chapter last night at work and I couldn't wait to get home so I could read the rest of the story. And once I started I couldn't stop reading (except to grab some tissues) I loved the story so much I was almost sad I reached the end of it. I'll be signing off now as it's 6 am and I have to get up in a couple of hours to go to work again.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words. So sorry about the tissues and the missed sleep.
Chapter Ten
Reviewer: Claire (Anonymous)
22 Jan 2007 2:41 am
That is brilliant, just brilliant. A very enjoyable read, so much so that I couldn't drag myself away to go to bed! You are very talented, and this story is a true testiment to that. I can almost see it as an unrelated short story (minus the Stargate names and such, of course). Many thanks for sharing with us!

Author's Response: You are most welcome, Claire. Thank you for all your kind comments. I'm so glad you enjoyed it.
Chapter One
Reviewer: Martha (Anonymous)
20 Jan 2007 5:10 am
I come back to this story whenever I need to have my spirits lifted, and I don't believe I've ever thanked you for it. So -- thank you! This brings me such, *such* pleasure.

Author's Response: Hi, Martha. Wow. Thanks so much. So glad it gives you comfort. That is a really amazing compliment to give a writer. Cheers
Chapter Ten
Reviewer: Ellex (Signed)
02 Jan 2007 7:26 pm
This is the *third* time I've read this story, so I'd better say something, huh? I love it. One of these days I'll have to see the film you based it on, although I'm sure it won't be nearly as wonderful as your version.

Author's Response: Thanks so much. The film is a little dated, with no sex, but I always loved it. You might enjoy it. Cheers
Chapter Ten
Reviewer: A Cat Called McKay (Anonymous)
22 Dec 2006 11:31 pm
wow my plan was to read the first couple of chapter befour I go to me bed but its now half five in the morning just had to finish it and I loved it all. loved laura and carson being so loving and protective of rodney. and Teyla being john grandmother was wonderful. the interaction between rodney and john was amazing and I was so sad when they didnt get to meet on july 1st but happy ending so good stuff. Amazing fic

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your kind words. I'm really glad you liked the story. It was fun fitting the other crew members in in different roles. Cheers
Chapter Ten
Reviewer: Dark_Whispers (Anonymous)
12 Sep 2006 8:11 pm
That was so beautiful.. I've got tears in my eyes it was so beautiful!! Man, really wish you could find love like that in the real world. Thankyou SO much for writing this..*hugs*

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed the story. I, too, wish you could find that kind of love in the real world. LOL Hugs
Chapter Ten
Reviewer: Tracey (Anonymous)
06 Sep 2006 6:49 pm
Dear Tira Nog Does your name have anything to do with the Irish Tir na Nog? Just interested. Anyway, I’m writing this to let you know how much I absolutely LOVED your story ‘An Affair To Remember’. I started it in the evening and couldn’t stop till I was done the next morning. I lost count of the number of times I cried! It was so amazing and heart breaking. It was also so funny! You wrote Rodney perfectly! So that’s enough of my ramblings. I hope you are still writing! Can you please send me links to any other stories you wrote? That would be great. Thank you for a wonderful story!

Author's Response: Hi, Tracey! Yes, my name is a corruption of the Irish Tir na Nog. Good catch! Thanks so much for your kind words on aAtR. So glad you liked it. Rodney is always a joy to work with. He's just so flambouyant. LOL If you're looking for more of my stuff, you might want to check out my website at tiranog.southroad.com. Cheers
Chapter One
Reviewer: Pixie Smith (Anonymous)
26 Aug 2006 7:13 pm
I can't remember if I've reviewed this one either, but let me tell you, all of your stories blow my mind. With this story, the final scene where John finds out Rodney's a cripple constantly runs through my mind. And the part where Rodney thinks his lost his ability to walk for someone who didn't make it. And every time I reread it, my stomach muscles clench and my eyes water. You're a wonderful writer and I adore your work.

Author's Response: Thank you so very much for your incredible feedback. I'm so happy you enjoyed aAtR. It was one of my favorites to write. Thanks again.
Chapter Ten
Reviewer: Ansku (Signed)
08 Aug 2006 5:26 pm
So beautiful and painful and adorable... I think you just killed me with this story. Well, at least you killed my chances of waking up early enough to make it to work in time, I just couldn't stop reading for mundane things like sleep... It was perfect and I'd love to read more :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much. Hope the killing thing was metaphor! LOL And I'm sorry about the late start! Cheers
Chapter Ten
Reviewer: with_an_apostrophe (Anonymous)
22 Jul 2006 11:57 am
You know I first read this less than a month ago, and yet here I am re-reading and feeling every moment of delight, despair and bitter-sweetness as intensely as the first time. I can't understand why I didn't leave a review the first time! Maybe I was too overcome with emotion.... Tira, please keep writing in this fandom (not a HP fan I have to say) because we need the writers who are as good as you to keep writing. I keep certain stories / writers in reserve to take away the memory of the horror of some of the less well crafted stories I have read! My words are inadequate to express how thrilled and moved I am.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your amazing feedback. I'm so happy you enjoyed the story. I think SGA as more problems than other fandoms because we have so much flashfic. We have a ton of great writers; they're just not writing full stories. Sigh. Anyway, thanks again.
Chapter Ten
Reviewer: Cylin (Signed)
09 Jul 2006 12:26 pm
That was so utterly beautiful, I can’t believe it. Only few stories captivated me and made me go from deliriously happy to my gut churning with sympathetic pain like this one has. Sometimes you had me on the edge of my seat with painful anticipation and sometimes I dreaded reading on for fear of the outcome, but I couldn’t put it aside even if I tried. And now I need comfort chocolate…It was quite an emotional rollercoaster ride…It’s a magnificent work of art, because truly, it is art. I loved the way you described the locations in so much little details, that it felt to me I was really there… actually it always felt like you described them from fresh memory yourself. And I was totally stunned by the rich repertoire of descriptions of feelings and facial expressions you have in this story. I really do envy you for that. This truly is both chokingly sad at times, but so positive towards life it left me with a very satisfied happy tingling. Thank you!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words! I can't tell you how much I appreciate your taking the time to write. I'm especially glad that the descriptions worked. I spent hours on line researching the French Riviera, since I'd never been there and was terrified the locations would seem flat. Thanks so much for letting me know they worked for you. Hope this finds you happy and healthy. So sorry about the rollercoaster ride! :)
Chapter Ten
Reviewer: Ellex (Signed)
04 Jul 2006 4:11 pm
I have to admit, I had my doubts about a McShep AU based on 'An Affair to Remember'. But I'm so glad I tried the story anyways, because it was marvelous. You did a fabulous job on this story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I'm so happy you liked it.
Chapter Ten
You must login (register) to review.