RSS

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: char-sama (Anonymous)
19 Aug 2008 12:02 am
Wow. This was good. If you wrote more about it, like how Shep makes it through everything or whatever, I'd read it too. ^^
Necromancy for the Living
Reviewer: BC (Anonymous)
07 Jan 2007 7:28 pm
Just wanted to say thanks for the heads up on the update on the origonal story. :) Great read. For what you said, I don't know about John. He might be able to get some of what he was back but they broke him. Rodney might be easier to get back to who he was.

Author's Response: I think John was broken, then recovered and rebuilt himself into something new. Whether that new John has a place in Atlantis is another question.
Necromancy for the Living
Reviewer: kibou_sueshijuu (Anonymous)
15 Nov 2006 6:19 am
[stutters]...[stammers]...wow. really really good! seeing their behaviour after selket...how they just don't seem to care anymore about how they appear to the other...makes sense after how long of the humiliation of slavery, if they hadn't stopped caring, they would have gone even more crazy...i read this before Seven Walls, which I found through this, but I put off commenting til I'd read that. This is a great standalone, even without Seven Walls to back up the reader's knowledge. Awesome work, awesome story. :) Thanks.

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm so glad you found Seven Walls through this story. *g* Auburn tells me that she plans to go beyond John and Rodney's return to Atlantis, tell us exactly what happens after they return.
Necromancy for the Living
Reviewer: BC (Anonymous)
03 Nov 2006 7:00 pm
I hate to agree with Heightmeyer but she is right. Culture shock. Something that even Caldwell should recognize. This piece is a great compliment to "In the City of the Seven Walls" :)

Author's Response: Thank you, BC. The question is, can they be reabsorbed into Atlantis or are they so changed they'll never fit in again. Did you see that Auburn updated Seven Walls a week or so ago?
Necromancy for the Living
Reviewer: califmole (Anonymous)
15 Sep 2006 10:20 pm
A very bleak story, enhanced by the unflinching honesty of Caldwell's POV. You captured the mood so well, with just the right details to let us guess how truly f&@#ed over the boys had been.

Author's Response: Thanks. I think Caldwell in a sense is more fair (or realistic) than the rest of the Atlantis crew. At least he can see John and Rodney as they are, instead of projecting the past on them. I can't wait till Auburn gets to this part of the story. Did you see she's updated recently?
Necromancy for the Living
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
14 Sep 2006 12:20 pm
Firstly, thank you for the link to Auburn's fic; I knew nothing about it 'til then and was definitely missing out. Secondly, great tag to that story. You make enough references to 'Seven Walls' to tie things in, yet, with Caldwell's pov, it's also a separate story. You caught his voice well, I thought; his dislike for John causing him to be tougher and less sympathetic than is strictly necessary. But that was also giving John an anchor back to Atlantis and the old him, so it wasn't all bad. I was also glad that Caldwell did realise that he had to help John as much as he could, despite his personal dislike, or he wasn't the man he thought. Laura.

Author's Response: Thank you, Laura. I'm very sorry for the late response, early September was chaotic for me. "But that was also giving John an anchor back to Atlantis and the old him, so it wasn't all bad." Yes! Insightful observation, exactly. And Caldwell is the essence of American Militaryness. If anyone could wake John up to who he once was, it would be Caldwell. "I was also glad that Caldwell did realise that he had to help John as much as he could, despite his personal dislike, or he wasn't the man he thought." Caldwell was very disappointed in himself; he did not measure up to his own standards.
Necromancy for the Living
Reviewer: Methos (Anonymous)
13 Sep 2006 10:39 pm
Very, very good! I usually read summaries for stories, but this time I didn't... and my jaw hit the floor when you mentions the henna, and the teardrop, and spiral designs! You did a wonderful job twining just enough info about 'Seven Walls' to whet appetites, but didn't give anything away. Masterfully done.

Author's Response: Thank you! I take you're as much of a Seven Walls addict as I am. Auburn says in her LJ that she's actively working on it, oh yes. Icarus
Necromancy for the Living
Reviewer: ogeminijune (Anonymous)
13 Sep 2006 12:23 am
Hmmmmm, like it! Needs more, maybe a prequel of what Sheppard went through?

Author's Response: Ah, do read the author's notes at the top of the story: there is a prequel. This is a mission report based on Auburn's "In The City Of Seven Walls." I very carefully avoided spoilers, but hopefully you have been sufficiently teased -- http://www.eternalvox.net/~auburn/citysevenindex.html
Necromancy for the Living
You must login (register) to review.