RSS
Reviews For Final Moments

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: (Anonymous)
03 Jun 2010 7:34 am
So I just read this again. And once again I have tears in my eyes. It's just so heart-breakingly perfect.
Final Moments 1/1
Reviewer: (Anonymous)
14 May 2010 1:47 am
Oh my gosh. Seriously. I have tears running down my cheeks even a I type this. This is just, wow, sad and beautiful, and so heart breaking.
Final Moments 1/1
Reviewer: Diamond_Raven (Signed)
07 Jan 2007 7:31 pm
This is one of the saddest and heart wrenching stories I've read in a long time. John feeling like he was letting Rodney down since a protector isn't supposed to outlive the person he is protected was such a John thing to do and then Rodney telling him to protect the children instead was beautiful. The best part was the letter Rodney left him. Overall, I absolutely loved this story. Thank you.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! The letter is my favorite part and it was the hardest and easiest part to write.
Final Moments 1/1
Reviewer: Diamond_Raven (Signed)
07 Jan 2007 7:31 pm
This is one of the saddest and heart wrenching stories I've read in a long time. John feeling like he was letting Rodney down since a protector isn't supposed to outlive the person he is protected was such a John thing to do and then Rodney telling him to protect the children instead was beautiful. The best part was the letter Rodney left him. Overall, I absolutely loved this story. Thank you.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! The letter is my favorite part and it was the hardest and easiest part to write.
Final Moments 1/1
Reviewer: SasuNaruLover (Signed)
21 Aug 2006 1:02 pm
Wow, just wow. I loved it. You captured Rodney’s personality perfectly. An when I say perfectly I mean it. You captured John’s well too. Here are some of the aspects of your story that I liked. “Several signatures had surprised the hell out of the pair, including Stephen Caldwell's.” A lot of people write really well, but they bash, Kavanaugh is the major victim, but Caldwell is a close second. I think that Caldwell would accept John and Rodney’s relationship. I really appreciate how mature it was of you to leave the bashing out. “John brushed his fingers against hand carved chess pieces on a small table in the corner. It would forever be Rodney’s move in their unfinished game.” That line was particularly poetic, It is sort of symbolizing that even though John promised to move on he never truly will. It is sort of saying to me (I don’t like judging other peoples writing) that Rodney still has unfinished business, but in a bittersweet way John is accepting that. “John had to smile when he opened the letter – the top flap of the tri-folded letter had, simply ‘He's dead, Jim,’ scrawled on it and John could hear Rodney saying it, as if his lover were sitting beside him.” I think that this line captures Rodney’s character particularly well, and makes the story lean towards the sweet side of bitter sweet. “John's fingers ghosted over the words as he read, as if he could pick up some final trace of Rodney. He was disappointed to discover that the letter itself smelled of high quality old fashioned ink and paper, and not Rodney.” This part I also like because a lot of people would put that he could smell Rodney or something else, and its romantic and cliché. It also symbolizes (in my mind) that Rodney really is gone. Dear Sheppard, Because this sure as hell isn't a 'Dear John,' letter. This line also helps it lean more towards sweet than bitter. Pretty clever, eh? I know I could have just given it to him, or Carson or anyone else but then I wouldn't have been able to use that rather brilliant program of mine. Another line that captures Rodney’s character. “hope to god I didn't get killed by something stupid, either. Kids. Was I saving kids? I hate the little brats but there are worse ways to be remembered than saving a pack of kids from certain doom. I hope there'll be a lot of them, now. Atlantis needs more kids. Especially now that they won't be bugging me. Make sure there are a lot of kids, John. I think Atlantis misses having little ones running around. She's a city, not a space station.” “I know no one will ever compare to me, but you've got too much love not to share it with someone. Name a kid after me.” “Not that my brilliance is going to stop having its effects any time soon, but don't let me be forgotten. Not where it counts; In Pegasus Galaxy; In Atlantis. Goodbye, Rodney” These lines stuck out to me too. I actually got teary eyed while reading this because I was listening to Rufus Wainwraight’s Hallelujah, and the song and the story combined brought it out. Pleas keep up your wonderful writing!

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you so much! I'm floored by the thoughtfulness of your feedback, it's amazing! I'm so glad so much of it struck a chord with you. Hallelujah is a *heartbreaking* song, though I admit to preferring the Johnny Cale version heard in the movie. Thank you so much for reading. :)
Final Moments 1/1
Reviewer: Deb (Anonymous)
21 Aug 2006 10:31 am
This was simply beautiful. The lump in my throat is obstructing the coffee I'm trying to swallow. My eyes are beginning to hurt from the rapid blinking I'm doing to fight the tears from coming. I think I need to go to the vending machines and find the biggest piece of chocolate I can. *sniffles and walks down the hall*

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad it moved you.
Final Moments 1/1
Reviewer: Becketts_Lass (Signed)
20 Aug 2006 11:56 pm
Excuse me while I go cry in my corner....so good....but so damn sad!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. :)
Final Moments 1/1
Reviewer: Aurore (Anonymous)
20 Aug 2006 11:03 am
Why I always read these stories knowing full well that they're going to make me cry? Probably for the same reasons people keep writing them! Yours was poignant and not too weepy. Just very touching and John and Rodney were very much in character. I'm always a bit sceptical when I read futurefics where Rodney has barely changed after 10 or 15 years in Atlantis. He's already started to change after only 3 years!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I tried to keep the future Rodney true to the core of Rodney, not just what he shows people sometimes. Thanks for reading! :)
Final Moments 1/1
Reviewer: Ariana (Signed)
20 Aug 2006 9:18 am
Um...wow. That was one of the most moving stories i have ever read.My heart aches right now. Brilliant work.

Author's Response: I'm so glad the story touched you, thank you for reading. :)
Final Moments 1/1
Reviewer: Constant Vigilance (Anonymous)
20 Aug 2006 4:10 am
Crap. My heart hurts. My face is raw from wiping tears away, and my nose is stuffed up. I have no idea what to say right now, either. It was beautiful. It was painful. It was perfect. I'd say thank you for writing it, but my throat hurts trying to keep from crying out loud. Thanks anyway.*S*

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading! I'm sorry for all the hurt but I'm honored you were so moved by it. :)
Final Moments 1/1
Reviewer: Sharon (Anonymous)
20 Aug 2006 3:32 am
Oh my...this was SO touching! I could hardly read through all my tears. Very well done - wonderful, tender insights of not only Rodney and John but the rest of the group as well. I seldom read deathfics but I took a chance on this one because you wrote it and I wasn't disappointed...this wasn't about angst it was really about love. Thanks for writing it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad the 'others' all came through as well, though it was mainly a John/Rodney story (and John more than Rodney) and yes, it was all about the love, romantic and otherwise. Thanks so much for reading! :)
Final Moments 1/1
Reviewer: BakaSensei (Signed)
20 Aug 2006 3:20 am
I...think you just killed me. Seriously. That was so sad, and so beautiful... just... whoa. You actually got tears in my eyes. It was so well done, so in character, I just loved it, even though I hate, hate, HATE the idea of Rodney dying. So yay for you, and fabulously well done story. Totally favorited.

Author's Response: I hate the idea of Rodney dying, too (one reason it takes place ten years into the future, I wanted to give them a good long run first) - Thank you very much! :)
Final Moments 1/1
Reviewer: Zae (Anonymous)
20 Aug 2006 3:15 am
::Snifflesob:: This is such a touching story...truly twisting the heartstrings. Good job...

Author's Response: Thank you :)
Final Moments 1/1
Reviewer: jaye_daver (Anonymous)
20 Aug 2006 1:05 am
Oh, I'm just weeping.

Author's Response: Awww, thanks for reading. :)
Final Moments 1/1
Reviewer: BC (Anonymous)
19 Aug 2006 11:21 pm
This is beautifully written and you have me weeping as I read it. Thank you for such a thoughtful story.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much. :)
Final Moments 1/1
You must login (register) to review.