RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Rayne (Anonymous)
08 Jul 2006 8:17 pm
Wow... brilliantly written and such a well executed story. sniffling still... I cried and cried and totally felt for everyone involved. Poor John...poor ROdney. I just kept hoping my husband didn't come in and find me crying at the computer. Wow..this story was intense. Thank you for sharing it.

Author's Response: Sorry we made you cry! But glad you enjoyed the story. wags, springwoof
One of One
Reviewer: Dana (Anonymous)
08 Jul 2006 1:55 pm
This story was so well written, so *real* and fascinating and moving and *right*, that I actually, almost completely, don't regret reading it. And that's kind of amazing, what with feeling like my heart had just been taken out through my nose. I don't *do* sad, and yet this was so entirely worth it, which is much, much higher praise than it might sound. Thank you for giving me the experience of reading this.

Author's Response: Thank you. That's *wonderful* praise. I'm glad you thought it was worth it. wags, springwoof
One of One
Reviewer: SD (Anonymous)
08 Jul 2006 12:33 pm
That was so beautiful. I thought the original story was intriguing and this one just took that and made such a complicated and touching tale from it. Thank you for writing it.

Author's Response: Glad you liked both stories, although they're rather different. Thanks for letting us know! wags, springwoof
One of One
Reviewer: gaylarain (Anonymous)
08 Jul 2006 11:49 am
This is an amazing fic. The pull on the heartstrings was amazing. I could completely feel and empathize with both John and Rodney. Living city/ship has always been a fascination of mine and you handled it so well. The end was wonderfully disturbing and creepily perfect. The way they both changed with time to the point of merging with living avatars in a cultural celebration. If the younger version of them was witnessing the event, you know it would completely creep them out, but with gradual change over centuries I can completely see them doing this. I could go on and on about how and what I loved in this story. Thank you.

Author's Response: So pleased you enjoyed the fic! That epilog was purely Leah, and I just squealed with delight when she sent it to me--*so* science-fiction-y, so cool! thanks for letting us know you enjoyed it. wags, springwoof
One of One
Reviewer: Whistling Pig (Anonymous)
08 Jul 2006 11:10 am
That was just wonderful, truly amazing. The richness of the characters, the fantastic plot. This is one that's going to stay with me for a long time. Once I've finished sobbing!

Author's Response: ::hands you tissues:: sorry for the sobbing thing, it seems to be a common response, but at least we know we touched you. thank you for letting us know you liked the fic. wags, springwoof
One of One
Reviewer: Roguewrld@gmail.com (Anonymous)
08 Jul 2006 10:51 am
Um... ow? Jesus, this hurt, but in the good way where you're sobbing at your computer and your roommate is looking at you like you have three heads. I had read Left to Fend some time ago. It was raw and showed a dark future. Those people were not the people we knew, but what they could be. It's good to know that some of the darkness in that story was for show to the Earthers, and that Elizabeth is just reciting and didn't come up with that herself. It is a bit chilling to find that the Genii were annihalated for Sora's actions alone. But the ending, oh god the end. I was so sure you'd killed off Rodney for good, but then, there he was. And Oh, is he going to be pissed he doesn't remember the last fifty or so years. Wonderful fic. So glad you wrote it.

Author's Response: so glad you shared with us that you enjoyed the fic. Leah found the mysteries and unanswered questions of LTF fascinating, and wanted to know how our characters got from *here* to *there*, and her enthusiasm dragged me right along. (she's kind of wonderful that way...) wags, springwoof
One of One
Reviewer: 20thcenturyvole (Anonymous)
08 Jul 2006 10:38 am
Thanks to Seperis and Amireal's recs on Livejournal.com, I have just spent the last six hours blubbing like a big girl's blouse. Also, simultaneously wishing to tear Rodney limb from limb and *cuddle* him, oh my *God*. The ending, at least, made it all worthwhile, and will keep me all warm and happy. But I blame you for how my eyes sting right now!

Author's Response: sorry for the crying thing. ::hands you tissues:: I'm glad the story touched you, though. thank you for letting us know. wags, springwoof
One of One
Reviewer: ratcreature (Anonymous)
08 Jul 2006 9:00 am
Wow. This was awesome and really original. I found it fascinating to see the different cultures slowly merge.

Author's Response: Thank you! Leah
One of One
Reviewer: with_an_apostrophe (Anonymous)
08 Jul 2006 8:22 am
I'd write something a little more coherent, but I've still got tears streaming down my face. The sheer richness of the future-mythology you have created here is astounding - and the bitter-sweetness of John and Rodney's love almost too painful to bear at times. I really wasn't sure I'd like this story - and yet.... my words are too weak for the burden of my heart.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for that beautiful review. I'm thrilled the story resonated with you like that. Leah
One of One
Reviewer: XanDutch (Anonymous)
08 Jul 2006 7:04 am
I'm going to have to find the time to read both stories because I *love* that title picture!

Author's Response: Great! I'm glad you liked it. I learned to use Photoshop to make that pic! wags, springwoof
One of One
Reviewer: Jane (Anonymous)
08 Jul 2006 6:59 am
oh god....that was the first fic EVER to actually make me cry. I think I need a nice cup of tea. Oh man.

Author's Response: Sorry to have made you cry! But thank you. Leah
One of One
Reviewer: Grey Bard (Anonymous)
08 Jul 2006 5:02 am
Wow. It is a rare, rare futurefic where I can't tell if the characters have gone bad or not. This is a hell of a read. I can't even tell if I think it's a happy ending or not. Seriously, really good, but wow... It's disturbing because you don't know if you *should* be cheering it on, but you want to, but you don't. And it just gets more "whoa" with every passing page. This is one to save to the memorybanks.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Reviews like that mean a hell of a lot. I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Leah
One of One
Reviewer: Amireal (Signed)
08 Jul 2006 2:27 am
I posted a rec on my LJ. *grins* http://amireal.livejournal.com/354627.html

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It's wonderful that you liked it enough to want to rec it. I really appreciate that. Leah
One of One
You must login (register) to review.