RSS
Reviews For Helical

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Dorothy Marley (Signed)
14 Sep 2007 11:41 pm
I just wanted to let you know how much I've enjoyed this story. I know from your notes on other reviews that you had planned more to the story, but I have to admit that I rather enjoyed being flung into the deep end. And while the ending was uncertain, the story had already given me confidence in the characters' abilities to get through anything they had to. There was the promise of struggle and hardship and the very real possibility that John might not be all right, but I found that I was okay with that because you had done such a wonderful job of convincing me that the four of them would help each other through.

In particular, I loved the way the team was able to comfort one another, and you did a wonderful job of making their offers of physical comfort non-sexual--or, more to the point, non-seductive--while at the same time still allowing the characters to be aware of their bodies and sexuality. It spoke of a level of emotional ease between them that, I felt, did more than several pages of tedious exposition would have to explain how much they had all come to rely upon each other, and how long they had been in this struggle together. Such a lovely story, and thanks for sharing it.
Reviewer: Jennifer (Anonymous)
02 Sep 2006 7:17 pm
Oh, just found this! I haven't been at this site for a while, and decided to check on you guys....Lovely, lovely piece, as always. I enjoy the way you write the team, so close and bonded and teasing, and I could hear all their voices so well. Loved the whole "John panic attack/Iratus bug" redux scene - poor boy! And please let us know how they wound up here, and how they get back.... Yes, it would be *very* cruel to leave the story hanging that way!
Reviewer: Drakcir (Signed)
01 Jul 2006 12:48 pm
Slightly confused by the ending... unless of course, it's not The Ending, only the end-right-now. Glad you wrote about John dealing with the aftermath of 'Conversion', I can totally see this happening, but this REALLY needs to be continued.... please?

Author's Response: It's not THE ending, just the ending of this story, because I have plans, yes, plans for more. Though how I'll get John out of this mess... Just as soon as I get about a half dozen WIPs done. Or eretria invests in a cattle prod. There most definitely needs to be more fic (or stuff in the show, better yet) that deals with how Sheppard feels after Conversion.
Reviewer: scififreak (Anonymous)
01 Jul 2006 5:08 am
OMG, how can this be the end!? *dies* Oh, cruel fate!

Author's Response: More like cruel authors. I hate to put 'tbc' at the end of any story, so technically this is ended, but I have every intention of writing several more stories that follow on from this. You know, eventually. -Auburn
Reviewer: scififreak (Anonymous)
01 Jul 2006 5:06 am
OMG, how can this be the end!? *dies* Oh, cruel fate!
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
26 Jun 2006 5:31 pm
Excellent team fic. I loved the easy, relaxed beginning, with them all lying there telling stories and just soaking up the cameraderie. It was lovely that they were so relaxed with each other that Teyla could rest with her head on John's chest and they were all so close that they knocked each other if they moved. A lovely image. The sudden lightning storm was tense and a little bit of a red herring- I thought the lightening would turn out to be someone's phobia. But the actual phobic bit with poor John losing it was very well done. It was an entirely plausible reaction so soon after his experiences with turning into the bug and going into the Iratus nest, and I thought you did an excellent job of conveying his panicked, scattered thoughts. Great job, too, with the other three and how they reacted to John's panic, Ronon getting hold of him and hanging on until Rodney and Teyla started to get through. I liked the way they touched him, grounded him in the feeling of human hands and murmuring quietly all the time. And Rodney's idea with the chem light was great too. I loved the image of them all snuggled up together, just the little touches and the complete lack of concern over who touched whom where, but nothing sexual about it, just comforting. I felt bad for John when he woke up, having to face the humiliation, though I don't think he'll have to worry about Rodney not letting it go. The damage he'd managed to do to himself was a worry, but more worrying was the bit about his miraculously healed knee and the growth of the feeding scar. Will you be continuing this? Will we get to the bottom of the scar and the fact that it'd been bothering John a little before the panic set in? I hope so. Laura.

Author's Response: I love your reviews, I really, really do. Yes, there will be more eventually. Eretria and I have an idea of what is going on, but the stories will still probably surprise us too in places. Thank you THIS much. - Auburn
Reviewer: sidhe_ranma (Anonymous)
26 Jun 2006 2:51 pm
Nice! I can so see John freaking out over Iratus bugs. A very valid fear. Are you going to give this series a name...

Author's Response: The poor guy should be absolutely phobic at this point. The series is rather informal, so it doesn't have a name. I've just been calling it the one where they have to walk across the continent. *g* - Auburn
Reviewer: Regina Bellatrix (Signed)
26 Jun 2006 10:54 am
Poor messed-up John. Lovely story. I always like seeing the team rally around whichever member is ailing like that.

Author's Response: Eretria really likes team fics too and me, I just like messing John up. Though is something extra special to writing team dynamic - it's a great part of the allure of the show, so translating it into a story is something we both aim for. Thank you for the review, of course, too.
You must login (register) to review.