RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Silver Rose (Signed)
14 Aug 2007 1:19 pm
Love this story! The only thing is I hate that it ended. LOL! Excellent job and I do hope to read more stories from you in the future.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm thrilled you liked it, and hope you'll also enjoy "Aegis", which has just been posted, if you haven't already. :)rnrnLeah
One of One
Reviewer: Jenn (Anonymous)
26 Jul 2007 4:26 am
That was utterly beautiful. Thank you both for writing it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for that lovely comment! Youy have warmed our hearts, Jenn. What a wonderful thing to hear.
One of One
Reviewer: MoreBliss (Anonymous)
09 Jul 2007 6:56 am
I just adored this. It makes me cry just thinking of Rodney on the hill apologising to John that he wasn't allowed to say anything for him at the memorial service. You broke my heart! In the best way. Thank you!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, MoreBliss! I have to admit that the scene with Rodney on the hill was the one scene that made me teary while I was writing it, so it is especially gratifying that it struck you as well. I really appreciate your comments, and Springwoof does as well.rnrnLeah
One of One
Reviewer: Shaddyr (Anonymous)
11 Jun 2007 6:00 am
"Fend" was intriguing - but this? This was masterful.

You made me cry - several times even!

The way they were changed and shaped by their circumstance, the way Rodney decided to move on though he would never forget, the grief and longing that John had to bear - it was so well done without being an overwhelming torturous angst fest. My heart broke for Rodney's unacknowledged mourning. It damn near killed me when Rodney died and John's 'life line' just went *snap*.

The ending was unexpected - my initial reaction was to think that John and Rodney would never want to interface with other people that way, but then I thought about it... John was right - to be really able as a Defender, he needs real eyes and ears, and it probably evolved slowly from the implants and being able to see, to something where the implant-ee could experience John as well. And then, Rodney would complain about not getting out for a ride... and after generations passed, traditions and rituals would have built up, and of course it would have happened like that, because what else *could* have happened but that...

Wow. ::sniffle:: You guys are amazing.

I'm going to go read some irredeemably fluffy McShep snark now because the bittersweet is eating my brain and I'm all outta kleenex.

Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely fb! I'm glad the end worked for you and that you thought the journey was worthwhile too! Leah & I took turns writing bits of the story, but we wrote Rodney's deathscene together (and, I don't know about Leah, but *I* was crying while I wrote it...) thanks for telling us you liked it. wags, Springwoof
One of One
Reviewer: aesc (Signed)
03 May 2007 11:12 pm
When I got to the end of this, I had to read the last section out loud, because it was just... Oh, wow, no words. Stunning, sadness riding underneath the joy of recovery and finding each other again, and I had to go slowly through it--just too lovely to experience any other way.

Author's Response: thank you so much for the kind fb. it was wonderful to hear that you found it so moving. *beams* wags, Springwoof
One of One
Reviewer: omens (Anonymous)
18 Mar 2007 3:17 am
whoa.. that was pretty amazing! epic story.

Author's Response: Thank you!
One of One
Reviewer: Anyssia (Anonymous)
28 Feb 2007 10:04 am
I have been crying for the last half an hour of reading. I mean, I'm not easily moved by a book/fanfic/movie. Hell, even real life hardly make me cry. But there, I've blew my nose more time than I care to tell. It's hard to tell my feeling : I'm both happy and sad and oh god they are so made one for another... I think I won't be able to think of them alone or with anyone else now. Thank you for this wonderful story (even if I sometimes had a hard time to keep up with the story line, 'coz hey, I'm only french, even if reading english isn't a problem anymore, sometimes it's quite complex ^^) Thank you very much. (anissia@netcourrier.com)

Author's Response: thank you for the lovely fb! ::hands you a tissue:: It means a lot to us that you were so moved by the story...rnwags, Springwoof
One of One
Reviewer: Chanel #5 (Anonymous)
10 Feb 2007 10:19 am
A very lovely story. I notice no mention of the earth visit, I s'pose this is a different story. Heartbreaking. Thankyou.

Author's Response: Thank you! But I'm wondering if you missed a scene--the one where Beckett is thanking the Defender for the information he gathered from the Krishna, which was the Earth ship Springwoof wrote about in Left to Fend. The whole scene is about the aftermath of that meeting. TBH is definitely set in the same universe! :) Leah
One of One
Reviewer: Jen (Anonymous)
08 Feb 2007 1:08 am
I ache. My throat is tight, my face is still wet from tears (tears that haven't actually stopped while I read this, because my god the pain in this was just agonizing), and I swear that I will be useless for at least the next few hours. If not days. This was just such a beautiful story that I had to say something, because this? This is why we write. This is why people read fiction. This is how it is done, and I cannot stress how much this has impacted me. And now I'm going to go read some uncomplicated PWP because damnit, I seriously need a palate-cleanser here. This was agonizingly, excrutiatingly beautiful and heartbreaking, and I wouldn't trade it for the world. Thank you.

Author's Response: Thank you for that beautiful review. Comments like this is one of the many reasons I love this fandom, and I know Springwoof feels the same. You have warmed my heart and soul. Leah
One of One
Reviewer: Felicity (Anonymous)
11 Jan 2007 6:51 pm
Wow that was depressing. Like, made me cry. But in a really really good way. Thanks.

Author's Response: Well, we're certainly sorry we made you cry! But we were still very pleased that it was in a good way! Thank you very, very much for the review.
One of One
Reviewer: A Cat Called McKay (Anonymous)
30 Oct 2006 8:57 am
amazing fic realy loved I hate admit was a wee bit confused by the ending but still loved it.

Author's Response: Oh, sorry about that! I'm glad you still enjoyed the story, though. Thank you very much for letting us know. :)
One of One
Reviewer: Strangevisitor (Anonymous)
24 Oct 2006 9:12 am
That was AMAZING. I have never really liked McShep - Just never believed it would happen - but I live to read AU. You made me belive that relationship. I cried. I was incredibly moved. this world of allies you created i amazingly well thought out. I liked that every regular and support character was mentioned(Lorne!). I loved the way the story moved aroung in time. Excellent story on every level.

Author's Response: Wow - we made you believe in McShep? That's an unbelievable compliment. Thank you! And we couldn't have had the story without Lorne! I love him, too. We really appreciate that fantastic review. Thank you.
One of One
Reviewer: lim (Anonymous)
06 Oct 2006 9:09 pm
*flails* All this story and all I have is flailing limbs and gasping breath. It's so wonderful! A thousand years of wonderful. *flails*

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Lim! I have to admit I'm extremely pleased we reduced you to flailing and gasping. Your letting us know is hugely appreciated. :D
One of One
Reviewer: Elly (Anonymous)
08 Sep 2006 4:21 am
Wow. This story just blew me away. It's definitely one of the best non-linear fics I've read. I love how everything is unravelled, slowly. The last one... the gift that Rodney gives the Defender- OMG. I understand now why Rodney was always cold to the Defender. The scene where he chats at John's grave also gave me the sniffles. But I think I scared the office mates when I cried when Teyla died. Rodney seeing her soul leaving... *wibble* So much love for this story. Thank you so much for writing and sharing. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for that feedback! We're sorry you scared your co-workers, but also very, very pleased that the story moved you so. That scene is one of my favourites, too. I love the sense of Rodney and Teyla's frienship, but it's just so damn tragic and sad. Thank you again.
One of One
Reviewer: bluebrocade (Anonymous)
08 Sep 2006 1:57 am
Great story. I went through an entire box of tissues.

Author's Response: sorry we made you cry! But so glad the story touched you. We owe you a box of tissues.... wags, springwoof
One of One
Reviewer: Amanda (Anonymous)
30 Aug 2006 10:48 pm
DAMN!!! This story is great!! It's.... UGH... there are no words! You know it's good writing when you're sitting in front of you computer reading a story and you're in TEARS!!! Yup, you yanked them out of me and that's pretty hard to do. GREAT GREAT GREAT story!!!!!!

Author's Response: thank you for that heartfelt review! Sorry we made you cry, yet glad the story moved you so. Thanks for letting us know. wags, springwoof
One of One
Reviewer: ceramicbaby (Anonymous)
21 Aug 2006 2:37 am
OH. MY. GOD. I am speechless. I have always appreciated but never really *understood* the keyboard mashing responses people leave in response to stories, but now I know. This was a masterpiece. Unbelievable. Jon and Rodney's pain and longing were so poignant, so real, so beautiful, and their situation so unbelievably tragic. You handled the time jumping masterfully; I never once felt confused, and the skipping added a rich dimension to the story that a linear narrative would not have created. That you managed a project as ambitious as traversing not just an entire lifetime of individual characters but also the development of a unique and yet hauntingly familiar culture is simply remarkable. I actually cried four separate times: when Teyla died, when Jon asked Rodney to join him after the stroke, when Rodney died, and when Sheppard found Rodney's gift to him. And I don't just mean cried--I WEPT. I was actually crying on and off for the entire last half hour or so of the read. The scene in the infirmary between Rodney and Jon was so painful and powerful that it made me physically nauseous. That has NEVER happened to me before, and I have read some amazing fics (I'm actually an editor by trade, and as far as I'm concerned, this story beat out every manuscript or published work or bit of fanfic I've ever read for sheer emotional impact). I simply cannot gush enough. And I want to read everything you've ever written. If you have more stories scattered around the net, PLEASE email me at my name at gmail dot com! Thank you so much for sharing this.

Author's Response: Heh. Keyboard mashingly-good. I love it! Thank you for that very splendid and articulate feedback, ceramicbaby, I'm currently wearing a smile broader than my whole face....(and I'll be happy to email you.) wags, springwoof
One of One
Reviewer: Gil (Anonymous)
13 Aug 2006 4:07 am
I read this in one hit last night, and my eyes are STILL slightly puffy from sobbing my heart out at the ending. I was sniffling a little in places, but the final message from Rodney broke me completely. I loved the way it was written, with the jumping between various timelines. It worked perfectly, with the final story unfolding piece by piece. It built the suspense, and I honestly can't imagine it working as well as it did any other way. When everything came together at the end with Sora, when it's realised all the events lead from that one point... whoa. Thank you so much for writing this.

Author's Response: Gil--thank you so much for letting us know the skipping timelines thing not only worked, but worked as intended, to build the tension. It's the part of the story Leah & I were most anxious about--we were worried people wouldn't "get" it--so I'm so glad to hear you say it worked for you. happy wags, springwoof
One of One
Reviewer: Joolz (Signed)
06 Aug 2006 3:13 pm
Yeah, wow! What a tour de force. Such deep story and characterization. And so painfully sad for Rodney to be without John for so long, and for the Defender to be without Rodney for so long. Thank you for the strangely beautiful 'love goes on' ending!

Author's Response: Thank you, Joolz, for letting us know you liked it! The credit is all Leah's for the very scifi-ish ending. She's awesome that way... wags, springwoof
One of One
Reviewer: tally (Anonymous)
05 Aug 2006 7:44 pm
this is utterly fantastic and brilliant. engrossing, involving, breathtaking in scope, attentive in detail, completely fabulous. the relationship between rodney and holo-john was so sad: impossible not to feel pity for both of them, and some anger at the same time for causing each other pain, however unwittingly. and the brilliant revelation about holo-john at the end -- it's very hard to have the climax live up to the story, but you guys succeeded wonderfully. thank youuuuuuu! -- tally

Author's Response: Woah! thanks for really cool and articulate feedback, Tally. Leah and I obssessed over this story for months, so I'm very happy to hear it paid off. happy wags, springwoof
One of One
You must login (register) to review.