RSS
Reviews For The Worst Week

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: jacqui (Anonymous)
05 Sep 2007 12:37 pm
I've re read this many times nowa nd wondered why you never continued it? Lovely writing.
Reviewer: Chanel #5 (Anonymous)
06 Mar 2007 6:10 pm
Where's the make up scene???
Reviewer: Zae (Anonymous)
21 Jul 2006 12:46 am
::Blinkblink:: WAHH~! ::Sniff:: Poor John. But I liked this piece nevertheless...tearjerker, but good. Um...it's also spawned a couple of sequel bunnies in my brain. Sorry?

Author's Response: I've decided that I will be writing a sequel/epilogue, but if you have some bunnies and would like to write your own sequel that'd be fantastic! Just drop me a line at salsatiable@yahoo.co.uk so that I can read it too! :)
Reviewer: helva2260 (Anonymous)
20 Jul 2006 7:03 am
This was so good right up until the ending, where it didn't! It was very well paced, the gradual progression of their relationship (from John's POV), but then it was such a shock that John had got it wrong, and the story just lost its rhythm, leaving the ending unsatisfying. I think the reason there are so many reviews saying "fix it" or "please do a sequel" is because there was no resolution. It feels more like a chapter ending, a cliffhanger rather than a conclusion. As much as I tend to like John/Rodney and no angst, I'd be the first one to say don't get swayed by fans demanding you do such and such with your story - because it is your story! Having said that, I think the story might benefit from you concluding it in some way - we got to see the immediate aftermath of John's misunderstanding, but we're left wondering. Will he give a good show tomorrow and there'll be no further consequences? Will he have problems dealing with his unrequited love and the team slowly falls apart? Will it result in a more dramatic destruction of the team or John himself? Will Rodney take his denial at face value, or with his usual tenacity insist on knowing John's feelings? Does this situation affect just John? Rodney and John's friendship? The whole team? The whole expedition? Obviously, you have a theme of "the worst week" going, and you're not an epic writer (so far!), but an epilogue or some sort doesn't have to dramatically change the feel or the theme of the piece in any way...

Author's Response: Thankyou so much for your comment, it's wonderful to receive some constructive criticism. I'm not going to 'fix' it or make it 'better'. Instead when/if there is a sequel/epilogue it will be more focusing on the aftermath, and answering exactly the kind of questions you have asked. I'm sorry you find the ending unsatisfactory but I can completely appreciate your thoughts on it. After all, I'm just starting out and I have a lot to learn (especially when it comes to writing fic in a time of personal angst, as in big no!) Once again thankyou so much for taking the time to comment :)
Reviewer: jacqui (Anonymous)
20 Jul 2006 4:28 am
you have to continue this....please?

Author's Response: :) I'm hoping to do a sequel, so watch this space!
Reviewer: bonita7 (Signed)
19 Jul 2006 11:50 pm
I'm going to echo the others - this definitely deserves a sequel. And I am also going to add my voice to the "do not have Rodney break up with Katie" squad. I've read some very good Sheppard/Beckett and Sheppard/Zelenka stories out there and this could be the beginning of another. Hopefully your muse or a plot-bunny bites and we get another installment *grin* Very good voices. Nice tension.

Author's Response: Thanks for commenting :) I think if there is going to be a sequel it won't be a "make everything" better installment. But an exploration of the aftermath. And ok, maybe I like the idea of Sheppard/Beckett so we'll see!
Reviewer: CrayonEater (Anonymous)
19 Jul 2006 11:30 pm
*joins the AWL POOR JOHN crew* Your writing is really coming along, but this is the second fic I've see that you're leaving us all going WHAT? WHAT? OMG! :)

Author's Response: I know, I'm sorry about it, I just can't seem to write a nice slashy fic at the moment :) Maybe soon I'll be able to manage it!
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
19 Jul 2006 10:58 pm
Really good story! It was painful, but I liked it. If the story continues, please do not give in to peer pressure. Rodney & John should not be a couple in this story. It would be interesting to see if they can salvage their working relationship or even their friendship. Perhaps John can find someone to love him? Maybe Carson or Radek? Each has some Rodney-like qualities. Or he could decide on the anti-Rodney: Ronon. Rodney should suffer too because he loves John, just not in THAT way.

Author's Response: I'm loving that I'm getting comments telling me to not to do the whole 'fix it' approach to a sequel. I'm unsure yet if there will be a sequel, but if there is it won't be putting the boys back together :)
Reviewer: Jessi (Anonymous)
19 Jul 2006 10:36 pm
As much as I want you to fix this situation and make a chapter where Rodney comes to his senses and ditches Katie, I don't think you should, lol. Peer pressure is E-VILE! I don't want my John heartbroken and in pain any more than anyone else, but getting them together in a new chapter is the fanfic equilvalent of 'it was all a dream' and I think it takes a lot of guts to not go that route. Excellent story, by the way, since I forgot to lead with that like I meant to. *grins*

Author's Response: Thankyou so much. Yeah I don't think I'm going to put them back together, because basically love DOESN'T always work. Poor boys :(
Reviewer: kamelion (Anonymous)
19 Jul 2006 8:55 pm
Well that was pleasantly different! Good read! Kam :)

Author's Response: Thankyou so much :)
Reviewer: angelwings (Anonymous)
19 Jul 2006 8:37 pm
oh my god, poor john. thats an auful thing to happen to him. i guess there'll be no happy ever after this time. *great voices btw*

Author's Response: Thankyou very much :) No, unfortunately no happy ending for him this time, poor baby :(
Reviewer: Claudia (Anonymous)
19 Jul 2006 7:01 pm
I like your idea a lot. At first it seemed the classical John/Rodney thing with the later making a fool of himself, and then WOW. Very nice twist! Even if it makes me sad for John.

Author's Response: Thankyou very much. I'm glad you liked it, I'm sorry to make you sad :(
Reviewer: anyanka (Signed)
19 Jul 2006 6:19 pm
I demand that you make Rodney and Katie split up right this second, god damn it.. I won't have John hurt like this. Very well done by the way, just so sad.

Author's Response: haha, I'm sorry for hurting John :(
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
19 Jul 2006 6:15 pm
Oh wow. I'm torn. Seriously. On the one hand, it's so very unusual to have an ending like this, so heartbreaking, and part of me congratulates you on taking the, perhaps, harder route. On the other hand, you broke my John and that's just bad and wrong! *g*. It was a nice twist to have John be the one in love- usually it seems to be Rodney in this situation. I love this, but I'd love to see more of it too. What is Rodney's reaction? How does John deal with still having to work closely with Rodney? Does Rodney come to his senses, or stay with Katie? Will John's weeks continue to be bad? Laura.

Author's Response: Well, the current thoughts for a sequel will be exploring the aftermath sp will hopefully answer all those questions :)
Reviewer: cooksterbird (Anonymous)
19 Jul 2006 3:48 pm
oh my god!!! that started all so nice and sweet I cannot beleive you left it with a heartbroken John!!! I must admit I do like the way that it's John that fell in love cause it's usually the other way around but right now I'm feeling as distraught as John during the last paragraph. For my own sanity please tell me you are going to do a sequel that is maybe just a bit happier? PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE!!!!

Author's Response: I'm sorry to upset you :( I've never liked the common thought that just because JOhn is pretty he's less likely to fall in love, so I wanted to explore that. I'm not sure about a happy sequel, I'll have to see if the muse hits!
Reviewer: cooksterbird (Anonymous)
19 Jul 2006 3:48 pm
oh my god!!! that started all so nice and sweet I cannot beleive you left it with a heartbroken John!!! I must admit I do like the way that it's John that fell in love cause it's usually the other way around but right now I'm feeling as distraught as John during the last paragraph. For my own sanity please tell me you are going to do a sequel that is maybe just a bit happier? PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE!!!!

Author's Response: I'm sorry to upset you :( I've never liked the common thought that just because JOhn is pretty he's less likely to fall in love, so I wanted to explore that. I'm not sure about a happy sequel, I'll have to see if the muse hits!
Reviewer: Ariana (Anonymous)
19 Jul 2006 3:38 pm
Please don't leave it there!! For the love of all things holy fix it please!?! Oh god poor John. This was very good but seriously fix it . Fix him! Pretty Please.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it :) I'm unsure about whther to 'fix' it, I'm thinking I'm just going to explore what happens afterward, how JOhn deals with it and how it affects their relationship.
You must login (register) to review.