RSS
Reviews For Re-Connect

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: mandy (Anonymous)
03 Dec 2006 3:18 am
Really interesting story. I love to read the POVs of outsiders. Your Gen. Sheppard had just enough of John's characteristics to seem related without being a clone of John. Also liked the second part where the rumors were flying in the mess hall.

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it. I find myself consistantly drawn to outsider POVs because they not only let us see things the 'main' characters don't, but allow a very different dose of perspective. You have to believe, at least to a degree, that time in Atlantis & Pegasus in general skews your outlook and sense of normality. You spend a few years there, and you're looking at the world through blue-tinted glasses (as opposed to rose); it's unavoidable. OCs give me a chance to poke at what has changed, and why. Of course, it cuts my readership down drastically, but I don't mind. I like to at least attempt telling interesting stories, and sometimes the OCs are the best way to do that. Thanks for reading ^_^
Complete Story
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
16 Aug 2006 4:44 pm
A great ending. I liked how things were resolved, how they decided to leave the past where it was and concentrate on forming a new bond and I liked the weekly emails that went with that. The sudden lack of emails was alarming, more so as seen from Ben's pov as he struggled to get information out of Landry. With things so up in the air, it was nice to find John waiting at his dad's house two years on. Laura.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed it. If you have any interest, I'm working on a not-quite-sequel that looks at the timeline from Misbegotten through Re-Connect from the POV of the Atlantis Administrative & Procurement Committee. Once I've got a few more installments done I'll start posting it over here on Wraithbait. Thanks for reading!
Complete Story
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
16 Aug 2006 2:58 pm
It was a relief to see things settled between them, even if it will still take time to rebuild the relationship. I loved how awkward they both were too. Made me smile (and possibly roll my eyes and say "Men!" *g*). Laura.

Author's Response: *G* I'm glad it was believable in that 'roll your eyes because they just don't learn' kind of way. Thanks for reading!
Complete Story
Reviewer: Claudia (Anonymous)
16 Aug 2006 1:29 pm
This is a good story with great characters. I like how you portrayed John's father, human and understanding in his own way, a lot like John himself.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the lovely feedback. My goal in writing this was to portray John's father as human; I'm glad it worked!
Complete Story
Reviewer: starfox (Anonymous)
15 Aug 2006 3:28 pm
I have been head-over-heels in love with this story from the first chapter. It's nice to see a version of Sheppard the elder who isn't evil or unjustly harsh or an absolute prick, just a man who's not always the best at saying the things that need to be said. You created a believable and likeable character, and I liked your portrayal of John as well. All in all, an excellent fic.

Author's Response: Thank you ever so much for your kind words; I'm glad you've enjoyed this. The entire thing started when I went about trying to find a legit reason for a long term familial separation that wasn't the result of Sheppard Senior being a 2-D jerk but actually explored John's history a little (And also, because I was shooting for something like believable, a situation where neither of them was solely at fauly. Because it's never just one person's fault when that kind of thing happens. Especially not with people who are generally decent)
Complete Story
Reviewer: miscbills (Anonymous)
15 Aug 2006 12:53 pm
I enjoyed this story and love how it touch me emotionly. How the two cultures on reacts to General Sheppard differently. It was funny to find who was the big gossiper was on Atlantis too. But I do like to know what happen when the supply ship reach Atlantis and two year since.

Author's Response: *G* I'm glad you've enjoyed it. Given my tendancy to expand my "What If" universes, I'm sure there will be more to come eventually.
Complete Story
Reviewer: tracy-thenaggingone (Anonymous)
15 Aug 2006 10:17 am
any questions??? yeah when you writing more????

Author's Response: *G* I'm not 100% sure, but hopefully soon. Glad you liked it ^_^
Complete Story
Reviewer: Mystic (Anonymous)
15 Aug 2006 3:28 am
I enjoyed the story and I liked how you could see bit's of John in his father, made him seem more real. I enjoyed Rodney's 'talk' w/ him, that was great. The only nitpicky thing I can say is...What happened? Why did they cut off from Earth and how did John get back? Thanks for the good story and a good read and I also enjoyed the interlude.

Author's Response: Aah... That? Will probably be its own story. Granted, I'm a big fan of letting the readers come up with their own theories on occasion, but I do have the chronology for the Memoirs Universe rather well scripted at this point.
Complete Story
Reviewer: wisewander (Anonymous)
14 Aug 2006 11:51 pm
This was a great story but I would like to know what happened to Atlantis that caused them to lose contact and how John came to be on Earth, so a sequal would be really nice.

Author's Response: Thanks for saying so! A sequel will likely be in the works, although I'm not sure how quickly. I have the chronology of the Memoirs Universe rather well scripted, but 20+ years is a lot of ground to cover in literature. I'm still trying to sort out what I want to address and how ^_^
Complete Story
Reviewer: bibliotech (Signed)
14 Aug 2006 4:23 pm
Very nice--it's good to see a story that mentions John's family without making his parents one-dimensional bad guys. I'm liking this!

Author's Response: Thanks so much!
Complete Story
Reviewer: Andy (Anonymous)
14 Aug 2006 2:58 pm
GO RODNEY GOO!!! *___________* I just discovered this fic and I'm already hocked! Poor Ben, he doesn't know where he's standing.. and doesn't seems to be finding it out soon Please, more! *____*

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying it, I should hopefully be clearing the rest of it today ^_^
Complete Story
Reviewer: tracy-thenaggingone (Anonymous)
14 Aug 2006 1:59 pm
i like this, i want more of this, i'd like it right now please! LOVE Rodney's 'handling' of John's Dad.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'll do my best!
Complete Story
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
14 Aug 2006 12:44 pm
Excellent Rodney/Ben conversation. I almost felt sorry for Ben having to try to keep up with Rodney as he switched from confrontational irritation to a slightly more comradely irritation :). I'm looking forward to seeing how it goes when Ben tracks down John again. Interesting twist about the gene making them need to live permanently in Atlantis too. Laura.

Author's Response: Glad you're liking it thusfar! Yeah, the ATA-issues is one of my running favorite topics in Atlantis World-Building ^_^
Complete Story
Reviewer: Cat (Anonymous)
14 Aug 2006 12:41 pm
I am enjoying this so far. Very much looking forward to more.

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying it!
Complete Story
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
14 Aug 2006 12:34 pm
Great interlude, both for the completely untrue rumour-mongering and for Teyla's pointed appearance and quick clear up of the table :). Laura.

Author's Response: *Giggles* Thanks
Interlude - Fly On The Wall
Reviewer: Belladonna (Anonymous)
14 Aug 2006 7:30 am
I'm really enjoying this series...and I like McKay, he's such a mama bear where John is concerned (I can actually hear him say your dialogue-you're good!)

Author's Response: I'm glad the dialogue works for you!
Complete Story
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
14 Aug 2006 6:30 am
I'm glad to have gotten to the bottom of things between the Sheppards now. I can see why John wanted nothing to do with his father, but hearing Ben's side, I'm also hoping it might be at least a little fixable. I was also pleased to see that Ben wasn't going to kick up a fuss about John and Rodney. Loved the meeting with Teyla and Ronon. Laura.

Author's Response: Thanks for all the lovely feedback!
Complete Story
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
14 Aug 2006 6:21 am
I liked Elizabeth and Rodney's protectiveness of John. And we finally get to the bottom of the estrangement. I'm looking forward to finding out more about that, because at the moment it seems John has every right to hate his father and I can't see how it can be fixed. Laura.

Author's Response: But there are always 2 sides to every coin, you know?
Complete Story
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
14 Aug 2006 6:11 am
That went well! I'm even more intrigued by what the rift is now. Laura.

Author's Response: *G*
Complete Story
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
14 Aug 2006 6:01 am
Great start, I wonder what John's reaction will be? They've obviously been estranged for a long time, but it must surely mean something that his father's gone through so much trouble to track him down? Laura.

Author's Response: One can only hope.
Complete Story
You must login (register) to review.