RSS
Reviews For Side Effects

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: zxaz (Signed)
09 Sep 2010 7:09 pm
I've been looking for a fic where mpreg is greeted with horror and abortion for ages now and this fit the bill very well, as well as being an entertaining fic in it's own right. I thought the depiction of Rodney's depression was spot on.

The only bit that didn't ring true was virgin!Rodney. It seemed highly unlikely just going by what we saw on the show. Inexperienced in relationships, yes, sexually inexperienced, no. In scientific circles, especially when he was younger he would have been quite a catch, despite his personality. This was actually confirmed by the writers of the show who stated he would have been sexually active from his late teens, like a lot of people. Apart from that little characterisation error it was a good fic though.

Author's Response: Heh. I specifically wrote this fic in response to a virgin!Rodney challenge:) To be honest, it was written in the first season, when the very idea of Rodney ever having had sex was pretty hard to swallow. Who knew he was going to turn out to be sex on legs for the ladies of the Atlantis exposition?rnrnThanks for the comment!
Reviewer: Xiilnek (Signed)
06 Apr 2008 11:23 pm
...

The *ending*.

I'm too blissed out (or something) about the ending, and the whole story, to even think of the proper words. Thank you.

Author's Response: Thank you! Folks seemed to like the ending (probably because the story is so darned angsty to get there:)
Reviewer: angw (Anonymous)
09 Jun 2007 6:00 am
Beautiful emotions and story; sad, love and triumphant.

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! Thanks for reading:)
Reviewer: zvi (Anonymous)
25 Mar 2007 6:29 pm
I liked the way this story broke Rodney down and involved everyone on Atlantis helping him to rebuild himself.

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it -- thanks for the feedback:)
Reviewer: lillyjk (Anonymous)
15 Oct 2006 10:46 pm
this was just a wonderful story. very interesting premise and so beautifully angsty. definitely going in my favorites!

Author's Response: Thank you!
Reviewer: Lish (Anonymous)
02 Oct 2006 1:37 am
*smiles* this was so beautiful. you even made me cry. *goes to see if you have more fics* thank you.

Author's Response: Thank you! My next fic should be coming out in a couple of weeks (an adaptation of Beauty and the Beast, SGA-style:)
Reviewer: mangst (Anonymous)
27 Sep 2006 11:49 am
This was a really interesting twist on an Mpreg. Very original and entertaining. Favorite line: I was standing to close to the dinosaur when it exploded. LOL!

Author's Response: My beta loved that line, too:) Thanks for the feedback!
Reviewer: Icy Flame (Signed)
14 Sep 2006 3:22 am
This was beyond spectacular. Between bringing the cast alive and introducing an extraordinary realistic plot the characters were themselves---you brought Atlantis to life. I could actually imagine this happening, you have a brilliant talent in writing and I'm really looking forward to seeing more of your work in the future. *smiles* *waves*

Author's Response: Best part? A little bit of mpreg in the realism:) Thank you for the awesome feedback!
Reviewer: Susan (Signed)
12 Sep 2006 10:08 pm
*book, not nook, sorry. The cat was sitting on my right hand. :) I hope to see more from you in the future.

Author's Response: :)
Reviewer: Susan (Signed)
12 Sep 2006 10:03 pm
Every once in a blue moon, an increadible, epic S/M fanfiction is written. Yours was one them. 20 out of 5 stars. You deserve a standing ovation. I hope you write a nook of your own one day, so that you can make the money yhat you truely deserve. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you! (Honesty compells me to admit that I have written a novel. Getting it published seems to be the difficulty:)
Reviewer: Mystic (Anonymous)
11 Sep 2006 8:05 pm
This was a very good story. Though I have to admit, the aspect of the 'joke backfiring' was lost to me totally, the rest of the story was well written and the angst deeply felt. I'm so glad it worked out well in the end overall. Thank you for sharing.

Author's Response: It was more that Rodney's first impression was that it was a joke (because what else is a serious scientist to think:), only it wasn't. Glad you liked it!

Author's Response: It was more that Rodney's first impression was that it was a joke (because what else is a serious scientist to think:), only it wasn't. Glad you liked it!
Reviewer: flmun (Anonymous)
11 Sep 2006 1:50 am
Awesome!! I don't generally go for angst, but this rocked! I cried, then laughed, then "awww"ed. I can't imagine what spurred this, but I'm glad it did. Thank you for sharing!

Author's Response: Primarily writer's block, actually. Thank goodness Pennydreadful talked me into writing a drabble. That grew...and grew...and grew:) Thanks!
Reviewer: Sandy (Signed)
10 Sep 2006 11:32 pm
You know, when I first started to read this I thought it was just going to be a cracked-out mpreg. I mean, I laughed out loud at "You see, it appears that a pseudo-uterus has attached itself to your colon, which--", but as I continued to read, you took it to a whole different level, one that was wonderfully sad and painful and yet ended happily. Great job.

Author's Response: You know, I considered adding some sort of warning to the summary like: "Not an mpreg! Except, sort of. But not really!" Thanks for the comments!
Reviewer: miscbills (Anonymous)
10 Sep 2006 9:28 pm
this is great, so much in one story. it had me shocked, sad, happy,and giggling all in one story. I enjoyed reading it.

Author's Response: Thanks!
Reviewer: Dark_Whispers (Anonymous)
10 Sep 2006 6:13 pm
I LOVED it!! Romantic, sweet, funny.. SEXY.. you're great!!

Author's Response: Aw, shucks:) Thanks!
Reviewer: jacqui (Anonymous)
10 Sep 2006 5:13 pm
so when is john going to get around to telling rodney that he loves him?

Author's Response: Honestly, John being John, I think he's going to hope that it's implied, rather than having to say it out loud. Eventually, I think Rodney will probably force the issue:)
Reviewer: Belladonna (Anonymous)
10 Sep 2006 11:48 am
This was amazing-angst and a happy ending-wonderful!!

Author's Response: Glad you liked it!
Reviewer: JoAnn (Anonymous)
10 Sep 2006 11:07 am
That was a *beautiful* way to handle mpreg. *snerk*.

Author's Response: I have to admit that the story started as a response to the fact that no one ever seems to consider termination in mpreg stories. I'm not saying they'd always do it, but don't you think they'd at least consider the option? Thanks for the feedback!

Author's Response: I have to admit that the story started as a response to the fact that no one ever seems to consider termination in mpreg stories. I'm not saying they'd always do it, but don't you think they'd at least consider the option? Thanks for the feedback!
Reviewer: SylvanWitch (Anonymous)
10 Sep 2006 9:53 am
*wild applause* This was great--imaginative, tense, snarky, poignant, and powerful. Bravo!

Author's Response: Thank you:)
You must login (register) to review.