RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: michiru7422 (Anonymous)
12 Feb 2010 3:59 pm
This is my second time (or is it third now?) reading this story, so you can tell how much I love it.

However, it occurs to me that Rodney maybe was overreacting? If all John has to do is say "Thank you for everything" and give him puppy dog eyes to make him stay (which is super sweet btw), then it seems that he really didn't WANT to leave in the first place. I mean, based on your story, Radek and Elizabeth couldn't've said anything, but certainly Ronon or Teyla could have been like, "Rodney, stay." And maybe Elizabeth could've been like, "You know, we really do appreciate what you've done for us."

On the other hand, maybe it shows also how much Rodney's grown up that he will come back when people start trying to make amends? Or just how much he values John?

Still lovely.
2. John
Reviewer: Ansku (Signed)
18 Feb 2009 9:28 am
Always sweet :)

Author's Response: Thanks. :)
2. John
Reviewer: Desiree (Anonymous)
07 Mar 2007 11:16 am
Hmm. I don't know. It seemed as if the conflict was resolved too quickly? And I really didn't like what John thought about Rodney's decision - that he was pouting. It's just another sign of how he undervalues Rodney, for me.

Author's Response: Yeah, I know. This story isn't one of my better ones, but I was running out of time. Maybe I'll re-write it some day. *scratches head* You're right, though, John does undervalue Rodney in this story. I did that on purpose. :)rnThank you for taking the time to comment, it's greatly appreciated.
2. John
Reviewer: Aurore (Anonymous)
26 Aug 2006 12:59 pm
"I don't see why we should thank him for every crazy stunt he's pulling! He's just doing his job, for god's sake!" And it was true: he really didn't get it. John was putting his ass on the line for Atlantis' safety every other day, but that didn't mean he expected people to fall to their knees and pay tribute to him. He was a soldier – risking his own life to protect others was what he had signed on for. Zelenka looked at him with a gaze full of pity. "No, Colonel, Rodney's job is heading the science department. It's research of Ancient technology. You turned it into exploration, expecting him to come up with one impossible last minute solution after another without even acknowledging his work. Rodney isn't doing one job, he's doing two, and for one of them he doesn't get as much as a thank-you." This was just brilliant! Thank you so much for this story!

Author's Response: You're very welcome. ;)
2. John
Reviewer: Aurore (Anonymous)
26 Aug 2006 12:41 pm
I've always wanted to read a story that would deal with that. Everybody seems to take Rodney's brilliant ideas for granted. They never really thank him, probably because they fear that his ego is going to get bigger. Truth is, I don't think his ego is that big. The last straw was in "Progeny" where they didn't seem to think that Rodney was proposing was enough. John reading him that list of things he had done over 2 years really got to me. And how clever of you to mention that Rodney didn't even remember some of them. Really great story.

Author's Response: Thank you, glad you liked! :)
1. Rodney
Reviewer: Mystic (Anonymous)
26 Aug 2006 3:48 am
Well done, well done! I enjoyed this story and enjoyed the two POV's and I'm so glad to see it resovled. Though it's true, Rodney doesn't get thanked enough for the constant 'HailMary'he pulls over and over again. Thanks for exploring that idea and sharing it w/ us.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I've been wanting to write something like that for quite some time now.
2. John
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
25 Aug 2006 6:04 pm
A wonderful counterpoint to Rodney's pov. I found that reading John's pov, seeing the complete lack of malicious intent, seeing the gratitude and proudness John felt towards Rodney, just made Rodney's pov hurt more. To see such completely opposite views of the same events and to know how deeply their communication had broken down was truly painful. I liked seeing John's more vulnerable side though, as he struggled to find a way to make Rodney stay. I liked the contrast between the mask he presents to the world and the awkward, socially inept reality. Great story, and yay for the happy ending, hopefully this will make them grow stronger together. Laura.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! And yes, writing this part not only to compliment Rodney's, but to actually tell a different story, was quite the challenge. I had fun, though. :)
2. John
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
25 Aug 2006 5:38 pm
Great Rodney pov. It was sad seeing Rodney so upset and over something so basic. It wasn't like he was expecting false, or excessive appreciation, just the odd comment, the odd thanks. It hurt to see his relationship with John so broken, even coming to actual blows, so it was a huge relief when John made his speech and Rodney realised he was serious. I liked the awkwardness between them; it rang true for the near miss situation. Still, it did help them move their relationship forward, so it wasn't entirely wasted. Laura.

Author's Response: I like exploring the way miscommunication can lead to hurt through misperception. Especially with Rodney, he makes such a nice woobie. ;)
1. Rodney
Reviewer: mercury973 (Anonymous)
25 Aug 2006 1:20 pm
Wow. What a way to start a Friday. This is the first time that I felt I was compelled to respond to. I have often thought of this situation many times, and you really did a good job with the scenario. I had a tear in my eye, which is rare when I read these stories. I would like to read more of your work. Thanks for posting this.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you very much. Especially if you usually don't comment. :)
1. Rodney
Reviewer: LouiseH (Anonymous)
25 Aug 2006 11:52 am
The story rocks :)

Author's Response: Heee, thank you!
1. Rodney
Reviewer: Linda (Anonymous)
25 Aug 2006 10:24 am
I loved this. Rodney really does not get a lot of credit for what he accomplishes on the show, yet everyone is willing to bring up his failings. You portrayed a realistic reaction to this.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. :)
2. John
You must login (register) to review.